The Mitre

4.3
419 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British
Top tags:
  • Sunday Lunch
  • Casual
  • Neighbourhood Gem
Situated snugly on leafy Holland Park Avenue, The Mitre provides a warm welcome for locals and visitors to London alike. Our menu is based on seasonal British dishes with global influences and is complimented by a comprehensive list of fine wines, a wide range of cask ales and a small, but perfectly formed, cocktail list. Lying neatly between Holland Park and Notting Hill tube stations we are well positioned for easy access to the West End as well as being ideally placed as a stop off point to or from the world famous Portobello Market
What 419 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.1
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
FI
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Everything we ordered was really good. Would defiantly recommend! I'm going back!

Report
Helpful
HW
London
1 review
Dined on 6 April 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

We had a wonderful evening in this beautiful location. The food was delicious, the drinks fresh and tasty and the service was excellent. Thank You for this evening!

The Mitre
Responded on 10 April 2019

Hi Henrike, Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are passing. Best regards, John

Report
Helpful
B
London
3 reviews
Dined on 5 April 2019
Overall 4food 2service 4ambience 4

So, I do love this pub as the location and decor is super nice. However the food on Friday night was very average. The Manager is excellent and replaced the over cooked steak quickly (and let the dog enjoy the overcooked one) but the mussels were almost non-existent!

We would go back as we like the pub atmosphere but may not eat as the menu isn't cheap so one would expect the quality of the food to be reflected.

The Mitre
Responded on 10 April 2019

Hi Bella, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't have the best meal last Friday. Unfortunately we had only just launched a new menu which may have caused some issues in the kitchen. I'm glad to hear we managed to make things right on the day, and hope that you'll give our food another go. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, John

Report
Helpful
FG
Grand Rapids
5 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

Came on a Sunday evening (Mother's Day) at 7:30. Table was ready immediately and we were seated right away. Service was polite yet slow. We were informed of a couple of dishes that had run out. When our food arrived, only one of the three of us had a good meal. My daughter's fish and chips were very oily and the portion of chips was small. My own roast beef was unflavorful and the root vegetables with it, while roasted were cold when they arrived. The gravy improved things marginally. My wife had the roast lamb which was by far the best meal of the three.

The Mitre
Responded on 10 April 2019

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for the speed of the service. We've addressed this with our team, as we feel that even though we had a busy day no guest should leave feeling that their service slow or anything less than attentive. I also apologise that you didn't enjoy your food. If you had raised it with us on the day we would have happily replaced the meals. I've passed your feedback on to the chef. I hope you give us another chance when you are in London next. Kind regards, John

Report
Helpful
DM
London
1 review
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Always a favourite for Sunday roast but good any other days as well.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 April 2019

Hi Darcy, Thanks so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, John

Report
Helpful
OT
London
5 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A lovely Mothering Sunday afternoon with my grown up kids, wife and mother. The 2 Mums loved it. Always reliable Sunday’s at the Mitre

The Mitre
Responded on 4 April 2019

Hi, I'm glad you and your family had a wonderful Mothers Day with us. Thanks so much for the review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, John

Report
Helpful
A
London
5 reviews
Dined on 31 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

Fish & Chips are marvellous and very big portion.
Mount Grace beef tartare was very tasty as well.
A bit disappointed on the King's scallops, too heavy and covered the freshness of the scallop.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 April 2019

Hi Alice, Thanks so much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed most of your meal. I'll pass the feedback on the scallops on to our head chef Peter. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, John

Report
Helpful
NE
1 review
Dined on 24 March 2019
Overall 2food 4service 1ambience 3

The food can’t be faulted, went for a Sunday roast and I don’t usually enjoy Yorkshire pudds but loved theirs, lamb was excellent although the pork was good it was maybe a bit dry and crackling was outstanding. Sadly this is all over shadowed by the shockingly slow and poorly trained wait staff, we watched as tables were seated and waited at least 15mins for menus, let alone drink orders which we over heard one waiter saying he couldn’t take as he didn’t know the drinks stocked. Two mains without drinks cost us about £40 and we have had dessert BUT it took so long to clear our plates we were in no mood to wait even longer to see another menu

I won’t go back, what could’ve been a lovely Sunday lunch turned into an overpriced meal

The Mitre
Responded on 4 April 2019

Hi Natalie, I'm really sorry to hear about your experience. The waiter who was unable to take orders was still in training, however he should have immediately sent someone else over to take your order for you. I can promise you that we will be looking at your feedback as a team and finding ways we can improve on the busier shifts. I'm glad you enjoyed the food, and hope we can convince you to give us another try. Best Regards, John

Report
Helpful
V
Berkshire
1 review
Dined on 24 March 2019
Overall 3food 4service 1ambience 4

Service was poor. Stood for 10mins at the door before being said hello to or I will be with you in a minute. Then immediately told we had to order by 11:30am for brunch otherwise would be lunch menu but that didnt start till noon. We had an 11am table but werent seated to 11:10am. Then second thing we were told was we had to be out by 2pm. We didnt get menus will 11:20am. In fairness after some fuss they kept the kitchen open an extra 10mins. It is just so rude to feel rushed, not to be asked how you are. Also it makes no sense to not be able to order any food between 1130am and noon. Also they ran out of pancakes but didnt tell us till after we ordered. Food was good though and lovely table and place despite the terrible service.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 April 2019

Hi, I'm really sorry to hear about your experience. Unfortunately we have to close our kitchen between breakfast and lunch service so the chefs can reset the kitchen and prepare for a completely separate menu. This is reflected on our website and in the available booking times. Regarding the service, all I can do is apologies. I've passed the feedback on to the team who were upset to hear you hadn't had a good time. I hope you give us another chance in the future. Best Regards, John

Report
Helpful
JT
London
1 review
Dined on 22 March 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

The staff were really welcoming and friendly. I had a gorgeous veggie mushroom wellington - great flavour and not heavy, just perfect. Pudding was a chocolate bread and butter pudding which was recommended by our server, again full of flavour and gorgeous (not my usual type of pudding but very glad I tried it). I arrived early and we left late but at no point were we ‘hassled’ to order or leave the table which we really appreciated. It was really busy and quite noisy but it was a very enjoyable evening.

Report
Helpful
s
London
1 review
Dined on 16 March 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 3

Mussel starter was mediocre as was the fillet steak. Triple cooked chips saved it from two star.

Report
Helpful
VP
London
3 reviews
Dined on 15 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Food is excellent, so was the service. Perfect place for dinner with a group of friends.

Report
Helpful
AD
London
1 review
Dined on 12 March 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We had a very nice, informal dinner with some international business partners, The Mitre has a beautiful yet comfortable interior, service was excellent and super attentive and the food was delicious! Thank you.

Report
Helpful
E
London
2 reviews
Dined on 10 March 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Good food, nice atmosphere friendly staff. Better than the “usual” pubs booking is mandatory especially over the weekends.

Report
Helpful
OT
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 24 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Incredible food and great atmosphere - absolutely loved it !

Report
Helpful
TL
London
1 review
Dined on 17 February 2019
Overall 4food 3service 5ambience 3

Unless they have a baby with them, as the place is too loud during the weekend.

Report
Helpful
LN
London
1 review
Dined on 16 February 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

friendly high quality pub with a varied menu. food was good and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. we will return for sure.

Report
Helpful
AS
London
2 reviews
Dined on 16 February 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 4

Mussels weren't very warm, otherwise great atmosphere

Report
Helpful
OT
London
3 reviews
Dined on 10 February 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great service as usual

Report
Helpful
JD
London
3 reviews
Dined on 25 January 2019
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 2

It wasn’t a great experience. Service was really slow, we arrived at 7:30pm and left at 10pm. Our waiter, he was really rude. Took forever to get food and drinks. Food sizing for vegetarian vs the burger were pretty bad, vegetarian dishes significantly smaller. Deserts were very average, frozen and heated up in a microwave is my guess. The only saving grace was that my burger was very delicious. I won’t be going back or recommending to a friend.

Report
Helpful
PO
London
23 reviews
Dined on 25 January 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

The food was delicious and the service friendly, have been here often and like the banquette seating by the windows.

Report
Helpful
c
London
1 review
Dined on 30 December 2018
Overall 2food 1service 2ambience 3

roasts were dry ,potatoes were dry -- sunday roast platter was ridiculously small. on top of that small and rude service - very disappointing

Report
Helpful
RV
London
2 reviews
Dined on 29 December 2018
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Incredible mushroom wellington - but do add a side :)

Report
Helpful
B
London
1 review
Dined on 26 December 2018
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

A heavy Boxing Day pub meal following a Christmas Day Turkey etc blow out is never the greatest prospect but Josh, our very personable server, recommended the crab and clam sea food pasta special which was just the job for our family pre-match get together.

Report
Helpful
L
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on 22 December 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Burgers are always top notch and the staff are very pleasant. Great for late-afternoon meals.

Report
Helpful
AK
London
1 review
Dined on 21 December 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

We did a boys Christmas dinner here and had a great time. Lovely service provided by Lizzy.. will go back for sure...

Report
Helpful
SC
London
1 review
Dined on 15 December 2018
Overall 3food 5service 3ambience 4

Excellent food and good portions. Prices a little high but what you should expect around Holland Park in any better establishment.

Initial greeting was a little lacking, but service picked up throughout the meal.

Overall a good experience.

Report
Helpful
OT
London
2 reviews
Dined on 12 December 2018
Overall 3food 5service 3ambience 4

Lovely atmosphere and gorgeous food. However, due to xmas parties around us we felt we didn’t have the waiters full attention and had to ask for the bill twice. I would suggest partitioning the restaurant in events like this.

Report
Helpful
J
New York Area
19 reviews
Dined on 9 December 2018
Overall 2food 4service 4ambience 2

The food was good, and the restaurant convenient to where I was staying. The menu was not extensive, and they were out of a few items - though we had an early dinner (6:30 pm). The noise level was much too loud for me!

Report
Helpful
g
London
7 reviews
Dined on 8 December 2018
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

The Mitre is always good and on Saturday it was excellent. Quite noisy as everyone clearly in Christmas spirits.

Report
Helpful
JL
Berkshire
1 review
Dined on 8 December 2018
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

Very busy bar area due to Christmas functions meant noise levels at 5.30pm on a Saturday were almost intolerable. While the dining area was well designed with good seating, the proximity to a very large bar area meant you would not be able to even hear your fellow diners at the table.

Left without sampling the menu, so cannot comment regarding food or overall service. Unfortunately the star ratings do not allow me to leave those blank.

Report
Helpful
DH
1 review
Dined on 8 December 2018
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Friendly staff, quick service and enjoyable fish and chips!

Report
Helpful
M
London
28 reviews
Dined on 2 December 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Been coming here for years and it never fails to Impress.

Report
Helpful
D
London
3 reviews
Dined on 2 December 2018
Overall 2food 2service 2ambience 3

The menu seemed to have not changed in a year. The roast beef dinners were enjoyed, but the roast belly pork was tough and the roast potatoes were not crispy or capable of being cut. The kids' fish fingers and chips were overcooked. We arrived at 1pm but had difficulty getting any desserts before 3pm when one of our party had to leave. So overall, rather disappointing.

Report
Helpful
CM
London
1 review
Dined on 30 November 2018
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

The food was on the expensive side and while the serving and quality were vb impeccable, the courses just weren't that special (marketplace fish and truffle chips). The desserts, on the other hand, made the whole meal.

Our waitress was absolutely wonderful, very attentive and sweet and just lovely. Would still recommend to a friend, just maybe order something different.

Report
Helpful
b
New York Area
2 reviews
Dined on 22 November 2018
Overall 3food 4service 5ambience 1

We came for the Thanksgiving dinner. The food was fine, the staff really supportive and attentive. But the noise was terrible! On our decibel app the levels were as high as 89 dcb. A combination of raucous bar noise, loud restaurant conversation (to be heard over the noise) and incessant bass beat from the 'background' music. It spoiled the experience.

Report
Helpful
M
London
4 reviews
Dined on 18 November 2018
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Lovely food great staff. Good for Sunday roast. Very good sticky toffee pudding

Report
Helpful
M
Los Angeles
1 review
Dined on 4 November 2018
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Service and food was excellent. I would highly recommend this restaurant

Report
Helpful
M
London
22 reviews
Dined on 4 November 2018
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Great Sunday roast and always enjoy our visits there.

Report
Helpful
SF
London
3 reviews
Dined on 4 November 2018
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 4

Gorgeous pub in a great location how ever i found the food quite bland- we had the sunday roast

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11