The Hare & Hounds
Family get-together. Lovely food, great service, but very loud fellow diners, couldn’t hear one another on our table. However, that apart (and not fault of Hare & Hounds) we enjoyed our meal and the stunning views. Staff very attentive to fact that I have a nut allergy. And our waitress was lovely.
I had Hake (sometimes a bit of a risk in restaurants due to fish being overcooked) the Hake I had at the Hare and Hounds was cooked superbly -
We eat here regularly and always have a great meal, lovely staff and just great value...love it.
We have been to the Hare and Hounds a few times and usually love it but this time it was a real let down. Staff were inattentive, food was average and my cocktail was not made well at all - just tasted of soda water. A real shame!
The staff were lovely, the food great but it was so noisy you couldn't hold a conversation
Excellent food, wonderful views and very attentive service
Excellent would highy recommend food great view amazing
Can never quite understand why this place gets so busy but I suppose it’s the only pub around the whole area. The service from our young inexperienced waitress was actually fine and she was trying her best in the face of clear lack of training and was very sweet. The food is very mediocre, the toilets were DISGUSTING even at 6pm before it got busy and had clearly not been looked at all day and barely cleaned ever it seems from the amount of flies in there.
The general level of service from all though is minimal. Shame as it’s such a great location but it seriously needs a good managerial team who actually put some work and effort into staff training. Oh and a better chef wouldn’t go amiss either.
Great place for a lazy lunch on the terrace looking at gorgeous views
Loved our meal at the hare and hounds
Lovely food by the window and great service.
Will definitely go again x
We had a lovely dinner. Food was very nice. Would love a better drink range. And vegan options.
Really glad you enjoyed yourselves! We will take your comments on board and the menu is amidst changes so watch this space for vegan options! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review!
We love the Hare and Hounds. It’s the best place around. Fabulous and delicious food. Friendly, smiley staff and fantastic views. Always a buzz in the pub and a warm welcome. Xx
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are so glad you enjoy coming to visit us and that you are happy with your latest visit! We look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Food was lovely but waitress was very miserable. She did not smile & threw plate down, with chips flying off the plate. No apology for this.
Would come here again if we had a different waitress
Thanks for leaving a review of your recent visit to The Hare and Hounds! We are so glad you enjoyed your meal with us but we are very sorry and disappointed to hear about the service not being up to scratch! I can assure you this is a great rarity with our team as we pride ourselves in our friendly, smiley service and I will pass your feedback on to them to ensure this won't be repeated on your next visit! We look forward to seeing you again and thanks again for providing us with your feedback!
So disappointed. An beautiful building in extraordinary surroundings. The service was indifferent - we were not told about the specials, for example. Unfortunately, the quality of the food was really very poor. The starter of prawn cocktail was swimming in water, presumably from the defrosting of the prawns. The main course of sirloin steak was ordered to be rare. Unfortunately, it arrived simultaneously raw and tough, and it had not been seasoned. Most of our food was returned, and the manager didn’t charge us for them. However, the overall experience was so disappointing that I couldn’t recommend The Hare and Hounds at all, particularly when there are so many excellent establishments in Bath.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am terribly sorry to hear you did not enjoy your food and that you thought the service was a little lack-lustre, I can assure you this is not the high standard of food and service we expect from our team. Please feel free to contact us directly if you wish to discuss your feedback further.
Excellent food and ambience- a little on the pricey side but still worth it.
Thank you for your review! We will take your comments on board, but we are very pleased you enjoyed yourselves!
A spacious restaurant with stunning views over the valley. The ambience is warm, the food tasty and the attitude of the staff second to none in welcome and service
Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear you had a lovely time and that you enjoyed the food, service and the restaurant itself. We would love to see you again soon!
Outstanding lunch and selection of beers. Great service and comfortably busy to give a great ambience
Thank you very much! We are really glad you enjoyed yourself!
Great Sunday lunch
Great food in a great location. The service was friendly and efficient. Quite expensive.
Thank you for proving us with your feedback! I will pass your comments on to the team, and hopefully see you again soon!
Pub is set in a beautiful location but I found the dining experience there very average.
The service started well and then our waitress disappeared (may have ended her shift) and we were left with nobody to look after us.
The food was OK but overpriced for what it was.
Finally the conservatory area was very noisy. We had to shout to each other which was not very relaxing.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us and that your service was not up to our usual high standards. When our servers finish their shifts we do a handover to another server so I will be ensuring that is definitely happening every evening as it should be. We apologise for the noise and that you did not feel especially relaxed as this is the exact opposite of how we want our guests to feel!
Amazing food, servive and everything about it. Rang up prior to the booking and asked if they could take my orders before we got there instead of us having to order. It was mine and my girlfriend’s anniversary and I wanted to surprise her. The lady I spoke to on the phone said that she would give us two ‘on the house’ glasses of prosecco which was a lovely thought.
View was amazing and the food was incredible. Nothing bad about it!
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so glad we could make you anniversary exactly what you wanted it to be! We hope to see you both again soon!
Food was great, even if the chips were far too salty to eat (but that’s personal preference). Staff were fab, helpful and nice. Pub itself was lovely however the customer toilets could have done with a clean - lots of toilet roll on the floor and one blocked loo. Apart from that, I would be back!
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We will take your comments on board and make sure we are being as vigilant as possible with regard to our cleaning. As for the chips I will pass your comments o to the kitchen! We hope to see you back again soon!
We were lucky top have a great view by the window; all four of us had different starters and main dishes and every one was well presented and delicious. Easy to recommend it but you'll have to book!
Thank you so much for your lovely review! Hope to see you again!
Great little find on our way to Bath. Lovely outdoor seating area with great views. Food good, service staff a little young and unexperienced but not terrible service, just nit experienced.
Thank you so much for your review! we are glad you enjoyed your food and we will take on board your comments on our service and perhaps put some more time in for staff training. Many thanks again for sharing your views with us!
Perhaps it was because it was bank holiday Sunday but it was not a good experience. My partner was ok but I had an upset stomach afterwards. Service was bad and one waitress was wearing a filthy top. View was amazing.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. I'm terribly sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us and that we have fallen short of our usual high standards of food and service. We would love for you to visit us again so that we can show you that our service and food is usually much better than that you received when you visited us last.
What a beautiful setting! Our meal was delicious and we had wonderful staff to wait on us. Highly recommend!!
Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review! I will pass your comments on!
We’be Been here a few tiles and every time we have Loved our meal here! The reason for not having full stars is that when we orders drinks they took a very long time and when we asked they forgot the order and had to come back and ask what we wanted again. The waiter could’ve been new maybe? I also ordered a “mocktail” from the selection and it came out and was just raspberry cordial, no garnish and not worth the cost. EVERYTHING ELSE WAS PERFECT! Food was fantastic and the views were stunning! And everyone who greeted us was lovely. Thank you.
Thank you very much for such a lovely review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves. My apologies for the mocktail not being up to our usual high standard, there is no excuse for it and I will pass the feedback onto the team to ensure they are being made correctly by all bartenders. We would love to see you again soon!
View amazing lovely place to go for a drink only!!!
Food distinctly BLAND, poorly and overly cooked. Service is terrible -youngsters need some training- we twice had to ask the waitress to bring over plates for sharing platters and our drinks that had sat on the bar for 5 minutes
Over priced for very poor quality food, it’s only the view that is it’s saving grace.
Don’t waste your money eating there
Thanks so much for your review. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit and I will feed this back to the kitchen team to ensure they are aware. I am disheartened that we did not manage to meet our usual high standard of food and service on this occasion. We would love to see you again in the future and hopefully we can show you how we really do things here at the Hare and Hounds! Thanks again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
lovely venue and great food and service...................................................
Thank you very much! We really appreciate your lovely feedback!
We visited the Hare and Hounds on a Sunday - I had booked a table but we were a little bit early so sat outside and decided to stay on the terrace to eat. Unfortunately as soon as the food appeared so did the flies - not many wasps - but it was a bit off-putting. I didn’t think the roast sharing plate was as good as the last time I tried it but otherwise it was good. The staff were attentive and friendly.
Thank you for providing us with your feedback! I have informed the kitchen of your comments on the sharing roast and we are disappointed that you didn't enjoy it as much as you have done before. We would love to see you again to rectify this and restore your faith in our Sunday roasts! As for the visitors outside when the food came out, we can only apologise and promise you we are taking all the possible measures in order to get rid of wasps/flies. Thank you again for leaving a review!
This was my third visit and I have found the food to be consistently delicious. The view from the terrace is stunning and the chairs are very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful but I felt there could have been more people serving at the bar. Overall, a brilliant place to eat and I will definitely be back!
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased you regularly enjoy what we have to offer and we look forward to seeing you again soon! We try to make sure the restaurant is as fully staffed as we can at any given time so apologies for any wait caused by a lack of staff on your most recent visit. See you again!
We have been regular visitors since H&H opened
Our meal this time was a little disappointing reflected in the fact that nobody around the table cleared their plate
Service was good - very friendly waitress though bar service very slow. Food disappointing - This would need to be addressed for us to come back. It’s a shame because the menu looked nicer than the meals turned out to be. Maybe the chef was having a bad day ??
Thank you for leaving us a review, and for leaving us 4 stars despite not having the best time. your feedback has been passed on to the kitchen team to ensure this won't happen again as we usually pride ourselves in our attention to detail in both food and service. We would love to have you back again to restore your faith in The Hare and Hounds! Thanks again for providing us with your feedback!
Really great place - appealing building and grounds, jaw dropping views, such lovely service (really kind to my dog too, bringing him a dish of water and a saucer of treats as soon as we sat down. He was very happy !), delicious food with a nice range of options, and great atmosphere. Very enjoyable evening, thank you! Highly recommended.
So glad you enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you (and your dog!) back again very soon!
Meg to the rescue! We had a bit of a poor start with having to send the starter back as it was a little bit undercooked. Then the steak came out overcooked and took a while to come back out but Meg looked after us amazingly and made the whole experience ten times better - it wouldn’t stop us from coming back!
Thanks so much for your feedback guys! I have made Meg aware of your review and we really appreciate the feedback! We hope to see you again soon!
The food was far too salty and the service (kitchen) was too slow.
Thanks so much for your review. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit and I will feed this back to the kitchen team to ensure they are aware. I am disheartened we did not manage to meet our usual high standard of food and service on this occasion. We do hope you will consider joining us again in the future. We would love to show you what it is really like here at The Hare & Hounds! Thanks again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Beautiful views, fabulous staff, & great food! This will become a “must come back to” when we visit Bath again.
Thank you for such lovely feedback! The staff will all be very pleased to hear you had a lovely time. We hope to see you on your next visit!
Food was delicious (Sunday roast) and the staff were very friendly. Would definitely be back here.
So glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch here at The Hare and Hounds! We hope to see you again soon!
Lovely roast dinner. Quick and attentive staff for such a busy environment. Will be back again.
Thanks so much! We can't wait to welcome you back again!
Good dining experience would recommend.
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts! We are really glad you enjoyed yourself, we hope to see you again soon!
We had a great evening and dinner at the Hare & Hounds. We were a group of 10 and placed on a great table slightly separate from the rest of the restaurant which was perfect for our celebration. The service was excellent and they dealt with all our requests efficiently and with a smile!
Thanks so much for your glowing review! We are so pleased you enjoy yourselves and I hope you return to see us again soon!