The Mitre

4.3
451 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British
Top tags:
  • Sunday Lunch
  • Casual
  • Neighbourhood Gem
Situated snugly on leafy Holland Park Avenue, The Mitre provides a warm welcome for locals and visitors to London alike. Our menu is based on seasonal British dishes with global influences and is complimented by a comprehensive list of fine wines, a wide range of cask ales and a small, but perfectly formed, cocktail list. Lying neatly between Holland Park and Notting Hill tube stations we are well positioned for easy access to the West End as well as being ideally placed as a stop off point to or from the world famous Portobello Market
What 451 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
A
San Francisco
9 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

My husband and I went to Mitre for our first Sunday roast since moving to London and loved it. The space itself is beautiful and quite spacious. The food was very good for a pub- this is a true Gastro-pub. The wine list is extensive as well. We very much enjoyed the meal and appreciated how dog friendly they are. Will definitely be back!

EC
London
1 review
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall 2food 1service 3ambience 3

We went there as a group of 4 and had dinner, food was not exceptional or not even any better than a place you can randomly get in.

The Mitre
Responded on 29 July 2019

Hi, I'm sorry to hear you wasn't impressed by your dinner. Would it be possible to send us an email to info@themitrew11.co.uk with some more information on what you had so we can feed it back to the kitchen team, as we are very proud of the quality of our food. Kind regards, John.

Report
AM
London
2 reviews
Dined on 18 July 2019
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 3

Nice location for drinking with friends, don’t recommend going for the food... food quality was fine, but no flavor in the chicken dish, bland burger, nicely charred steak, but otherwise nothing special. Service was fine.

The Mitre
Responded on 29 July 2019

Hi Amy, I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your burger or chicken. Our burgers are made from Mount Grace Steak, so are usually full of flavour, and our chicken is one of the most popular dishes on our menu. However I've fed your feedback back to the kitchen as we clearly didn't meet our usual high standards on this occasion. I hope you come and see us again soon so we can show you how good our food usually is. Kind regards, John.

Report
C
Central Coast
2 reviews
Dined on 12 July 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 3

We were at the Mitre to celebrate my husbands 80th birthday. Our evening started badly as we encountered a very rude client. However, once seated, it was fine. The noise level was extremely high but the food was excellent. I would come back here again for a special occasion

The Mitre
Responded on 16 July 2019

Hi Cazza, Apologies about the rude client. I'm glad we managed to turn your evening around and give you a fantastic celebration! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, John.

Report
CC
London
4 reviews
Dined on 12 July 2019
Overall 1food 4service 5ambience 1

This would be a seriously lovely place to eat, bot for the food and the people who serve it, but the noise is quite awful.

The Mitre
Responded on 16 July 2019

Hi Carmen, Thanks for your feedback. We have taken it on board and will be looking at changing our music levels going forward. Unfortunately there's not much we can do about noise from outside, as we are based on a very busy road. Kind regards, John.

Report
DM
London
1 review
Dined on 30 June 2019
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 2

Having had good experiences in the past we took friends from overseas to our local pub. What an embarrassment it proved to be. Service was almost non existent and at best dis-interested. One of the mains, a roast was cold and unappetising. We were not even offered dessert. A return visit is out of the question.

The Mitre
Responded on 8 July 2019

Hi David, We're sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience. I've passed your feedback on to both our front of house team and the head chef, and everyone was disappointed to hear we didn't reach our usually high standards on this occasion. We hope you give us another chance in the near future. Kind regards, John.

Report
NK
London
3 reviews
Dined on 30 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We have been coming here almost every weekend. It is our favourite pub because its family friendly and the kids menu is quite interesting. The sunday roasts are good too.

The Mitre
Responded on 8 July 2019

Hi Nurzetty, Thank you for your lovely feedback. It's always a pleasure to have your company. We look forward to seeing you next Sunday! Kind regards, John.

Report
DL
1 review
Dined on 30 June 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

Went for Sunday brunch and although it wasn't our first visit we were happily surprised at how what was always a 'nice' place for brunch has got even better. I had eggs florentine and they were absolutely perfect as were the eggs Royale a companion ordered. Toast was served quickly, plenty of butter and preserves with it, and the full English was beautifully served and really tasty. Staff were attentive and helpful, choices of coffee and teas as well as vegetarian options on the menu. Four of us ate plenty, two had two drinks each and the bill including service was just £58 - so very reasonable for a Holland Park venue. Great place on a sunny Sunday morning!

The Mitre
Responded on 8 July 2019

Hi Denise, I'm glad you had a wonderful visit. The entire team were delighted to hear your feedback, and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, John.

Report
c
London
31 reviews
Dined on 29 June 2019
Overall 3food 2service 1ambience 3

My friend was taking late afternoon flight home, so we booked a table for brunch at 10am. It opened at 10 but no one bothered to show us to the table. Took them to take orders good 15 minutes. Breakfast was really disappointing. Requested another coffee which was completely forgotten and did not arrive until we reminded twice. I’m not going back there ever again. I

The Mitre
Responded on 12 July 2019

Hi Chik, I'm sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience. It sounds like our team fell short of the standards we expect. I'll be discussing this with the entire team in order to ensure it doesn't happen again in the future, and hope you give us another chance in the near future. Kind regards, John.

Report
TL
Western NC
2 reviews
Dined on 28 June 2019
Overall 4food 3service 3ambience 4

Excellent food although two of us ordered the main rib-eye option that took 40 minutes to cook. That was OK but when our other guests' steaks came they were ice cold. The server was professional and knowledgable but was overworked and rarely came by to take orders, refresh drinks and bring check.

ML
London
61 reviews
Dined on 27 June 2019
Overall 3food 4service 2ambience 3

Came here for a work event on a Thursday evening. The place was half full but service was very slow. We kept having to call for attention for drinks, to order, water, etc. Food was decent but we waited so long between being seated, ordering, and receiving food that it left a bad taste I our mouths.

AA
London
1 review
Dined on 27 June 2019
Overall 3food 2service 2ambience 4

Average fish and chips. Other items in the menu were mediocre at best. Overpriced.

RT
Chicago
1 review
Dined on 23 June 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Arrived for a 9:15pm reservation, made through OpenTable, and was informed “the kitchen closes in 10 minutes... if you can order quickly we can serve you.” Only after our party of 5 was seated were we Informed about the 7 entrees that they had run out of already. We decided to leave. This restaurant should manage the reservation offering so as not to put customers in this position - the host admitted this when we checked in.

OT
London
1 review
Dined on 23 June 2019
Overall 1food 3service 1ambience 3

Very disappointed after today’s meal. The waiter couldn’t be more ruder. My husband (celiac) was given a card to scan to show GF meals which came back with 0 options. After much frustration he was told he could have a roast without the Yorkshire pudding. He asked for a few more potatoes instead and was told that they won’t be able to substitute the pudding with anything else as it a cheap item on the plate. Really? How much is a half a potato? We then ordered a pint of coke and pint glass came completely topped up with ice, we asked if we could have less ice and were told that this is the industry standard. I have never come across anything like this and we won’t be returning back. Such a disappointing lunch!

D
London
5 reviews
Dined on 20 June 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Great place with delicious food. Service excellent. Good range of wines and gins!

OK
Oxford
2 reviews
Dined on 16 June 2019
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 4

Rubbish meal overall. Restaurant had run out of most dishes, it was long to come and the quality was pretty crap. Not going to return.

The Mitre
Responded on 18 June 2019

Hi Oliver, We're really sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience this past Sunday. Unfortunately we did run out of a number of dishes, but that shouldn't have impacted the food that you did have. I've passed this feedback on to our head chef who will investigate. Thank you for the feedback, and I hope you give us another opportunity in the future. Kind regards, John.

Report
D
London
2 reviews
Dined on 16 June 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Terrible service and food. Used to go regularly and won’t be going back again. One particular waitress (who apparently is the manager) was unbelievably rude. To be fair, one manager (John I believe his name is) sorted it out in the end but by this point, the damage was well and truly done. Good for a drink but nothing more!

The Mitre
Responded on 18 June 2019

Hi Dan, Thank you for your feedback. While I'm glad I managed to get everything sorted for you in the end, I'm really sorry that it ruined the overall experience. We always try to look after our regulars, and would love another chance to win you back. Kind regards, John.

Report
RC
London
1 review
Dined on 16 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We visited for Father’s Day and with a family member from America. The staff were very friendly and the food outstanding. The setting is really lovely, and welcoming to couples and families alike. We would highly recommend The Mitre Inn

BF
London
27 reviews
Dined on 15 June 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 3

Friendly staff and excellent cocktails. Food was good, good place for a bite before heading to Holland Park.

The Mitre
Responded on 18 June 2019

Hi David, Thank you so much for your review. We're glad you had a great time and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, John.

Report
D
London
4 reviews
Dined on 15 June 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Amazing service as usual

The Mitre
Responded on 18 June 2019

Hi David, Thank you so much for your review. We're glad you had a great time and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, John.

Report
OT
London
1 review
Dined on 14 June 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

The food was delicious! The service was also very good. I also really enjoyed the ambiance of this restaurant.

The Mitre
Responded on 18 June 2019

Hi. Thank you for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the food and were happy with the service. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report
SF
Toronto
5 reviews
Dined on 9 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

The space is very inviting and modern. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I really enjoyed my experience dining here. The food was impeccably presented and tasted amazing! No complaints - a must if you’re looking for an amazing find in a quieter area of the city.

The Mitre
Responded on 18 June 2019

Hi Samantha, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're glad to hear you had a fantastic visit, and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, John.

Report
OT
1 review
Dined on 2 June 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 2

It wasn’t very clean and the roast and potatoes were dry. Tiny olives in the martini.

MM
London
8 reviews
Dined on 28 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Terrific food - very dependable! Nice selection and always delicious. A bit noisy though but it is a pub!

OT
London
18 reviews
Dined on 5 May 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Great food and service, varied menu (seafood and steaks). Really nice Sunday lunch.

NK
London
3 reviews
Dined on 5 May 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Very family friendly pub. The kids menu has variety. We had the fish and chips and sunday roast. Dessert was great too! The last time we visited this place was 2013; we returned again today 2019 and food was as good! Highly recommended!

VD
London
1 review
Dined on 27 April 2019
Overall 2food 2service 1ambience 3

Mi hanno rubato la borsa durante la cena. Hanno fatto nulla per aiutarmi nonostante fosse successo nel loro locale.

Report
OT
Berlin
7 reviews
Dined on 22 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Try the Fish n Chips or the seafood from the dryly menu!

W
London
2 reviews
Dined on 21 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I come to the Mitre regularly, and the service and food is amazing every time.
On my most recant visit I brought my parents to show them one of my favourite restaurants and the waiter and service were exceptional. Thank you so much to all at The Mitre.

EF
London
1 review
Dined on 21 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Went for Easter Lunch to have a roast with girlfriend. The pork belly was perfect. All the roasts looked great. Also had a tiramisu to finish the meal and it was very nice! Location is very pretty, the staff is extremely polite and helpful. Food is great. Had a great experience will come back again!

OT
London
3 reviews
Dined on 21 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Service was great. Our server was knowledgeable, professional and great fun. Food was exceptional - large portions, well cooked and great value for money. Will definitely be returning.

PO
London
24 reviews
Dined on 18 April 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

I go here fairly often, it's nice and local and there is some comfortable banquette seating at the rear. Food is usually good but my main course yesterday was delicious, crab and crayfish pappardelle - excellent.

FI
1 review
Dined on 13 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Everything we ordered was really good. Would defiantly recommend! I'm going back!

HW
London
1 review
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

We had a wonderful evening in this beautiful location. The food was delicious, the drinks fresh and tasty and the service was excellent. Thank You for this evening!

The Mitre
Responded on 10 April 2019

Hi Henrike, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are passing. Best regards, John

Report
B
London
3 reviews
Dined on 5 April 2019
Overall 4food 2service 4ambience 4

So, I do love this pub as the location and decor is super nice. However the food on Friday night was very average. The Manager is excellent and replaced the over cooked steak quickly (and let the dog enjoy the overcooked one) but the mussels were almost non-existent!

We would go back as we like the pub atmosphere but may not eat as the menu isn't cheap so one would expect the quality of the food to be reflected.

The Mitre
Responded on 10 April 2019

Hi Bella, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't have the best meal last Friday. Unfortunately we had only just launched a new menu which may have caused some issues in the kitchen. I'm glad to hear we managed to make things right on the day, and hope that you'll give our food another go. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, John

Report
FG
Grand Rapids
8 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

Came on a Sunday evening (Mother's Day) at 7:30. Table was ready immediately and we were seated right away. Service was polite yet slow. We were informed of a couple of dishes that had run out. When our food arrived, only one of the three of us had a good meal. My daughter's fish and chips were very oily and the portion of chips was small. My own roast beef was unflavorful and the root vegetables with it, while roasted were cold when they arrived. The gravy improved things marginally. My wife had the roast lamb which was by far the best meal of the three.

The Mitre
Responded on 10 April 2019

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for the speed of the service. We've addressed this with our team, as we feel that even though we had a busy day no guest should leave feeling that their service slow or anything less than attentive. I also apologise that you didn't enjoy your food. If you had raised it with us on the day we would have happily replaced the meals. I've passed your feedback on to the chef. I hope you give us another chance when you are in London next. Kind regards, John

Report
DM
London
3 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always a favourite for Sunday roast but good any other days as well.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 April 2019

Hi Darcy, Thanks so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, John

Report
OT
London
5 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A lovely Mothering Sunday afternoon with my grown up kids, wife and mother. The 2 Mums loved it. Always reliable Sunday’s at the Mitre

The Mitre
Responded on 4 April 2019

Hi, I'm glad you and your family had a wonderful Mothers Day with us. Thanks so much for the review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, John

Report
A
London
7 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

Fish & Chips are marvellous and very big portion.
Mount Grace beef tartare was very tasty as well.
A bit disappointed on the King's scallops, too heavy and covered the freshness of the scallop.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 April 2019

Hi Alice, Thanks so much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed most of your meal. I'll pass the feedback on the scallops on to our head chef Peter. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, John

Report
NE
1 review
Dined on 24 March 2019
Overall 2food 4service 1ambience 3

The food can’t be faulted, went for a Sunday roast and I don’t usually enjoy Yorkshire pudds but loved theirs, lamb was excellent although the pork was good it was maybe a bit dry and crackling was outstanding. Sadly this is all over shadowed by the shockingly slow and poorly trained wait staff, we watched as tables were seated and waited at least 15mins for menus, let alone drink orders which we over heard one waiter saying he couldn’t take as he didn’t know the drinks stocked. Two mains without drinks cost us about £40 and we have had dessert BUT it took so long to clear our plates we were in no mood to wait even longer to see another menu

I won’t go back, what could’ve been a lovely Sunday lunch turned into an overpriced meal

The Mitre
Responded on 4 April 2019

Hi Natalie, I'm really sorry to hear about your experience. The waiter who was unable to take orders was still in training, however he should have immediately sent someone else over to take your order for you. I can promise you that we will be looking at your feedback as a team and finding ways we can improve on the busier shifts. I'm glad you enjoyed the food, and hope we can convince you to give us another try. Best Regards, John

Report
1
2
3
12