The Dining Room at Poets House

4.2
336 reviews
£25 and under
British
***Important Information ***
Due to Government guidelines, your table be seated in the Dining room or the Writing Room which is being utilised for our restaurant diners to ensure maximum seating with social distancing is measures in place. Tables can be reserved for dining only, tables for drinks only can be reserved, subject to availability by calling the hotel directly on 01353 887777.
Drinks can be consumed up until 10pm at night, and last orders will be at 9.30 pm.

The tables are sanitized between diners, we have umbrellas, however no patio heaters and therefore advisable to bring a blanker for the cooler evenings!

If you receive a no availability message, please call the team directly to confirm availability.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 336 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.3
service
4.1
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
Kent
1 review
Dined on 17 July 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience3

We were sat in the corner in a completely empty restaurant area and a second couple arrived and were sat right next to us despite every other table being available, which we didn’t feel completely comfortable with given that we are still living with COVID.
We asked if we could sit by the window instead, which we were allowed to do but, halfway through our main course, a family of 4 came in and were seated right next to us, again despite there only being 3 tables being used in the entire restaurant area at that time.
The tables are not 2 metres apart and it was uncomfortable being sat that close to people when there were so many free tables available.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
3 reviews
Dined on 30 May 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience2

The garden is absolutely lovely, and the food was okay. But there was just something a little off about the atmosphere, i can't put my finger on what it was. They were setting up for a wedding I think, so I might have been that.

I'd likely go again though as it was overall okay

E
Elizabeth
Cambridge
1 review
Dined on 25 April 2021
Overall3food2service2ambience2

Food was cold when it was served.
Considering its meant to be "high end" it would have been good to have outdoor heating seeing as being outside will be the norm now.
Service was ok .

SW
SophieW
Isle of Wight
1 review
Dined on 21 April 2021
Overall3food3service5ambience4

Wonderful service and great drink selection but lower score is due to limited menu choice in evening particularly if you’re vegetarian.

JM
JackieM
Cambridge
1 review
Dined on 21 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was lovely to eat out again The food was good and the setting in the garden was lovely

MB
MichaelB
Cambridge
2 reviews
Dined on 18 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, excellent surroundings and friendly, attentive service. I’m a very satisfied returning customer.

P
Pixie59
Cambridge
1 review
Dined on 17 April 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Outdoor dining due to covid, all safely set out. The sharing platter was delicious, wine was good, I would return enjoyed experience, staff friendly.

DR
DaveR
Jersey
4 reviews
Dined on 16 April 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Our table was outside due to the current restrictions: staff were very helpful and friendly and all wore masks. Social distancing was good, we felt safe and comfortable.

MO
MickyO13
Cambridge
1 review
Dined on 13 April 2021
Overall1food1service3ambience3

Very disappointing. Very poor value for money. The sandwiches were dry and lacking in quality. The scones were burnt and were more like biscuits. We weren’t even offered a top up tea, so by the time we poured it, it was cold. We had ordered Prosecco with the meal but had to remind them or we wouldn’t have received it. All this for a total price of £64. Outrageous.

NF
NikkiF
Essex
3 reviews
Dined on 25 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic Christmas lunch, food was gorgeous, service outstanding and we thoroughly enjoyed our first ever Christmas lunch out. Beautiful place and staff so welcoming A**

JT
JennyT
Essex
1 review
Dined on 18 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our first visit and will definitely be going again in 2021

R
Ricky
London
6 reviews
Dined on 16 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic food such good value for fine dining, be going again soon😊

c
christinef
Cambridge
1 review
Dined on 13 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious food and great service as always . We always enjoy out visit to poets .

The Dining Room at Poets House
Responded on 19 December 2020

Dear Christinef, Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are always pleased to hear when our customers have a nice meal. We are very happy to hear that you have been and will come back, we love knowing that our customers enjoyed themselves enough to come back for another go. Again thank you, best wishes from all at Poets House.

Report
D
Dee45
Cambridge
4 reviews
Dined on 8 December 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience2

A really special place for a birthday meal out. Sadly not the same ambiance with covid restrictions but the food & drinks were still top class!

The Dining Room at Poets House
Responded on 14 December 2020

Hello Dee45, Thank you so much for your 4 star review! We love hearing all comments about our hotel and are especially happy to read such a positive response. Although our overall atmosphere may not be the same as it was our team try there best to provide a nice and relaxing service within these difficult times. We really appreciate the time you took to write this review and hope to see you back here. Kind regards, Poets House team.

Report
S
Suffolkspurs
Norfolk
2 reviews
Dined on 3 December 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very friendly warm welcome and attentative service all evening, we ate from the December Christmas menu and all courses were well thought out, beautifully presented and very tasty. The venue is Covid secure and I would definitely recommend and will 100% be returning.

The Dining Room at Poets House
Responded on 14 December 2020

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! Our chefs will be so happy to hear you enjoyed the menu, we pride ourselves on our care and we really appropriate it when customers can see how much thought goes into our menu. We are so happy to hear that you will be returning and welcome you with open arms. We are happy to see that our Covid Procedures are being taken into consideration and are very pleased to still be running within this time. See you again. Poets house team.

Report
FC
vipFCury
London
49 reviews
Dined on 3 November 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Very nice restaurant in the beautiful city of Ely. Good food, nice atmosphere and attentive service. A nice evening out pre-lockdown.

MB
MichaelB
Cambridge
2 reviews
Dined on 3 November 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The quality of service was excellent from start to finish and the food was superbly cooked and wonderfully presented. The Poet’s House maintained the high standard that we’ve come to expect on our regular visits. We hoped for a special night out and we were not disappointed.

KT
Keen2Travel
London
1 review
Dined on 30 October 2020
Overall3food2service4ambience2

We managed to book a table here for a Friday night but had to make it for 5.30 pm which was a little early. When we arrived we were given the choice of several tables in an empty room. The lighting was really bright, it wasn't especially warm and there was little ambience. Other diners gradually appeared - we understand the need for distancing at the moment but the place was barely half full and lacked atmosphere. The food here was adequate but not particularly good value - £20 for cod loin with no vegetables included. My felafel burger was quite dry - and expensive at £14. However, the service here was very good. Staff were efficient, courteous and friendly. We had a drink in the bar before we left and the atmosphere there was definitely more cosy.

The Dining Room at Poets House
Responded on 14 December 2020

Thank you for taking you r time to leave this review. We appreciate the feedback and our team will work on all that you have noted. As a hotel we do try to take in atmosphere and make it pleasing enough for everyone. We want to thank you for informing us on how you felt during you dinner with us and we shall all try our best to show a little more feeling. We hope you can come back to us to see for yourself the changes we have made. Thank you very much, Poets House Team

Report
PJ
PaulJ
Cambridge
1 review
Dined on 30 October 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

Nice place to stop off for a light lunch. Modern, perhaps a bit monochrome in the dinning room. Food was fine. Could do with a car park though.

JU
vipJeffersUK
London
9 reviews
Dined on 28 October 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Simple and good menu but not enough variety for children.

FR
FRANB
Aberdeen
5 reviews
Dined on 24 October 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Excellent ambience, food and service.
Will most definately return - each diner ate differently and all plates were of same great standard

AI
AlisonI
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 22 October 2020
Overall4food3service4ambience4

A great evening at poets house. Our food choices were a little disappointing but on the whole we had a good night and would return again

RF
RichardF
London
3 reviews
Dined on 17 October 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

A lovely place for a Saturday evening dinner in Ely. Look forward post Covid to eating there again.

JB
JenniferB
1 review
Dined on 16 October 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

My food was delicious and just as described on the menu. the right quantity too.
Breakfast the next morning was even better (Eggs Royal) , apart from the croissant which was horrible - neither warmed nor of the standard of the rest of the food. An easy one to rectify.

R
Rellinda
London
4 reviews
Dined on 10 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything was right - our scallops starter in particular was delicious but all courses were great, good wine, lovely waiter, relaxed but good decor and atmosphere.

C
Chezzer
London
1 review
Dined on 9 October 2020
Overall3food3service2ambience2

The service was not good
The waiter didn't know the menu
The surf and turf burger was very dry and only two tiny prawns
We had to keep asking for water as the waiter kept forgetting.
Overall we were disappointed as the surroundings are lovely and we were really looking forward to eating here.

The Dining Room at Poets House
Responded on 14 December 2020

Dear Chezzer, We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dinner with us. All our staff pride themselves on customer service and we are very sad to hear you did feel disappointed with our staff. Our Chef's try there absolute best to make sure the food is up to standard, we apologize for the fact you did not feel as though our food is up to par. We have passed on your review to our team and will do our best to improve in all areas. Thank you very much, Poets House Team.

Report
DW
DavidW
Toronto
2 reviews
Dined on 5 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food and good service, they’ve done their best do make it normal again during a time of social distancing.

JL
JoanL
Cambridge
1 review
Dined on 21 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Met up with friends for dinner. Drinks in the bar were served promptly. Lovely ambience to the restaurante and bar. Felt like a real treat. Plenty of room between tables. Felt Covid safe. The food was excellent and well presented. Attentive waiter service. The evening felt very special.

RB
RebeccaB
Cambridge
1 review
Dined on 21 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This is an amazing place to dine, have a drink or just sit and have a coffee! Staff are super friendly.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 19 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing experience for our first weekend away together

NM
NeilM
London
5 reviews
Dined on 19 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Marvellous experience, good standard of food with staff showing just the right level of attention. Thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

WW
WilliamW
1 review
Dined on 19 September 2020
Overall3food1service4ambience2

Food was subpar relative to past experiences, brought out at wrong time and then heat lamped based on the salad being warm to touch. The room had many flies, two of which found their way into my wife's dinner. I had the filet, my wife had pasta and we had a bottle of Dom with it. My filet was cooked perfectly but the cut had several inedible pieces. Her pasta was a bland disappointment. This was my third time at Poets House, and did not reflect my previous two experiences.

FC
FelicityC
Yorkshire
4 reviews
Dined on 13 September 2020
Overall2food2service3ambience5

Sunday evening meal for 4 people
First impressions excellent - good safety measures in place for COVID lovely ambience/setting.
Stopped there!
Food overpriced grossly and poor - ribeye steak tough and no flavour, beurre blanc on hake had absolutely no seasoning or flavour - would be ashamed if I was the Chef!
Bubble and Squeak cold and likely frozen initially as the onions were tough. Panna Cotta- always a good test - served in a drinks tumbler, thicker than a blancmange actually had to suction from the sides if the glass, again absolutely no taste at all and thick sticky texture - not a panna cotta! Cost £8?!
Very inexperienced waiting team - did not know what English mustard was?
Continual mix ups with drinks orders etc
Hoping the poor quality of food and service was due to being a Sunday evening

TD
TraceyD
Cambridge
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience5

We had a lovely anniversary meal here. A nice little anniversary message on our desserts too.
There were a few mistakes to what we had ordered but they had a new member of staff who was still in training. They were quickly put right.
The dining room & food was lovely.
Would love to try lunch or afternoon tea in the garden as it looked lovely outside.
Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

TG
TonyG
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had a fantastic meal. Service was great with little suprise on dessert.

HJ
HelenJ
Cambridge
2 reviews
Dined on 12 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

excellent staff, calm but enthusiastic and cheerful.

CE
ColinE
Yorkshire
3 reviews
Dined on 11 September 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Staff were very friendly and professional. Menu choice was limited but our selections were well prepared and tasty.

D
David
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 3 September 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A friendly welcome and excellent service throughout. Food to a high standard well presented a totally enjoyable dining experience. Looking forward to a return visit and would highly recommend.

M
Martha22
1 review
Dined on 2 September 2020
Overall3food3service5ambience5

Very simple menu, easy for lunchtime pickings. Lovely table outside offered to us, great service from a friendly, efficient and kind Romanian girl with a huge, genuine smile. Lovely atmosphere. Not as ‘fine dining’ as we’d thought, but perfect for a day pottering about in the city. Lovely drinks menu and good choice of cocktails and some nice wines too.

NH
NicolaH
Norfolk
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We enjoyed the food although menu was quite limited. Wine was reasonably priced and served at just the right temperature.

The service was very good, even with the Covid restrictions in place.

FAQs

The Dining Room at Poets House is rated 4.2 stars by 336 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.