The Hare and Billett

4.5
505 reviews
£25 and under
British

Top tags:

Sunday Lunch

In line with the new government guidelines, we are asking every single customer to register their details with us before entering the premises. This can be done by scanning a QR code which can be found by the entrance. Please note that service will be refused to those who decline to participate in the NHS test and trace.
We welcome dogs into the bar area, please advise us if you would like to bring your four legged friends with you when reserving a table.

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective Equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 505 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
EK
EdwardK
London
37 reviews
Dined on 4 November 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

If I could, I would, run away with this pub and marry it! Unfortunately it keeps turning me down. Persistence is a virtue and my virtue is easy...

Looking forward to the end of lockdown and the return to the pub.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 6 November 2020

Hi EdwardK, your review left me speechless, thank you so much for your kind words. I promise we will do as much as we can to reopen as soon as we can and i am sure we will see you soon again! Kind regards, Natalia

Report
RS
RebeccaS
1 review
Dined on 4 November 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Extremely disappointing service received.
Booked this for a a special birthday lunch, booked about 4-5 days before.
We turned up to the pub to be rudely greeted, and to be told they ‘didn’t have much food’ when we asked what did they have - the member of staff replied quite agressively saying he was looking, however he then quickly added ‘we have no food.’
It was all a bit bizarre, as it was all very matter of fact. I questioned as we’d booked the table why did they not contact us to advise us to save us the journey/the parking fee and out of sheer common sense and manners to which he shouted at us ‘ive just been told.’
We then had another member of staff who I believe to be the manager come over and quite literally shouted at us ‘kitchen closed.’
It was the rudest experience I’ve ever had in a pub/restaurant.
Aside from the lack of notice to advise us that they wouldn’t be able to fulfil our reservation, there was not even an offer of an apology for the inconvenience. If anything we were inconveniencing them.
It was the day before lockdown so we could appreciate that they wouldn’t be fully stocked due to waste management, but it would have been nice if they could explain that and apologise.
It would have made business sense for them to either ensure they have enough stock to fulfil their reservations or contact us to let us know.
Unfortunately now they have lost very good customers for life.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 13 November 2020

Hi Rebecca, i am sorry for the inconvenient, on Wednesday we got literally slammed and we finished all food way before estimated. I personally came at the door, i didn't shout that kitchen was closed, i actually apologised straight away and let you know before entering that unfortunately kitchen was closed as food was finished. I did try to explain that due to closing the pub we couldn't place any order and that i didn't expect to finish all food so soon during the day. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
LC
LydiaC
London
1 review
Dined on 4 November 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Great last meal before lockdown. Our crab starter was delicious, loved the unusual combinations, much better than average pub grub.

GB
GeorgiaB
London
1 review
Dined on 3 November 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Always a great visit. Staff are amazing. Great variety of food and drink

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 6 November 2020

Hi GeorgiaB, thank you for the 5 stars review! Hope to see you as soon as we will reopen our doors. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
SP
SuperPiglet
London
1 review
Dined on 3 November 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

The staff in here are second to none and totally taking Covid seriously. Shame they've cut down the vegan options but great to see them still going in such tricky times.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 6 November 2020

Hi SuperPiglet, thank you for your kind words. The whole staff did an amazing job during this difficult time and i am proud of all of them. I will pass your comments along. Looking forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
AC
AnthonyC
1 review
Dined on 3 November 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great atmosphere and great service.
Got the lunchtime offer of a Burger and Drink for 12 pounds, which was very good value or money.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 6 November 2020

Hi Anthony, i am so glad you had a good experience and you like the pub. We are still monitoring our email, so please feel free to send us an email at enquiries@hareandbillet.co m if you would like to book a table for the Christmas set menu in December. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
HL
HandeL
London
1 review
Dined on 3 November 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food, location and service is excellent. It is dog and baby friendly.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 6 November 2020

Hi HandeL, thank you for your lovely review. Hopefully we will see you soon enough. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
DH
DarrylH
London
4 reviews
Dined on 2 November 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Last meal before lock down and were looked after really well. Excellent service and very good food, we ordered pub classics, my burger was excellent and my fiancée's fish and chips were good but would have befitted from 1 minute less in the fryer. But still ate well. We will definitely be back in December.
Thanks
D

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 13 November 2020

Hi DarrylH. Thank you for your feedback. If you would like to book a table for a Christmas meal, please send us and email and we will reply within 72 hours. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
c
corkamork
London
2 reviews
Dined on 1 November 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Our favourite, dog friendly pub in the area! Staff are lovely and attentive, food is always great and always a good ambiance.

CS
ChipSu
London
17 reviews
Dined on 1 November 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Considering it was the last chance Sunday before lockdown again and they had a lot of bookings, the usual high quality of service and exceptional food did not slip at all. By far the best roast dinners we have had in a very long time and the tofu sharing starter was wonderful. All the staff were friendly, chatty and great to be around- will miss not being able to return for a while but as soon as we can, we most definitely will! Thank you all for a lovely afternoon

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 4 November 2020

Hi ChipSu, thank you so much for the amazing review. Sadly we have to close our doors again, but we will be back as soon as we can and keep working hard. I am glad you love our pub, i will pass your comments along my staff and hopefully we will see you soon again. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
DR
DaisyR
1 review
Dined on 1 November 2020
Overall3food1service4ambience4

Lovely pub in a great location. Staff were friendly and service was always quick. We were really looking forward to a roast as the photos and reviews online made it look amazing but sadly it was horrible. It was cold, slimy and obviously warmed up. The pigs in blankets were pale grey, dry around the edges and cold. I did email the venue directly asking for a refund for the food (not the drinks) and they offered a free meal but considering pubs are closing for the foreseeable and my complaint was about food I declined. Would def recommend however and hope you catch the chef on a good day.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 3 November 2020

Hi Daisy, thank you for the feedback. As explained in the email, we checked back on the food on the day and it seemed that everything was good, i understand you didn't want to place a complain as the staff was working very hard and the service was very good, but unfortunately a refund was possible just if the issue was raised on the day of the purchase. As you stated, we did offer a free meal/ voucher to spend on a different day, however you declined the offer. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
J
Jennie
London
1 review
Dined on 1 November 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Such a wonderful experience. Lovely staff & great food.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 4 November 2020

Hi Jennie, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your lovely comments. Looking forward to seeing you again when we will reopen. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 1 November 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Overall fantastic Sunday lunch although a little bit on the expensive side 👍

w
wesleyr
London
1 review
Dined on 1 November 2020
Overall3food3service5ambience4

Great service, friendly staff. Roast beef not great, meat very chewy, and not best quality. Pork was okay, portions generous as well as kids meal

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 3 November 2020

Hi Wesleyr, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad the service was up to our standards, but i will definitely have a word with my chef regarding the issue with the food. I hope you will give us another chance to prove you that our food is usually very good. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
NS
NatalieS
London
2 reviews
Dined on 31 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Staff couldn’t have been more helpful, really friendly and welcoming. Thoroughly enjoyed the burgers we had too!

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 1 November 2020

Hi NatalieS, what a nice review!! Thank you so much for your positive comments. Looking forward to seeing you soon again. Have a great day. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
MF
MarianneF
London
1 review
Dined on 29 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We love this place! Super friendly (to humans and dogs!), fabulous staff. The food is always delicious and the menu interesting, the perfect balance of traditional and contemporary/fusion.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 1 November 2020

Hi MarianneF, i am so glad you love our pub. Thank you very much for your kind words. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
4 reviews
Dined on 29 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fabulous as always, we love the pub and the staff are wonderful and friendly. I think of them more as friends.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 1 November 2020

Hi, your comments made my day, thank you so much!! I am so glad you love everything about our pub, especially the staff, i will pass the comments along. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
c
clairep
London
3 reviews
Dined on 28 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great new menu
Staff are great
Covid safe environment
Stayed for quiz
Great experience

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 1 November 2020

Hi Clairep, thank you so much for the positive comments. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
LF
LukeF
1 review
Dined on 25 October 2020
Overall3food3service3ambience5

Just wasn't impressed with the roast dinner. Had a cold veggie roast and they gave us a new Wellington which was then too hot. Its a nice pub and we've been there alot and not had this problem so must of been just that night. Little disappointing.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 28 October 2020

Hi LukeF, i am sorry on this visit we didn't meet our standards. I hope you give us another chance to make things right. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
TA
TerenceA
London
1 review
Dined on 25 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love this pub. Dog friendly, good beer, always excellent food.
Staff are great fun too.
Best pub in Blackheath.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 28 October 2020

Hi TerenceA, thank you so much for your lovely review. Nothing can make me happier than knowing my guests love everything about my pub. I will pass the comments along my staff. Looking forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
RD
RobD
1 review
Dined on 25 October 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Found the hour and hal allocated time slot a little to rushed ....apart from that a good experience .

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 28 October 2020

Hi RobD, i am afraid after lock-down we lost many tables, so we need to stick with our time slots.During the week, especially lunch time, we are more flexible, but week ends are luckily still very busy, so extending a booking time is not always easy. I am glad you had a good time though and i am looking forward to seeing you soon again. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
SA
StevenA
London
1 review
Dined on 25 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very nice food and ambiance,would defo recommend and dine again

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 28 October 2020

Hi StevenA, thank you for your positive comments. If you are interesting in having a Christmas meal with us, we are now taking bookings, i am sure our Christmas menu will not disappoint you either. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Brighton
5 reviews
Dined on 25 October 2020
Overall3food3service5ambience4

Sunday roast, deep fried potatoes not roasted potatoes, limited selection of vegetables. Overall disappointing.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 26 October 2020

Good morning, thank you for your feedback, i will definitely pass your comments to my chef, i am glad to see you gave 5 stars to the service and i hope you will give us another chance and come back again. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
JD
JoeD
1 review
Dined on 24 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a really fantastic lunch at The Hare and Billett. It felt very covid-safe. The staff were really fantastic - super friendly and helpful. The food was really delicious. Good value. Good for babies and children, though not over-run with them!

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 28 October 2020

Hi JoesD, thank you for your positive comments. I am glad you had a great day, especially that you felt safe in our pub. Looking forward to seeing you soon again. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
EK
EdwardK
London
38 reviews
Dined on 23 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Outstanding

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 26 October 2020

Hi EdwardK, thank you very much for your comment, i am glad you enjoyed your visit and love our pub. Looking forward to seeing you soon again. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
b
bovisblue72
Kent
1 review
Dined on 23 October 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience2

Overlit and no real ambience to speak of, BUT. . . the food was utterly amazing and so was the service. We will be back, for sure.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 26 October 2020

Hi Bovisblue72, thank you for the nice comments about the food and the service. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
AJ
AyJayDee
London
1 review
Dined on 23 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Really good service and the food was great. Nice pub. Try to get a seat away from the open doors as it's a bit cold but otherwise great.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 26 October 2020

Hi AyJayDee, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your nice feedback. Please next time you book a table, give us a call or send us an email and request a table that is not by the main door. Hope to see you soon again. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
S
Stevester
London
1 review
Dined on 22 October 2020
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Service was excellent - both quick and friendly.

Enjoyed the fish and chips, and was pleasantly surprised by the accompanying gherkin ketchup!
Good value for most people, though a bit expensive for a student budget.

Didn’t have room for dessert this time, so will have to come back to try some!

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 25 October 2020

Hi Stevester, thank you for the positive comments, i am glad you enjoyed the food, we use sole fillet for the fish and chips, which is very tasty. Next time you come to visit us, i would recommend to try our white chocolate and vanilla cheesecake, so delicious! Looking forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
PM
PaulM
1 review
Dined on 20 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Soft shell crab was lovely as was the food in general

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 22 October 2020

Hi PaulM, thanks for the lovely feedback, come to visit us to try our new menu dishes that went live from today. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
S
vipSally
London
26 reviews
Dined on 19 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fantastic food, great service and lovely atmosphere. Went for my birthday and will deffo go back. Thoroughly recommend.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 22 October 2020

Hi Sally, is always so nice to read such a great review. I am glad the food and service was up to our standards. I am sure we will see you soon again. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
CC
CharlotteC
London
1 review
Dined on 18 October 2020
Overall3food2service3ambience3

We went there for a roast dinner on a Sunday, it was very quiet due to COVID restrictions and the service we got was good. However, the vegetables were soggy, there was no apple sauce as stated on the menu and the pork belly was tough and the crackling soggy, and it seemed like it had sat there for most of the day. It's a shame as we've been there before and the food was better.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 21 October 2020

Hi Charlotte, thank you very much for the honest feedback. As i have seen, you gave 3 stars to the service, please feel free to send us an email or give us a call to let us know what we could improve. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
AH
AdamH
London
1 review
Dined on 18 October 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Enjoyed our roast dinner. Only thing that could have been improved were the roast potatoes.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 21 October 2020

Hi Adam, thank you for the 4 stars review and for taking the time to leave a feedback. I will pass the comment to my chef as usually potatoes are very tasty and crispy. Please come back for Sunday roast and i am sure next time they won't disappoint you. Have a great day. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
TP
TomP
London
2 reviews
Dined on 18 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Given the situation right now, the service was amazing - still so slick! The food, as usual, very good. And a bottle of Bordeaux wine from their "specials" list at £18 was an absolute bargain. Hare & Billett isn't a pub I'd pick for every day drinking. But for a Sunday lunch, it's absolutely perfect. Only downside was the 2-hour turnaround time for the table and no other tables available to move to. But that's just the way things are at the moment.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 22 October 2020

Hi TomP. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and nice review. I appreciate your understanding regarding the table's turning time. Our new menu went live today, so next time you come to visit us, why not try one of new dishes, all very tasty! Looking forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
TF
TomF
London
1 review
Dined on 18 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Celebrated our engagement over a Sunday roast and the food, service and hospitality was exceptional. Would highly recommend. The best pub in Blackheath.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 24 October 2020

Hi TomF, i am so glad you had a great time and you loved the food. We tried to do our best to make sure you had a wonderful day with us and i am so proud we nailed it. Congratulations again and looking forward to seeing you both soon. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
k
kimf82
London
17 reviews
Dined on 17 October 2020
Overall4food4service3ambience3

It was nice to be able to go again. Food was pretty good, but nothing really special. Pretty decor and location. Less atmosphere but still better than staying at home all the time! We were over charged by £3 which isn’t a big issue but it’s more about the principle.

j
jackc
1 review
Dined on 17 October 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Really enjoyed my time here. The guy who sat us was really polite and chatty made us feel very welcome! Service was also fast and effective.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 17 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Very good COVID safety in place. Attentive staff and quick table service. Food was really good and decent choice

EK
EdwardK
London
38 reviews
Dined on 16 October 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This place is fantastic a great local with outstanding and attentive staff. It’s a local pub and I love it.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 19 October 2020

Hi EdwardK, thank you for the kind words. I will definitely pass the comments along my staff. Looking forward to seeing you soon again. Kind regards, Natalia

Report
EI
EdI99
London
6 reviews
Dined on 15 October 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Great food, good service, good drinks. I really like the Hare and Billet, the food quality dipped last year but it now seems to be back on form, maybe even better than before.

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 17 October 2020

Hi Ed, thanks for the positive review! Kind regards, Ana

Report
AS
AlastairStewart
1 review
Dined on 15 October 2020
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Near perfect local pub. Needs all locals to support it in these challenging times - especially given the Mayor's economic death wish on London

The Hare and Billett
Responded on 17 October 2020

Hi Alastair, we really appreciate you taking the time to write some positive feedback regarding our pub! Thank you and hope you have a great day. Kind regards, Ana

Report

FAQs

The Hare and Billett is rated 4.5 stars by 505 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.