Skip to main content
OpenTable logo
  1. Home
  2. United Kingdom
  3. Bath/Somerset
  4. Bath
  5. Bath

The Hare & Hounds

4.4
4.4
1728 Reviews
£26 to £40
British

A stunning stone building with picture-perfect countryside views, The Hare and Hounds offers British dishes and pub favourites. Corn-fed chicken, rosemary spring lamb and matured steaks are just a few of the favourites at the Bath gastro pub, plus check out their daily specials board. Dine amongst the spectacular greenery in the al fresco garden, or inside with a blend from the extensive wine list.

Make a booking

2 people

October 2021
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
19:00


  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Cuisines

    British, Modern European

  • Hours of Operation

    Monday - Friday 8.30am - 10.30pm.
    Saturday & Sunday 9am-10.30pm.

  • Phone number

    01225 482682

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

  • Dress Code

    Casual Dress

  • Executive Chef

    Jonathan Murphy

  • Area

    Bath

  • Parking Details

    Our private car park holds around 20 cars, plus there is plenty of on street parking.

  • Additional

    Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Full Bar, Indoor Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Safety precautions

  • Cleaning & sanitising

    • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
    • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
    • Sealed or wrapped utensils used
    • Common areas deep-cleaned daily
    • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
    • Contactless payment available
  • Physical distancing

    • Limited number of seated diners
    • Distancing maintained in common areas
    • Extra space between tables
  • Screening

    • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
    • Staff temperature check required
    • Contact tracing information collected

0 photos

No photos have been uploaded for this restaurant yet.

Menu

At present, we do not have menu information for this restaurant. Please see their website or wait to visit the restaurant to learn more.

What 1,728 people are saying

Overall ratings and reviews

Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant

4.4
4.4 based on recent ratings
  • 4.3Food
  • 4.4Service
  • 4.4Ambience
  • 4.1Value

NoiseModerate

Loved For

  • Bath/Somerset

    Child Friendly

  • Bath/Somerset

    Group Bookings

  • Bath/Somerset

    Lunch

  • Bath/Somerset

    Outdoor Eating

  • Bath/Somerset

    Scenic View

  • Bath/Somerset

    British

  • Bath/Somerset

    Most Booked

  • Bath

    Best Ambience

  • Bath

    Group Bookings

  • Bath

    Healthy

  • Bath

    Lunch

  • Bath

    Special Occasions

  • Bath

    Most Booked

Sort by

Filters

  1. I

    Izbob

    Bath

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 1 day ago

    overall3food4service1ambience4

    Food was tasty, if a little on the minimal side portion-wise. The service however, was painfully slow. The view from the main window was amazing, but unfortunately it didn’t comfort our rumbling tums for long.

  2. AF

    AlishiaF

    Bath

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall3food2service3ambience3

    Stunning venue, food very average, menu hasn't changed in a very long time. Expensive for what it is, frosty reception from what I can only imagine is the staff manager- everything appeared to be too much trouble, not at all friendly and looked like she'd rather be anywhere but at work. The younger serving staff were very sweet but inexperienced and seemed scared stiff of the lady I assume is their manager. This is the second time I've visited and felt very underwhelmed and disappointed with the food. Burger was just 'ok' chips were cold and chewy on arrival to the table. Much better places in Bath to go, not likely to return unless things improve. Shame really as it's a beautiful setting.

  3. RB

    RB95

    Bath

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall4food5service4ambience4

    Sunday roast was lovely. Looked a small portion when first came but everything tasted great. Loved the cauliflower cheese! Service was a little slow and waited quite a while for drinks but was probably due to them being fully booked on a Sunday. Food was really good, nice location of pub and walks around the area are good too.

  4. PW

    PaulW

    Bath

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined 2 days ago

    overall4food4service4ambience4

    Excellent Sunday roast with all the family. Staff very pleasant and attentive; nothing too much trouble.

  5. PR

    PaulR

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall2food3service1ambience2

    Poor slow service, told certain things weren’t on the menu only to see a table next to us receive those same items. Food average at best, Sunday roast looked like it had been put through a blender! Waitress had no idea what she was doing, forgot to bring things to the table and even had the cheek to charge service charge (which I refused) Will not be returning.

  6. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall5food5service4ambience5

    Gorgeous food! The roast was lovely! All of the staff were really friendly too 😀

  7. JC

    JustinC

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall3food3service1ambience5

    Great views and really nice venue, food was average but service was poor unfortunately. The first thing to arrive at our table was some Swede and gravy, despite asking for a child seat and ordering drinks 20 minutes prior. There were a lot of staff, but poorly organised and/or trained, a shame as the venue has the potential to be very good.

  8. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Bath

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall4food4service4ambience4

    Went for breakfast and all the dishes were very well presented and tasty with good coffee and friendly attentive service very enjoyable

  9. OT

    OpenTable Diner

    Devon

    2 reviews

    3.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall3food4service2ambience3

    Good food. Nicely presented but I hate garlic and the vegetables were smothered in it. nice setting and views over Bath. gentleman who greeted us very good, waitress with long plaited hair needs improvement-needs to learn how to not plonk the wine on the table and to engage with customers ie smile , didn’t like having the 10% service added to bill. I decide on tip I leave Not the restaurant. The jury is out on whether we will come back. Probably not.

  10. CW

    ClaraW

    Bath

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 3 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Perfect fish and chips Lovely setting Great service

  11. L

    Linda

    Bath

    2 reviews

    4.0

    2 reviews

    Dined 4 days ago

    overall4food5service3ambience4

    Good place for Friday night dinner, great food, restaurant warm, good wine and beer, we will return x

  12. M

    Margo

    Bath

    3 reviews

    2.0

    3 reviews

    Dined 5 days ago

    overall2food1service2ambience2

    We had oxtail dish very disappointing very little if any oxtail lots of lardons and carrots. Very salty too staff were made aware that we did not enjoy this dish.

  13. H

    Hippo

    Buckinghamshire

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined 6 days ago

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    This was the first visit , to this very welcoming establishment. It is quite a historic building, with wonderful views across the valley. The service was excellent, and the food was just fabulous. I wish we lived closer, as we had travelled from London.

  14. M

    Martin

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined 7 days ago

    overall2food2service1ambience1

    Greeting and service were poor. Food was good but didn't much like the menu

  15. M

    Mari

    Yorkshire

    3 reviews

    4.0

    3 reviews

    Dined on 17 October 2021

    overall4food4service3ambience4

    Good location, very nice Sunday lunch, pleasant staff but very slow service, not their fault I suspect just understaffed at the moment. Good vegan options and an excellent view. We would go again without hesitation.

    The Hare & HoundsResponded 7 days ago

    Thanks for the great rating! Hope to see you again soon!

  16. B

    Becky

    Bristol

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 17 October 2021

    overall1food1service3ambience3

    Really disappointing. Clearly new staff, untrained chefs and still charging expert prices.

    The Hare & HoundsResponded 7 days ago

    Hi Becky, I have responded to the email you sent us regarding your visit directly. Best Wishes, Hannah

  17. i

    icejunky

    Bath

    28 reviews

    5.0

    28 reviews

    Dined on 16 October 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Gosh ! Your chef can really cook fish - I had skate and it was superb. As always though the good is great here

    The Hare & HoundsResponded 7 days ago

    Thanks for taking the time to write us such an awesome review- our chefs were so happy with the feedback! Hope to see you again soon, Best Wishes, Hannah

  18. RC

    RudiC

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 15 October 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Fantastic food and atmosphere. Friendly staff. Thoroughly enjoyed it!

    The Hare & HoundsResponded 7 days ago

    Thanks for the lovely feedback following your visit to us! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hare and Hounds again soon!! Best Wishes, Hannah

  19. MM

    MellicaM

    London

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 14 October 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Excellent customer service, very friendly staffs. Meal was delicious and thanks again for our free glass of Prosecco for my birthday :)

  20. LC

    LocalCustomer

    1 review

    1.0

    1 review

    Dined on 14 October 2021

    overall1food1service2ambience3

    We all ordered homemade lemonade, which at £4.50 a glass is expensive. We discovered we had been given lemonade from the soda pump, which when we pointed this out was sheepishly corrected. Our meal was underwhelming; the scallops were very small and the samphire was woody and inedible. No comment from the kitchen when we sent the samphire back untouched, and still charged full price for the dish. And horrible, plasticky mayonnaise - when are you going to provide something of higher quality H&H? In summary, the Hare and Hound has stunning views over Bath but their food is inconsistent and currently overpriced and underwhelming.

    The Hare & HoundsResponded 7 days ago

    Hi there, I was sorry to read your feedback following your visit to us- I can assure you the standards described are not the norm. If you would like to discuss anything with us directly please do not hesitate to email us. Best Wishes, The Hare and Hounds

  21. NP

    NPSom

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 13 October 2021

    overall4food4service5ambience4

    Enjoyed a mid week lunch in this pub with some of the best views in Bath. Lovely helpful staff and great food.

  22. D

    Dolphin

    Bath

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 12 October 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience4

    Always a good friendly place to catch up with friends.

    The Hare & HoundsResponded on 13 October 2021

    Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review! That you had such a good time is lovely to hear. We can't wait to welcome you back into the pub again! Kind regards, Nathan

  23. JB

    JuliaB

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 October 2021

    overall4food4service5ambience4

    One of a few places in Bath that seemed to offer a Sunday roast into the evening and it didn't disappoint. We enjoyed the meal and the service was very good. The vegetables listed on the menu implied greater quantities than actually served but all very tasty. The accompanying red wine was enjoyable and average priced. The cheese board for dessert was a hit and offered a nice selection of cheeses and crackers. It was rather too noisy when we arrived as all tables were full but things did quieten down to a more acceptable level once a few customers had left! Overall a pleasant pub atmosphere with good food and service.

  24. IC

    IanC

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 October 2021

    overall3food3service3ambience2

    Friendly and leisurely service which was fine, although eating dessert with what looked like a soup spoon (and no fork) detracted from the experience. Food standard was ok and value for money was reasonable - however, automatically adding 10% staff gratuity without making it clear on the bill that this is a discretionary payment might confuse some customers…..we did pay it. Finally, the noise level on this occasion surpassed the description of “lively” and often peaked at “very loud.”

  25. J

    Jackbu52

    Devon

    4 reviews

    4.0

    4 reviews

    Dined on 10 October 2021

    overall4food5service3ambience4

    Fantastic venue with glorious views over East Bath. Food was lovely. Inside there was a lively vibrant atmosphere though it was quite noisy. Only criticism really was the time taken for service, which was quite slow. Definitely a favourite though and we shall go again.

  26. BJ

    BobJ

    London

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 October 2021

    overall4food4service5ambience5

    Lovely Sunday lunch. Great service. Only slight downside was the squid but otherwise service, location/views and all the other food was super. highly recommended

  27. GP

    GillP

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 10 October 2021

    overall4food4service4ambience4

    Had a Sunday roast with table by the window and lovely views. We all chose the roast chicken with roast potatoes, red cabbage, carrots and extras....... pigs in blankets, cauliflower cheese, yorkshire puddings and came with plenty of gravy. Was a lovely meal which we all enjoyed. We have been here a few times before, & look forward to returning again!

  28. J

    Jbear

    Bristol

    5 reviews

    3.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 9 October 2021

    overall3food3service3ambience2

    Quite noisy in there or maybe we were just unlucky sitting near a noisy table. Very casual dinning. Good for families with children. Food was okay and service fine.

  29. PG

    PaulaG

    London

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 October 2021

    overall2food1service3ambience4

    How the mighty have fallen. We used to love dining here with the children - not anymore. The food was very basic, bland with no real flavour. The burger bun was so dry we took the meat out and left the bun. Service was ok, location lovely. Next time we'll just have drinks - food definitely not worth the price tag!

  30. NS

    NicolaS

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 9 October 2021

    overall5food4service5ambience5

    A lovely place with amazing views and delicious food.

  31. SS

    SarahS

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 8 October 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience4

    The service was exceptionally good. A waiter brought a cushion for our disabled friend who wasn't comfortable and helped her down the steps to the toilet. He also sorted a taxi for us when we were unable to book an Uber. The staff all went beyond what we would have expected. The food was outstanding except for the fact there was no hot chicken dish on the menu so one of our party who doesn't eat red meat found the menu very limiting. Noise levels were high but the ambience and setting is lovely. Thank you to all the waiters and waitresses who really exceeded expectations.

  32. BT

    BradfordT

    San Francisco

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 8 October 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience4

    It's wonderful when you get what you pay for. Too often your faced with a moderately high bill for inadequate quality and service. Not here. The food is outstanding, very friendly wait staff and the place has a wonderful ambience and vibe.

  33. p

    philippah

    London

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 8 October 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Really kind, helpful service; delicious food and wonderful views. We loved it.

  34. GC

    GillC

    Bath

    1 review

    2.0

    1 review

    Dined on 8 October 2021

    overall2food2service3ambience2

    The food was average. It was so loud with very noisy children, it was very difficult to talk to anyone apart from who you were sat next to. With 8 of us a round table would have been better.

  35. S

    Simon

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 7 October 2021

    overall4food4service4ambience4

    The lighting was by candle light which made it a little difficult to see what we were eating. This was quickly helped by being given more candles on our table. The food was delicious and well presented by very friendly staff. We were only given a spoon with our desert and it would have been easier if we had a fork too!

  36. R

    Rachel

    Bath

    2 reviews

    5.0

    2 reviews

    Dined on 6 October 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    Love this pub. They never disappoint. Great food, service and the atmosphere is gorgeous.

    The Hare & HoundsResponded on 8 October 2021

    Hi Rachel, It is reviews such as these that are the reason why a lot of our team love coming to work. We are all so glad that you had such a good time and we truly can't wait to welcome you back again! I will be showing this to team to show them proof of how good a job they are doing! Kindest regards, Nathan

  37. A

    Ashtree31

    1 review

    3.0

    1 review

    Dined on 6 October 2021

    overall3food3service4ambience4

    Our lunch for 2 was OK but parsnips and carrots were hard and undercooked in the guinea fowl casserole which was disappointing, and the kitchen could not find any that was fully cooked. Pudding of Eton mess was lovely. I like the Hare and Hounds but do find that the noise level can be high making it difficult to hear people on your table - this is because all the surfaces are hard both in conservatory and main room. Service is friendly but food can be slow to arrive.

  38. D

    Devon

    Bath

    1 review

    4.0

    1 review

    Dined on 6 October 2021

    overall4food4service5ambience4

    The staff were very welcoming and lovely. The bottles being thrown into a bin every now and then was unrelaxing. The food was well presented and very tasty. The vinegar was horribly cloudy which is not good. It is a very nice place with a buzz and plenty of atmosphere.

  39. G

    Geordie

    Bath

    1 review

    5.0

    1 review

    Dined on 5 October 2021

    overall5food5service5ambience5

    We loved everything about our lunch at the HAre and hounds, as did our friends visiting from Canada

    The Hare & HoundsResponded on 7 October 2021

    Hi there! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, it is always extremely warming to read such amazing feedback and I'm so glad that both you and your Canadian friends enjoyed your experience with us! We can't wait to welcome you back when the opportunity next arrives for you to visit and will be eagerly awaiting it! Kindest regards, Nathan

  40. AT

    AndreaT

    Bristol

    5 reviews

    5.0

    5 reviews

    Dined on 4 October 2021

    overall5food4service4ambience4

    Service was attentive, friendly and pitched just right. Food quality was excellent and served promptly. Overall we were very pleased and will be back.

FAQs

The Hare & Hounds is rated 4.4 stars by 1728 OpenTable diners

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.

Make a booking

2 people

October 2021
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
27
28
29
30
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
19:00


Google Map for The Hare & Hounds

Lansdown Road Bath, Somerset BA1 5TJ

  • Area

    Bath

  • Hours of Operation

    Monday - Friday 8.30am - 10.30pm.
    Saturday & Sunday 9am-10.30pm.

  • Cuisines

    British, Modern European

  • Dining style

    Casual Dining

  • Dress Code

    Casual Dress

  • Parking Details

    Our private car park holds around 20 cars, plus there is plenty of on street parking.

  • Payment Options

    AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

  • Executive Chef

    Jonathan Murphy

  • Additional

    Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Full Bar, Indoor Fireplace, Non-Smoking, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Copyright © 2021 OpenTable International Ltd. Fourth Floor, 14-18 Finsbury Square, London EC2A 1AH - All rights reserved.
OpenTable is part of Booking Holdings, the world leader in online travel and related services.
Booking LogoPriceline LogoKAYAK LogoAgoda LogoRentalcars LogoOpenTable Logo