The Mitre

4.4
749 reviews
£25 and under
British
Situated snugly on leafy Holland Park Avenue, The Mitre provides a warm welcome for locals and visitors to London alike. Our menu is based on seasonal British dishes with global influences and is complimented by a comprehensive list of fine wines, a wide range of cask ales and a small, but perfectly formed, cocktail list. Lying neatly between Holland Park and Notting Hill tube stations we are well positioned for easy access to the West End as well as being ideally placed as a stop off point to or from the world famous Portobello Market

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
What 749 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
PW
PaulW
London
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Had a lovely time here. Went with my partner. We shared the sourdough bread and butter to start then I had the pie and he had the burger. Both exceptional. Was reasonably priced and didn’t break the bank. Would definitely go here again.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
9 reviews
Dined on 17 October 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A lovely Sunday lunch that happened to coincide with the birth of our 1st granddaughter. A lovely celebration.

The Mitre
Responded 4 days ago

Good Morning. Thank you so much for your 5* review. We are so happy you had a great time. Congratulations to you and your family on the birth of your first Granddaughter and we look forward to meeting her in the near future. Team Mitre

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 17 October 2021
Overall2food3service4ambience4

Food was ok but not great and the sweet potato fries were microwaved! The portion of meat was very small.

JO
JayeO
1 review
Dined on 15 October 2021
Overall2food5service1ambience2

One of the male staff whom served us wasn’t very helpful but the food was amazing.

The Mitre
Responded on 17 October 2021

Hi Jaye, I'm really sorry to hear that. We'd love to hear more so we can make sure that it doesn't happen again! Please email us at info@themitrew11.co.uk We're glad to hear you loved the food though. Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
AI
AnnaI
London
1 review
Dined on 10 October 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Sunday roast was so tasty
It is a lovely pub.. nice atmosphere

The Mitre
Responded on 17 October 2021

Hi Anna Thank you so much for your 5* review. We are so glad you enjoyed your Roast Dinner with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Team Mitre

Report
p
peterh
Buckinghamshire
1 review
Dined on 7 October 2021
Overall5food4service3ambience5

great pub , food good .. service was a little slow this evening but may have been a busy evening.. but very polite

The Mitre
Responded on 11 October 2021

Hi Peter, Thank you so much for our 5* review. We hope to see you again very soon. Team Mitre

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
5 reviews
Dined on 3 October 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience2

The service really does let this place down. On arrival we noticed no less than five staff members milling around the bar area but we stood there for about two minutes before being acknowledged. This happened to other guest we saw arriving afterwards. The service was rather chaotic sadly resulting in several mistakes. The food itself was lovely as usual.

The Mitre
Responded on 6 October 2021

Good Morning Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We will continue to develop our Team to ensure your next visit is a better experience. We hope to see you again. Team Mitre

Report
JL
JoannaL
London
1 review
Dined on 26 September 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Realy Delilah vegan Wellington . Vegan burger great .worth the walk down . One of the best in nottinghill .great price

The Mitre
Responded on 29 September 2021

Hi Joanna. Thank you so much for your 5* review and for mentioning that we are one of the best in Notting Hill ; -) We look forward to seeing you again soon. Team Mitre

Report
J
Joan
London
2 reviews
Dined on 24 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent food and service . Lovely ambiance and cleanliness

The Mitre
Responded on 29 September 2021

Hi Joan Thank you so much for your 5* Review. We hope to see you again soon. Team Mitre

Report
A
vipAnonymous
London
59 reviews
Dined on 24 September 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Great atmosphere, good service and very nice food.

The Mitre
Responded on 29 September 2021

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Team Mitre

Report
g
vipgrahamh
London
10 reviews
Dined on 19 September 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience5

Sunday roast arrived lukewarm. The roast chicken with bread sauce had a tiny pot of cold bread sauce.

The Mitre
Responded on 29 September 2021

Hi Graham H Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. Team Mitre

Report
AO
AmandaO
London
1 review
Dined on 19 September 2021
Overall3food2service2ambience3

We have eaten here before and really enjoyed the food - this time we felt let down by the quality and service.

The food arrived very quickly (we hadnt even had chance to taste our drinks!) and I should have sent the pork back immediately as it looked burnt / overcooked but I thought it wouldnt be too bad on the inside. I was wrong but I couldnt get any service attention so struggled through - even the crackling was beyond edible.

After finishing and waiting nearly 30mins for the plates to be collected, I advised the waiter about the pork and he was very apologetic and spoke to the chef who said the desserts were on the house as a gesture of goodwill.

That wasnt my aim but I was grateful that they listened and when the orange & lemon posset arrived it was delicious !

Overall we have given the meal 3 stars as 4 would imply it was better than it was.

We will be back as its local and its the first time we have had a problem but just be careful of going on a Sunday at lunch as they are short staffed and its gets busy.

The Mitre
Responded on 29 September 2021

Hi Amanda Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We will continue to develop our team to ensure your next visit is a better experience for you. please ask for me the next time you make a reservation. Many Thanks Greg

Report
V
Valerie
London
9 reviews
Dined on 18 September 2021
Overall4food3service3ambience5

Overall not a bad experience despite a few unexpected happenings :lot of items on the menu were not available , in particular wines proposed as specials surprisingly enough. Food was ok overall . Very noisy with music too loud for the place .

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi Valerie, We're glad to hear you had a great time. Apologies about only some of the wine specials being available. They are fantastic wines, but were on special because we're struggling to get a steady supply of them, so we've delisted them from our main wine menu. Unfortunately that did mean that by the end of the weekend, stocks were quite patchy. I hope you found some other fantastic wines though? Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
Y
Yaz79
London
26 reviews
Dined on 17 September 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience5

Always great energy and vibe

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi Yaz, Thanks for the lovely review. We're glad you loved the atmosphere! See you again soon I hope? Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
N
Nigel
London
2 reviews
Dined on 16 September 2021
Overall3food3service2ambience3

Two disappointments. First was total lack of alcohol free beers (despite being offered them). Second was jug of milk spilt over diner, and all down his trousers. Accidents happen, but. On other points staff were fine, but unsmiling or friendly. The £1 charity surcharge is an irritant. Too trivial to make an issue (and sound mean) but I'd prefer to make my own tax efficient choices when it comes to charity giving. Feedback question re noise is ridiculous - energetic does not equal noisy.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi Nigel, We're sorry to hear you didn't have the best night with us. Apologies about the non alcoholic beer availability. And if there's a cleaning bill relating to the spilt milk, please do get in touch as we'll happily cover that for you. We hope to see you again, so we can give you a better experience. Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
CM
CandyM
1 review
Dined on 15 September 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience3

Service excellent, particularly our waitress who suggested we
have the children's size portions as we were not very hungry.
Slight problem in that my daughter's order came with three
different items to those she ordered - but she was happy to
eat them. Noise level good/Wednesday. Wonderful, no
screaming children.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi Candy, Thanks for the lovely review. We're glad to hear you loved your meals, but sorry to hear that one of the items came out wrong. I'm glad to hear it didn't spoil your evening! We hope we'll see you again soon. Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
P
Penny
1 review
Dined on 14 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Super friendly and professional staff. Great vegan main, would have loved a starter option too.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. We're glad to hear you loved our vegan options. Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
HB
HannahB
London
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience5

Great lunch as always and fabulous service from Rosh. A great Sunday lunch.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. I'll pass your feedback on to Rosh! Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
PC
PattyC
London
5 reviews
Dined on 12 September 2021
Overall3food2service5ambience3

The Sunday dinner was disappointing. Big portions but low quality: roast potatoes over cooked, small and dry. Everything covered in a heavy gravy. A real shame. Also dessert was very average and too sweet. Sourdough bread with butter was stale. I expected more for the money I paid. The staff were lovely though.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi Patty, I'm really sorry to hear you didn't have the best experience. We'd love for you to reach out to us at info@themitrew11.co.uk so we can get you back in for a meal on us, to make up for it. However, I'm glad to hear the staff were fantastic. Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
San Francisco
4 reviews
Dined on 12 September 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

My favourite food pub in town!

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. We're glad to hear we're your favourite, and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
RS
RichardS
London
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2021
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Busy on Sunday lunch and less brunch type options than expected. Lunch v good though with many options

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi Richard, Thanks for the lovely review. We're glad to hear you had a great time. A brunch menu is definitely something we're considering for the future, but unfortunately isn't something we're able to offer right now. Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Brighton
1 review
Dined on 5 September 2021
Overall4food3service3ambience3

The roast was nice, and the wait staff were very attentive and friendly. Had some lovely IPA on tap as well.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your roast. Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
EM
EmmaM
London
3 reviews
Dined on 5 September 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience4

Beautiful vegan roast dinner, which is not easy to come across!

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the vegan wellington. I hope we'll see you again soon? Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
G
Gelly
New York Area
5 reviews
Dined on 5 September 2021
Overall4food2service4ambience4

The food we had was gorgeous especially baked Camembert. The only complaint is they did not have the chicken pie and this is the 2nd time this has happened. We eat here regularly so a little disappointing. The service was excellent especially as they were so busy Thank you

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi Gelly, Thanks for the lovely review. I'm so sorry you keep missing our pie. I hope whatever you had instead was fantastic though. Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
SB
StevenB
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 4 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

great food, drinks served perfectly. Very friendly staff.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. I'm glad to hear you had a fantastic time! Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
D
Daphne
London
1 review
Dined on 4 September 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience4

The Mitre is good for a simple evening out. Very noisy however as it's a large room.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi Daphne, Thanks for the lovely review. Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
T
Tomc
London
8 reviews
Dined on 2 September 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Another wonderful evening made by such attentive and Lovely staff.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi Tom, Thanks for the lovely review. I'm glad to hear you felt well looked after! Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
CC
CarlyC
London
2 reviews
Dined on 2 September 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

I ordered the fish and chips.
The meal was nice however the chips were a bit hard and dry.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
PO
POLLY
London
32 reviews
Dined on 1 September 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

I'm very fond of The Mitre and am a regular. I didn't know any of the staff yesterday and was being rather fussy on various fronts, they were very patient with me any questions and requests. The food was yum. Thank you. x

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi Polly, Thanks for the lovely review. We're glad to hear you had a great time, even though your regular staff weren't working. Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
SC
StephenC
London
1 review
Dined on 29 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We always have a wonderful time here. Prompt, friendly service and excellent food. A perfect weekend treat in a friendly neighbourhood restaurant.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. We're glad to hear you love the food, and the service. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
AJ
vipArunaJ
London
8 reviews
Dined on 28 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Absolutely amazing place. Would highly recommend to anyone.
My partner and I ordered the special to share, we had copious amounts of cocktails. The atmosphere was wonderful. We sat outside but still had privacy with a beautiful flowered hedge surrounding us.

The Mitre
Responded on 4 October 2021

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and the cocktails! We hope to see you again soon, even if it is getting a little chilly in the outside area now! Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
T
Tyson
1 review
Dined on 27 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

It was brilliant - thank you so much for having us. So great that you're Dog Friendly as well!

The Mitre
Responded on 1 September 2021

Hi Tyson, Thanks for the lovely review. We look forward to seeing you (and your dog!) again soon. Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
J
Jrbjg
London
4 reviews
Dined on 22 August 2021
Overall4food4service3ambience3

The servers were a little bit rude, and interrupted conversation frequently. Food was good. But the road was very busy. Lovely atmosphere inside the pub though. A beer garden out the back would've been nicer rather than near the road

The Mitre
Responded on 24 August 2021

Hi , Thanks for the lovely review. We appreciate that we are based on a main road, so the front can be a little loud at times, so are hoping to open a rear beer garden as soon as we are able to. Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
10 reviews
Dined on 15 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

A lovely lunch as always.

The Mitre
Responded on 17 August 2021

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. See you again soon! Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
g
giorgiob
London
1 review
Dined on 14 August 2021
Overall2food2service3ambience2

staff were nice, place is nice, but food was disappointing, rather poor quality

The Mitre
Responded on 17 August 2021

Hi, Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the service the staff gave you, but we're disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy the food. We'd love it if you could send us some private feedback we can pass on to the head chef to ensure it's better next time. Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
S
Squid
London
1 review
Dined on 13 August 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience2

We booked for an early dinner for my sisters birthday. There was no one to greet us and had to wait a while while the bar staff shuffled around. The waiter with the drinks bashed them down on the table. We had a sweet new lady serve us supervised by a bit very slick waiter I felt sorry for her as she was so nice. Overall I wasn’t that impressed I had expected better. The food was nice. Not sure if I will be going back again in the near future.

The Mitre
Responded on 17 August 2021

Hi, Thank you so much for leaving us a review and letting us know where we went wrong on this occasion. I'm really sorry to hear about your experience. We expect a lot better from our staff as well, and will be sure to address the issues you've raised. We hope you do come to see us again soon, so we can show you what a visit to The Mitre should be like. Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on 8 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Excellent Sunday roast and a lovely atmosphere with good service!

The Mitre
Responded on 21 August 2021

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. See you again soon! Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
E
Ellie
London
5 reviews
Dined on 4 August 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Had a great time last night, was hubby’s bday.
Had a nice meal on the terrace. Drinks and food was mostly great. Had a slightly over cooked flat iron chicken but overall food was great.
Ambiance was ok. The Mitre has always been on the more noisy side. We were also on the terrace so in the main road, but we were seated next to two tables with children. One child was playing a video game on a tablet with no headphones which was quite annoying. The other child had spread all his art gear on the floor. We decided to say nothing as it looked like two single dads taking their kids out but would sometimes wish people would pack headphones. Can’t imagine that noise was not annoying them too.
All in all still a great place for a nice meal. If you are looking for a silent intimate, romantic place perhaps this is not the place. We are locals and like the place. Gets also quite loud inside from echo.

The Mitre
Responded on 7 August 2021

Hi Ellie, Thanks for the lovely review. See you again soon! Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
J
Joey
1 review
Dined on 30 July 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

I had a wonderful experience at the Mitre! We were seeing a show at 7:30pm and often the dinner before a show can be a stressful event as you can be served late, or your food doesn’t come, or it takes a long time to pay your bill. The Mitre nailed all of these things and we got away with plenty of time. The baked Camembert was divine as was the wine and the service from the lovely men and women waiting on us.

The Mitre
Responded on 31 July 2021

Hi Joey, Thanks for the lovely review. We're glad to hear we ticked all the boxes for you. And I agree about the camembert, that truffled honey... See you again soon! Kind regards, The Mitre

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Warwickshire
2 reviews
Dined on 30 July 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Loved our time here! Thank you to the great staff’

The Mitre
Responded on 7 August 2021

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review. See you again soon! Kind regards, The Mitre

Report

FAQs

The Mitre does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo. The Mitre also offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at 020 7727 6332.

The Mitre is rated 4.4 stars by 749 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.