This restaurant added safety precaution details

This includes info about cleaning, sanitising, social distancing, and usage of personal protective equipment. Learn more.

The Mitre

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
510 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
British

Top tags:

Sunday Lunch
Casual
Situated snugly on leafy Holland Park Avenue, The Mitre provides a warm welcome for locals and visitors to London alike. Our menu is based on seasonal British dishes with global influences and is complimented by a comprehensive list of fine wines, a wide range of cask ales and a small, but perfectly formed, cocktail list. Lying neatly between Holland Park and Notting Hill tube stations we are well positioned for easy access to the West End as well as being ideally placed as a stop off point to or from the world famous Portobello Market

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Clean menu provided to every guest
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Social Distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
Personal Protective Equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
What 510 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
Sort by
Filters
GB
GeorgeB
London
17 reviews
Dined 2 days ago
Overall3food3service2ambience3

Service was not great and we were put on a table at the back of the pub which lacked the atmosphere in other parts. If we were seated outside or towards the front it probably would've been a much better experience.

JK
vipJKAZ
London
57 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great to be back! Fantastic service and excellent food just like before the lockdown!

NM
NicoleM
London
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The staff were extremely friendly, excellent service and our time-slot was extended to suit our needs.

W
lucyW
London
4 reviews
Dined on 8 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I love the Mitre especially for roast dinner, great staff, always are very helpful and smiley.
Food is amazing and great setting.

The Mitre
Responded on 10 March 2020

Hi Lucy, Thanks for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, John.

Report
CP
CristinaP
1 review
Dined on 8 March 2020
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Good food, good ambient, good atmosphere. I will come back

The Mitre
Responded on 10 March 2020

Hi Cristina, Thanks for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards, John.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
8 reviews
Dined on 1 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Still reckon this is the best burger in town, and great value Cotes du Rhône. Lovely as always

The Mitre
Responded on 5 March 2020

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. We are proud of our burgers, and use the same meat for them as we do in our steaks, from Mount Grace farm in Yorkshire! I'm glad you enjoy them as much as we do. Kind regards, John.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
5 reviews
Dined on 1 March 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Sunday lunch with my family and our Labrador- everything is perfect here , and the staff are ACE ! So professional and friendly, a great time had by all !

The Mitre
Responded on 5 March 2020

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet your family, including the dog! We look forwards to seeing you again. Kind regards, John.

Report
AS
ASB79
London
2 reviews
Dined on 25 February 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Lovely pub, great food, attentive staff. Personally found the bench seating a little uncomfortable, could be because I am short, legs didn't touch the ground and the table was really far away from me if I sat with my back supported, so ended up with neck pain, after an otherwise delicious meal. Would probably ask for to not be in a booth next time.

The Mitre
Responded on 1 March 2020

Hi. Thanks for the lovely review. Sorry to hear you didn't find the booth comfortable. We'll always be happy to find you an alternative seat. If you could add it as a booking note in future that'd be fantastic, that way we won't assign you to a booth. I look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, John.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
8 reviews
Dined on 16 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Had the monkfish special with gnocchi. Bearing in mind this is a pub (albeit in Holland Park) this was excellently executed. A really lovely Sunday lunch, as ever.

The Mitre
Responded on 21 February 2020

Hi, Thanks for the wonderful review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our Market Fish Special, and hope we see you again next Sunday. Kind regards, John.

Report
C
vipCornelius
London
30 reviews
Dined on 14 February 2020
Overall1food1service1ambience2

Turns out our waiter likes dogs. If only he invested as much enthusiasm to cleaning his hands post stroke the world would be a healthier place.

The Mitre
Responded on 15 February 2020

Hi Cornelius, Sorry to hear you felt that way. I can assure you that all of our staff wash their hands regularly after contact with dogs, but I will make sure it's brought up with the team again to ensure everyone is following procedures. Kind regards, John.

Report
I
vipIzzy
London
5 reviews
Dined on 5 February 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Brilliant evening
Very tasty food and lovely staff

The Mitre
Responded on 8 February 2020

Hi Izzy, Thanks for the wonderful review. We're glad you had a brilliant evening here and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, John.

Report
VI
vipVIVY5
London
21 reviews
Dined on 1 February 2020
Overall5food4service4ambience5

Headed to The Mitre for the rugby. Very accommodating staff as well as delicious bar food. Highly recommended for the weekends.

The Mitre
Responded on 6 February 2020

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. See you next match day? Kind regards, John.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 31 January 2020
Overall4food4service2ambience4

Lovely place, nice staff who are always accommodating. Sometimes wish they had more servers to accommodate everyone. Great place to go with friends or family

The Mitre
Responded on 6 February 2020

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. Apologies if you felt we were under staffed, it's something we'll look at and see if we can improve. Kind regards, John.

Report
RV
RoyV
London
1 review
Dined on 31 January 2020
Overall4food4service4ambience4

We have been coming here for a few years now and we love it. The food is perfect and staff as marvelous. Whenever we are in the area we go for it !

The Mitre
Responded on 6 February 2020

Hi Roy, Thanks for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area! Kind regards, John.

Report
IA
IANT
New York Area
4 reviews
Dined on 29 January 2020
Overall5food4service5ambience4

Delicious oysters, our server was amazing, really took great care of us. in all, a great pub..

The Mitre
Responded on 1 February 2020

Hi Ian, Thanks for the lovely feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the Oysters. Kind regards, John.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
6 reviews
Dined on 25 January 2020
Overall2food1service5ambience3

Staff very nice but food is really bad

The Mitre
Responded on 28 January 2020

Hi, I'm glad you enjoyed the service, but disappointed to hear that your food wasn't at our normal standard. If you could get in touch with some more information, so we can look into the issue, that'd be fantastic. I hope we see you again soon, so we can demonstrate how good our food usually is. Kind regards, John.

Report
M
Martin
London
7 reviews
Dined on 23 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I have eaten at the Mitre a few times and I have always found the menu interesting and creative. This, coupled with excellent service, has made every visit a pleasure.

The Mitre
Responded on 28 January 2020

Hi Martin, Thanks for the wonderful review. We're glad you enjoy our food and the service we offer, and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, John.

Report
JF
vipJustinFae
London
4 reviews
Dined on 18 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The Scallops followed by Haunch of Venison were utterly delicious. Great atmosphere and service as always.

The Mitre
Responded on 21 January 2020

Hi Justin & Fae, Thanks again for the lovely review. It's always a pleasure to have you at The Mitre. Kind regards, John.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
8 reviews
Dined on 12 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a treat to spend some lazy Sunday hours at the Mitre with friends and family.

The Mitre
Responded on 14 January 2020

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards, John.

Report
a
alixm
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on 11 January 2020
Overall3food2service5ambience2

Having come here a few times, I now know it's definitely at its best when it's quieter. My last visit was extremely noisy and we waited about 45 mins for food - none of which was complicated but just brunch. My mum came another time recently when it was busy and also had an even longer wait for food so clearly they need more staff in the kitchen or someone to manage the kitchen better when it's busy.

However, it's good value with an nice ambiance and we had great service from a friendly, unflappable French waitress. The other thing I like about this place is the fact they are dog-friendly.

The Mitre
Responded on 14 January 2020

Hi Alix, Thanks for the feedback. I'm glad to hear you love the service, but I'm disappointed to hear that the wait for food hasn't been acceptable on two separate occasions. I'll bring this up with our head chef so we can ensure it isn't the case going forward. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, John.

Report
LP
LindaP
London
3 reviews
Dined on 1 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We were meeting with relatives we’d never met before so there was lots to talk about. We arrived half an hour early and were immediately seated. The staff allowed us to stay for 3.5 hours, when we were ready to leave. They never rushed us and we had a lovely time.

The Mitre
Responded on 5 January 2020

Hi Linda, We're glad to hear you had a wonderful family reunion at the Mitre, and hope we see you next time you are in the area! Kind regards, John.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Melbourne / VIC
1 review
Dined on 1 January 2020
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent on all accounts.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 January 2020

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. Kind regards, John.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on 30 December 2019
Overall1food2service4ambience3

Non lo consiglio. Siamo stati per cena. La mia impressione e’ che non sono all’altezza della situazione.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 28 December 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great atmosphere, nice food and friendly staff-would go again!

The Mitre
Responded on 29 December 2019

Hey, Thanks for the lovely review. Kind regards, John.

Report
PO
POLLY
London
25 reviews
Dined on 23 December 2019
Overall4food4service3ambience3

The food was delicious, very nicely cooked. It was busy with lots of kids and a dog with a piercing back contributing occasionally. Service was OK but I think they were busier than they had anticipated and so a couple of times we needed to nudge them. Overall we were happy though and will be back.

The Mitre
Responded on 26 December 2019

Hi Polly, Thanks for the lovely review. I'm sorry to hear you felt the service was a little stretched, it was a far busier day than we had anticipated. I'm glad to hear you still had a wonderful time. We look forward to seeing you again soon and demonstrating our usual standards of service. Kind regards, John.

Report
J
vipJeznlondon
London
166 reviews
Dined on 16 December 2019
Overall5food4service5ambience4

The Mitre is a real local gastropub. Great food, a winsome menu and great service.

The Mitre
Responded on 22 December 2019

Hi Jez, Thanks for the lovely review. We're glad to hear you had a great experience with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, John.

Report
AW
AnnaW
1 review
Dined on 12 December 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I organised my birthday party at The Mitre. The customer service was lovely and my group of 9 guests really enjoyed the venue, Christmas decor and the food. Only on one occasion we had to grab the attention of the waiting staff, so we all could order the main course, but as soon as the waiting staff arrived they were really nice and apologetic that they didn’t realise all guests have arrived already. - We were supposed to be 10 people. All in all I would love to give this experience a five star. Thank you.

The Mitre
Responded on 14 December 2019

Hi Anna, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're glad to hear you had a great birthday here, and look forward to looking after you again soon. Kind regards, John.

Report
B
harborB
Seattle
21 reviews
Dined on 11 December 2019
Overall2food5service1ambience4

Excellent food and a decent menu.

The Mitre
Responded on 12 December 2019

Hi, I'm really sorry to hear that excellent food was spoiled by a bad dining experience. I'll be sure to personally talk to everyone involved to make sure this doesn't happen again, and hope you give us another chance. Kind regards, John.

Report
P
vipPeterg
Toronto
48 reviews
Dined on 8 December 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had a very good Sunday lunch today, the food was excellent, the service from John and Perrine was very professional and allowed us to leave promptly for a winter stroll in Holland Park to walk it off!
Peter & Cat

The Mitre
Responded on 9 December 2019

Hi Peter & Cat, Thanks for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your day! Kind regards, John.

Report
TS
TrudeS
London
1 review
Dined on 7 December 2019
Overall4food2service4ambience4

Very Nice Food -except the burgers-they were very average. God service-waited too long for the espresso martinis.

The Mitre
Responded on 9 December 2019

Hi Trude, Thanks for the wonderful review. Apologies about the time the cocktails took, I'll look into it and discuss the issue with the team. I'm glad to hear it didn't spoil the experience. Kind regards, John.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 24 November 2019
Overall3food4service3ambience3

Had roast dinner - meat was delicious and very well cooked, as were vegetables. Would have been better with more gravy, Yorkshire pudding was cold. Was not the friendliest place but not rude either. Service was efficient. Probably won’t go back given the price I would expect everything to be on point.

The Mitre
Responded on 28 November 2019

Hi, Thanks so much for your review. I'm sorry to hear you didn't have the best time, as we'd also expect everything to be on point. We do offer unlimited gravy on request with roasts. Your waiter should have checked how everything was and brought more gravy if you asked for it, so apologies that that didn't happen. I hope you come back again in the future and give us another chance. Kind regards, John.

Report
D
vipDavid
London
9 reviews
Dined on 23 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Tasty food and excellent service

The Mitre
Responded on 23 November 2019

Hi David, Thanks for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, John.

Report
A
vipAggy
London
3 reviews
Dined on 19 November 2019
Overall1food1service1ambience2

The service was poor ..one of the waiters was actually quite rude and arrogant. Food was very average the burgers were not made on premises tasted like Tesco burgers.. overall disappointing. I have been eating here for years and the quality or service and food was lacking.

The Mitre
Responded on 22 November 2019

Hi Aggy, Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry you had a disappointing experience. We always aim to provide excellent service, and the team was disappointed to hear your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your burger. Our burgers are made by our butchers at Mount Grace farm in Yorkshire, who also provide our steaks. They are rare breed beef burgers made to our own specification and usually get very positive feedback. I hope we see you again in the near future. Kind regards, John.

Report
KB
KamiB
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Dined on 10 November 2019
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Great Sunday roast! I liked the lamb more than the pork. It's a swanky-looking pub and I definitely will return.

The Mitre
Responded on 17 November 2019

Hi Kami, Thanks for the wonderful review. The lamb is my personal favourite, although the pork is a close #2! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, John.

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 10 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing! Sunday roast and pudding was outstanding. Thank you for a great Sunday, hospitality and service was outstanding.

The Mitre
Responded on 17 November 2019

Hi, Thanks for the wonderful review. We're all glad to hear you had a fantastic visit. Kind regards, John.

Report
D
vipDavid
London
9 reviews
Dined on 9 November 2019
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Very good as usual, the only but would be that the portion in some dishes have been a bit smaller than usual, mainly the smashed avocado

The Mitre
Responded on 9 November 2019

Hi David, Thanks for the wonderful review. I'm sorry to hear the portion sizes seemed a little smaller today, I'll speak to my head chef tomorrow to investigate. Next time you are in, let us know and we'll make sure you get a little extra to make up for it. Kind regards, John.

Report
IG
vipIriG
London
7 reviews
Dined on 7 November 2019
Overall2food1service3ambience2

The food was very salty, over cooked and the portion of fish was extremely small. The food came cold. Wouldn’t come back.

The Mitre
Responded on 9 November 2019

Hi Iri, I'm really sorry to hear that; it doesn't sound like that reflects our normal standards at all. Thank you so much for bringing it to our attention. Is it possible to send us a message and let us know exactly what you had, so I can bring it to my head chef's attention? In the mean time, we would like to apologise for the experience you had. Please can you email us on info@themitrew11.co.uk, so we can investigate further. Kind regards, John.

Report
B
Brette
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 3 November 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious Sunday roast, good wine selection & lovely atmosphere!!

The Mitre
Responded on 6 November 2019

Hi Brette, Thanks for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, John.

Report
ER
vipEnglishRose01
London
18 reviews
Dined on 3 November 2019
Overall4food5service5ambience4

The food was first class as was the service. It was our first visit and will not be our last when we are next in the area.

Noise was a little on the high side and although it is nice to see dogs are allowed, they did bark a few times so was a little annoying as could not hear conversation.

Keep up the good work.

The Mitre
Responded on 6 November 2019

Hi, Thanks for the wonderful review. I'll be sure to pass your compliments on to the kitchen and front of house team! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, John.

Report
LR
vipLindaR
Houston
86 reviews
Dined on 30 October 2019
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Food was predictably good after our very good first experience.
Portiins are good size and readonably priced.

The Mitre
Responded on 30 October 2019

Hi Linda, Thanks for the wonderful review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, John.

Report

FAQs

The Mitre does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo. The Mitre also offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at 020 7727 6332.

The Mitre is rated 4.3 stars by 510 OpenTable diners.

You can book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size.