The Hare & Hounds
I had an enjoyable meal with my brother in law and his wife
Brilliant from start to finish and such a nice surrounding. Will be making sure to return
We were unfortunately sat by the door, so was a bit draughty, noise level was high and dogs barking, however couldn't fault food or service.
Brilliant nothing is too much trouble and the food is amazing 😊
Went there for dinner whilst visiting our son at Bath University.
Great views, really laid back and relaxing atmosphere, good selection of wines and beers, lovely food and our waitress couldn’t have been better.
We all agree we’d found a great venue and will definitely return.
Thank you so much for such a fantastic review! We are really pleased you enjoyed your evening with us and we look forward to seeing you again another time!
Good food good service
Thank you for a great rating and for you kind comments. We really appreciate that you took the time to leave us a review!
Allocated a table with a panoramic view. Service spot on, menu not exciting but the food ordered was good and up to expectations. We enjoyed the the visit and will try it again shortly.
We are very pleased you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to seeing you again! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review and we will take on board your feedback and share it with the team.
Outstanding food and the most amazing setting with views to die for. Would highly recommend!
Thank you so much for such a great review! We look forward to welcoming you again another time!
Wonderful food and atmosphere, we'd return again and again!
Very dog friendly. Lovely Sunday roast will be back!
Thank you for your review! Yes we love dogs! So please bring yours in again soon!! Glad you enjoyed your roast, too!
Every time we visit this place gets better and better
The view from the terrace is fantastic
Staff are friendly and welcoming
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Lovely food and attentive friendly staff. A bit noisy in the conservatory as there was a large party in
Thank you for your review! We apologise for the noise levels in the conservatory, in the future if it's a problem we will endeavour to move you away from the noise where possible!
Amazing Sunday roast...incredibly friendly team and fantastic view over the countryside. Loved the interior - right mix between rustic, but modern and airy. Food is incredible, hands down the best Sunday Roast I’ve had.
Thanks so much for your great review of The Hare and Hounds! So glad you enjoyed yourselves and that you think our roast is the best! We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Very nice location, very friendly efficient service. Food well prepared and presented. Excellent Sunday lunch. Will return soon
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We look forward to welcoming you again another time!
We visited on a sunny Saturday for lunch. The pub is lovely and the kids loved playing in the garden after lunch. It was extremely busy so the waiter and waitress got a few things wrong (forgot the water and the ice cream for my afogato arrived late and already melted) but staff were all very pleasant and a lovely time was had.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent visit! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves and we are really appreciative of your understanding for the mistakes made. I can assure you this is rare, but as you noticed it was a busy day! We hope to see you again soon!!
The view is incredible, and the food very good. Sadly we were served by someone so young that it must have been their first job. Didn't ask us how we liked our steaks cooked, didn't know about anything on the menu. Slightly spoiled the experience.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am disappointed to hear this as we train all of our staff before they are put into waiting and none of our waiters and waitresses are below the age of 18. I apologise sincerely for the inadequacy of the service you received and will investigate this further with the team. I do hope it has not put you off returning in the future as we would love to welcome you again another time!
A clearly irascible chef, insufficient staff, kitchen sequencing of meals evidently below par, octopus salad starter had good flavours but the octopus was rubbery indicating poor selection and poor preparation/cooking and it took a long time to pay bill. Otherwise, the main courses were good and redeemed what would have been a far worse review.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I will pass your comments through the team and let the chef know about your comments on the octopus. I am saddened to hear you did not enjoy your visit (but pleased you enjoyed your mains) and I hope that this experience does not deter you from visiting us again another time. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review.
3 of our 4 meals were really nice but the vegan Thai green curry was not very nice. Was a bit of a mush or vegetables in a thin sauce. Service was slow too.
Family get-together. Lovely food, great service, but very loud fellow diners, couldn’t hear one another on our table. However, that apart (and not fault of Hare & Hounds) we enjoyed our meal and the stunning views. Staff very attentive to fact that I have a nut allergy. And our waitress was lovely.
Thank you for your great review! We apologise for the noise and we do everything in our power to keep the noise levels low, sometimes it can be quite difficult especially on during busy times (which is most evenings) Glad to hear your service was good and you enjoyed the food! We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
The noise level was v bad. We have been previously when it has been v noisy but Thursday early evening everyone was shouting to hear themselves heard and it wasn’t that busy. I would emphasise that it could be a problem with any recommendation. Shame as everything else was great. Doubt we will bother again:(
I had Hake (sometimes a bit of a risk in restaurants due to fish being overcooked) the Hake I had at the Hare and Hounds was cooked superbly -
Thank you very much for your review! I will be passing your lovely comments on to the kitchen!
We eat here regularly and always have a great meal, lovely staff and just great value...love it.
Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
We have been to the Hare and Hounds a few times and usually love it but this time it was a real let down. Staff were inattentive, food was average and my cocktail was not made well at all - just tasted of soda water. A real shame!
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback of your recent visit. I'm terribly sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent visit and we feel short of our usual high standards. We will endeavour to not make the same mistakes again and we are constantly training our floor and bar team to improve our service. I hope to see you again soon so we can change your minds about The Hare!
The staff were lovely, the food great but it was so noisy you couldn't hold a conversation
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed the food and felt our service delivered but we apologise sincerely for the noise levels. Unfortunately due to the style of the building it can get very loud in here. I will take your comments on board and see if there's something we can do to assist in reducing the noise levels.
Excellent food, wonderful views and very attentive service
Excellent would highy recommend food great view amazing
Thank you very much for your fab review of The Hare and Hounds! We hope to see you again soon!
Can never quite understand why this place gets so busy but I suppose it’s the only pub around the whole area. The service from our young inexperienced waitress was actually fine and she was trying her best in the face of clear lack of training and was very sweet. The food is very mediocre, the toilets were DISGUSTING even at 6pm before it got busy and had clearly not been looked at all day and barely cleaned ever it seems from the amount of flies in there.
The general level of service from all though is minimal. Shame as it’s such a great location but it seriously needs a good managerial team who actually put some work and effort into staff training. Oh and a better chef wouldn’t go amiss either.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback from your recent visit. I am saddened to hear you did not enjoy yourself and that we fell short of our usual high standards on this occasion. We check our bathrooms three times a day and I'm very unhappy to hear that this clearly was missed that day and I can only apologise for this. It would be fantastic for you to return another day and see how we really do things here at The Hare and Hounds.
Great place for a lazy lunch on the terrace looking at gorgeous views
Thank you for your lovely review! We couldn't agree more about our beautiful views on a sunny afternoon!
Loved our meal at the hare and hounds
Lovely food by the window and great service.
Will definitely go again x
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit! We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
We had a lovely dinner. Food was very nice. Would love a better drink range. And vegan options.
Really glad you enjoyed yourselves! We will take your comments on board and the menu is amidst changes so watch this space for vegan options! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review!
We love the Hare and Hounds. It’s the best place around. Fabulous and delicious food. Friendly, smiley staff and fantastic views. Always a buzz in the pub and a warm welcome. Xx
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are so glad you enjoy coming to visit us and that you are happy with your latest visit! We look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Food was lovely but waitress was very miserable. She did not smile & threw plate down, with chips flying off the plate. No apology for this.
Would come here again if we had a different waitress
Thanks for leaving a review of your recent visit to The Hare and Hounds! We are so glad you enjoyed your meal with us but we are very sorry and disappointed to hear about the service not being up to scratch! I can assure you this is a great rarity with our team as we pride ourselves in our friendly, smiley service and I will pass your feedback on to them to ensure this won't be repeated on your next visit! We look forward to seeing you again and thanks again for providing us with your feedback!
So disappointed. An beautiful building in extraordinary surroundings. The service was indifferent - we were not told about the specials, for example. Unfortunately, the quality of the food was really very poor. The starter of prawn cocktail was swimming in water, presumably from the defrosting of the prawns. The main course of sirloin steak was ordered to be rare. Unfortunately, it arrived simultaneously raw and tough, and it had not been seasoned. Most of our food was returned, and the manager didn’t charge us for them. However, the overall experience was so disappointing that I couldn’t recommend The Hare and Hounds at all, particularly when there are so many excellent establishments in Bath.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am terribly sorry to hear you did not enjoy your food and that you thought the service was a little lack-lustre, I can assure you this is not the high standard of food and service we expect from our team. Please feel free to contact us directly if you wish to discuss your feedback further.
Excellent food and ambience- a little on the pricey side but still worth it.
Thank you for your review! We will take your comments on board, but we are very pleased you enjoyed yourselves!
A spacious restaurant with stunning views over the valley. The ambience is warm, the food tasty and the attitude of the staff second to none in welcome and service
Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear you had a lovely time and that you enjoyed the food, service and the restaurant itself. We would love to see you again soon!
We booked well in advance of my wife's birthday. Yet we found ourselves in the bar which looked worse than a Liverpool pub in the 60's. (I should know since I was born there) The noise was appalling and the floor looked as if it should have been covered in sawdust. On the plus side, the food and service were good. However, we will not be recommending the establishment to anyone.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am pleased you enjoyed both the food and the service you received but I'm disappointed that you felt the establishment itself didn't hit the spot. We are constantly looking for ways to improve and I will make sure to pass on your feedback for us to do so!
Outstanding lunch and selection of beers. Great service and comfortably busy to give a great ambience
Thank you very much! We are really glad you enjoyed yourself!
Great Sunday lunch
Great food in a great location. The service was friendly and efficient. Quite expensive.
Thank you for proving us with your feedback! I will pass your comments on to the team, and hopefully see you again soon!
Pub is set in a beautiful location but I found the dining experience there very average.
The service started well and then our waitress disappeared (may have ended her shift) and we were left with nobody to look after us.
The food was OK but overpriced for what it was.
Finally the conservatory area was very noisy. We had to shout to each other which was not very relaxing.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us and that your service was not up to our usual high standards. When our servers finish their shifts we do a handover to another server so I will be ensuring that is definitely happening every evening as it should be. We apologise for the noise and that you did not feel especially relaxed as this is the exact opposite of how we want our guests to feel!