The Queens Arms - Edinburgh

4.3
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
231 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
£25 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Scottish

Top tags:

Casual
Sunday Lunch
The Queens Arms has been an Edinburgh fixture for many years; the latest incarnation finds it reborn as a gastropub, although long-time customers will be pleased to know that the renovation has preserved the layout and most of the original features. This new look is charming customers and critics alike – since re-opening they scooped Best Gastropub at the 2010 DRAM (Drinks Retailing and Marketing) Awards. It's no wonder with the food they have on offer – Scottish classics, really, but with a modern twist. It's not only the food that customers are praising though – The Queens Arms also boasts friendly and efficient service and a solid offering of whiskies, cocktails and wine and beer (including several real ales).

Under 18's are not admitted after 8:00pm.
Dog friendly.

Special Offers

Festive menu: £29.95

3 course set menu including complimentary glass of fizz or Cold Town Lager/Pale Ale, or draught soft juice. Cannot be used in conjunction with any other offers or discounts.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 6 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 2 - 6 people

Starts: 2 December 2019

Ends: 22 December 2019

Availability: Mon-Thu 12:00-22:00

Sunday Roast: £35.50 per couple

An individual joint of meat served with all the trimmings, finished off with desserts to share
£35.50 {for 2}

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 4 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 2 - 4 people

Starts: 10 September 2019

Ends: 30 November 2019

Availability: Sun 12:00-17:00

Steak Supper Club: £30

2x 7oz rib-eye steak, hand-cut French fries, creamed leeks & spinach with a bottle of house wine to share.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 4 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 2 - 4 people

Starts: 10 September 2019

Ends: 30 November 2019

Availability: Wed 17:00-22:00

Sharing Platter including a drink

MIXED PLATTER £26
haggis lollipops, grilled bavette steak, chicken wings & battered haddock goujons served with French fries, pickles, slaw and homemade sauces (brown,bbq and tartar) including a pint of Cold Town Lager, Cold Town Pale Ale or a
draught soft juice

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 4 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 4 people

Starts: 10 September 2019

Ends: 30 November 2019

Availability: Tue 17:00-22:00

Complimentary pint of Lager or soft juice with a Burger

Free with your meal.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 6 diners. Includes Tax, excludes service.

Valid For: 1 - 6 people

Starts: 10 September 2019

Ends: 30 November 2019

Availability: Mon 17:00-22:00

What 231 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
MH
Essex
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Great roast dinner to share.Good portion size and quality.

TM
Edinburgh
4 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A relaxed experience with great Sunday roast and the largest Yorkshire puddings we have eaten.
Quick friendly service.
Outstanding value for money with the sharing roast as the dessert platter was tasty.

KS
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 3ambience 5

Excellent food, cocktails (Bakewell is amazing!) and desserts. She had the sharing Sunday Roast, excellent value for money. Only downside was that the waitress was extremely busy, and the bar equally so, which meant delays to drinks. If I’m ever in Edinburgh I will certainly go back.

MH
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

Fabulous sharing roast. Loved the veg. Deserts were superb and the free platter with the bottle of was a real bonus. My only criticism for our Sunday lunch was the sports on the televisions. From a purely personal point of view I'd rather they weren't on during the dining period up to 5pm.

OT
Savannah
3 reviews
Dined on 8 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Wonderful place for Sunday dinner.

IF
London
1 review
Dined on 6 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

What a beautiful venue with such a wide range of Whisky and gin to taste. The food was excellent. Really can't rate this place enough... It's 6 stars out 5

s
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Dined on 5 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Good meal..fish excellent..chips just ok could be improved on..
Service good.
Comfy pub for a get together.

TW
1 review
Dined on 1 September 2019
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 4

We booked for a family of six to have Sunday Roasts. Sadly when we arrived they only had two left, but we found the meat almost too tough to eat and the sides quite tasteless. Our vegan guest was happy with his order though.

S
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 22 August 2019
Overall 3food 4service 4ambience 3

Low ceiling meant it was noisy and the booth seating was rather cramped

PM
Glasgow
4 reviews
Dined on 18 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Lovely Sunday roast sharing board followed by desert, very good value and would definitely return.

OT
1 review
Dined on 18 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

Sunday roast was delish!!

GP
1 review
Dined on 18 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 5

Lovely pub interesting Sunday dinner for 2 idea. Beef great vegetables rather measly portion. Pudding excellent. Brilliant idea.

MM
Glasgow
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall 4food 3service 4ambience 4

Ordered a shared pie for two. When it arrived, it is obvious that it was some chicken and bacon in a bowl with a thin pastry top which was put on top so not an individual baked one. Pastry is thin and chicken way too salty. Then mashed potatoes was ok but very little veg. For £26, I would expect something more proper to be honest. Drinks and services are fine. Left a 10pc tip still not a fault of the waitress, but disappointing food.

N
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall 4food 2service 4ambience 4

I would recommend this place, it's a nice friendly place with nice decor. Unfortunately the only thing that I would say let's it down a little is the choice on the menu, or lack of choice I should say.
A choice of only about 5-6 mains which were not very appealing. No chicken ! Usually there's always a chicken dish on a menu !?!?

GS
1 review
Dined on 17 August 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 1

Noise level was far too loud, not caused by the people but by the booming music being played through the speakers. Not required at 2pm in the afternoon and made it difficult to have a conversation over lunch. Had to ask 3 times for this to be turned down and each time it was barely changed. Ruined the lunch in my opinion.

A
Edinburgh
1 review
Dined on 12 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Absolutely my favorite pub in Edinburgh. Reasonably priced for amazing food and the staff are always so accomodating. Whenever I make it up to Edinburgh, I make sure to fit it in. 100% recommend!

MS
1 review
Dined on 12 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Table for 3 at 2pm on Monday afternoon - service & food both excellent.
We had a sharing platter and a burger both delicious and the best chips we have ever had.
The décor in the bar is lovely and will definitely return here for lunch or dinner again. The staff were really good and very friendly.
Great place and pretty central for all the attractions.

AA
1 review
Dined on 11 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Perfect spot for a perfect Sunday Roast, the hidden gem of Edinburgh!

BA
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Dined on 10 August 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 5

Not for food, shared the mixed platter, £26 not good value considering what the platter contained.
Then ordered cheese board, £9, to share.
This was an absolute joke, was going to return it but partner wouldn't let me, mistake. It contained 3 small pieces of cheese, 4 oatcakes and 4 grapes, total disgrace.

The Queens Arms - Edinburgh
Responded on 14 August 2019

Hi BrianA, Thank you for your review of us, we are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the value of our food. We appreciate your comments and shall use them to discuss and improve our offerings. We would really like to gain some more insight into your visit with us so please could you email us at thequeensarms@signaturepubs.co.uk Kind Regards, The Queens Arms Team

Report
CF
1 review
Dined on 8 August 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 4

Food was missed off our order and it took a long time for our order to be taken in the first place. Our 20% food discount was not applied to our bill but we had presumed that it had been after we asked. It was a little bit our fault for not checking but we had ask for it to be applied. We had been really looking forward to our meal but it all fell a bit flat in the end. The food felt very average in the end and the sharing platter didn't seem good value for money.

The Queens Arms - Edinburgh
Responded on 14 August 2019

Hi ChrisF, We are sorry to hear that your experience with us fell short of the high standards we expect. We shall take on board your comments regarding our sharing platter with the aim of improving our offer. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your visit with us in more details so please could you email us at thequeensarms@signaturepubs.co.uk Kind Regards, The Queens Arms Team

Report
NH
1 review
Dined on 4 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Have been here for the sharing Sunday roast three times now and it has been excellent each time. The food is lovely, staff are efficient and friendly and it’s superb value.

The Queens Arms - Edinburgh
Responded on 14 August 2019

Hi NickyH, Thank you for your great review, we always love to hear our guests enjoy our Sunday Roast as much as we do! See you on another Sunday in the future. Kind Regards, The Queens Arms Team

Report
PF
London
1 review
Dined on 4 August 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 5

The Queens Arms is a beautiful restaurant that has a very old authentic atmosphere. We went for brunch and had the roast and Yorkshire pudding. The meal for two came with all the trimmings. My kids had the Mac and Cheese and some other sides. Although, every thing has an additional cost (more gravy, etc), it was outstanding.

The Queens Arms - Edinburgh
Responded on 14 August 2019

Hi PaulF We are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your food and time with us. Thank you for a great review, we hope you join us again soon! Kind Regards, The Queens Arms Team

Report
JW
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Dined on 3 August 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 4

Never been to The Queens Arms before, found a little treasure, will definitely be back. Atmosphere, cleanliness, and especially the service cannot be faulted.

The Queens Arms - Edinburgh
Responded on 14 August 2019

Hi JessW, Thank you for your great review of us! We love that you think of us as a 'little treasure' and we hope you join us again for more good times. Kind Regards, The Queens Arms Team

Report
SR
Montreal
9 reviews
Dined on 1 August 2019
Overall 4food 5service 5ambience 5

Overall this is a great little pub with great food and atmosphere. Our reservations were for 7PM. This restaurant is not allowed to have patrons under 15 years old after 8PM due to a license issue. We had 3 in our family that were very stressed out about that. The service was great and I didn't feel rushed. Our meal ended at 8:20 with no issues but it would be good to have such knowledge ahead of time so we could have gotten earlier reservations.

The Queens Arms - Edinburgh
Responded on 14 August 2019

Hi SRains, Thank you for your great star rating. We are sorry that your family became stressed due to our licencing allowances but we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you and your family join us again in the future. Kind Regards, The Queens Arms Team

Report
AJ
Miami
4 reviews
Dined on 28 July 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Very good Sunday roast - would have been perfect if the food had been a little warmer but we will come back and give it another try one day soon

The Queens Arms - Edinburgh
Responded on 14 August 2019

Hi AnnJ, Thank you for your great star rating, we are sorry to hear you thought our roast was slightly on the cold side. We hope you join us again in the future for another one. Kind Regards, The Queens Arms Team

Report
P
1 review
Dined on 27 July 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

We booked a table for a Saturday eve, so it was very noisy. I cannot say for other times.
On the other hand, the atmosphere was awesome, very lively, the setting of the pub, with shelves of old books is amazing.
The food was quite good to, and good value for money.
I'll definitely go back! Not on a sat night tho

The Queens Arms - Edinburgh
Responded on 14 August 2019

Hi Phil, Thank you for your great star rating, we are happy to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere with us on the Saturday evening you joined us. We hope you join us again for more great times. Kind Regards, The Queens Arms Team

Report
IM
1 review
Dined on 22 July 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

A reasonable enoough range of options on the menu but each of the four different dishes we ordered were all excellent.

AB
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
Dined on 21 July 2019
Overall 3food 2service 4ambience 4

I would recommend for drinks, the roast dinner was naff for the price.

LC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Dined on 20 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had a lovely lunch here with a friend - very friendly staff great food & very efficient service

JB
1 review
Dined on 14 July 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

Cosy pub - the booths are particularly nice. The service was great and the food was nice - great value for a Sunday roast for two including dessert!

J
Manchester
2 reviews
Dined on 14 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Had the 2 course shared Sunday lunch and it was amazing - would recommend a visit and will definitely go back when I am next in Edinburgh.

MD
Frankfurt Area
1 review
Dined on 14 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Went there for the Sunday roast. Great food with good value for your money.

c
1 review
Dined on 11 July 2019
Overall 5food 3service 5ambience 5

was a little disappointed I did think the fish and chips was of the normal standard there was also a lack of chips on our plates .
saying that it is still a great venue to meet friends and colleagues

regards

coops

The Queens Arms - Edinburgh
Responded on 15 July 2019

Hi Coops, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all good and bad as we can use it to improve our offers and maintain our expected high standards, especially our Fish and Chips! We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meal but glad that you enjoyed the venue with your group. Please feel free to email us directly with more information on your visit at thequeensarms@signaturepubs.co.uk Kind Regards, The Queens Arms Team

Report
PK
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined on 7 July 2019
Overall 1food 1service 2ambience 2

I looked up the best place in Edinburgh for a Sunday roast to take a friend who was visiting, and this was on the list. Perhaps other people find it great, but I found it very disappointing. We were initially brought the wrong order, which is not a big issue, mistakes happen, but when our meal arrived it had one decent size piece of chicken, and one piece hardly worth putting on the plate. It was not what I expected for a Sunday roast. My piece of chicken - a leg I think - was so small that I had a few small bites scraped off the bone, and that was it. It seemed that it was a roast for one, not two. The roasters were greasy and tasteless. The broccoli and carrots were fine! Really disappointing after looking forward to a nice Sunday roast :-(

The Queens Arms - Edinburgh
Responded on 15 July 2019

Hi PhiKa, We are sorry to hear you had a disappointing time with us, we would like to investigate further the issues you raised and was wondering if you could email us at thequeensarms@signaturepubs.co.uk We pride ourselves on our high standards of product and service so to hear that we have fallen short during your visit is disappointing. We hope we can discuss this further with you, Kind Regards, Sarah - Queens Arms

Report
GC
Glasgow
1 review
Dined on 6 July 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Was recmended to me with my son. First I have been for food and will defiantly be back . Everything was excellent

The Queens Arms - Edinburgh
Responded on 15 July 2019

Hi GraceC, Thank you for your great 5 star review! We are happy to hear you had a great time with us, we hope to see you for many more! Kind Regards, The Queens Arms Team

Report
CJ
1 review
Dined on 23 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

A great Sunday lunch sharing experience, thank you

The Queens Arms - Edinburgh
Responded on 1 July 2019

Hi Claire, Thank you for a great review! We love hearing that our guests love our Sunday Roast as much as we do. We hope you join us again in the future, Kind Regards, The Queens Arms Team

Report
JF
Portland
11 reviews
Dined on 21 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We love to go to the Queens arms whenever in Edinburgh and this was a great opportunity to share it with good friends from the states!

The Queens Arms - Edinburgh
Responded on 1 July 2019

Hi JoniF, Thank you for a great review! We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, The Queens Arms Team

Report
OT
Dallas
5 reviews
Dined on 14 June 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Our table was ready when we arrived. Our waitress was knowledgeable about the beer/lager/drink menu and prompt in bringing our drinks. Four adults shared a meat pie, which was outstanding and came with mashed potatoes, veggies and gravy. Each of us also ordered a small side or appetizer to supplement. All were very good. Despite normal pub music and conversation, we were still able to talk and visit without any trouble. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to The Queens Arms!

The Queens Arms - Edinburgh
Responded on 1 July 2019

Hi there, Thank you for a great review! We are happy to hear that our waitress could answer all your questions and our chefs always love to hear that you enjoyed their food. We look forward to you joining us again in the future. Kind Regards, The Queens Arms Team

Report
F
Denver
123 reviews
Dined on 11 June 2019
Overall 3food 4service 4ambience 3

The steak and ale pie was phenomenal and all of our food was good, as was the service. However, it was just not comfortable with four of us squeezed into a tiny little booth, and I mean TINY with no room to move, and sitting straight up, with knees touching knees.

The Queens Arms - Edinburgh
Responded on 1 July 2019

Hi Foodie1, Thank you for your review of us, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our sharing pie and our service. We are currently looking into where we place our bookings to ensure that there is enough room for all to enjoy their night comfortably. We hope to see you again in the future, Kind Regards, The Queens Arms Team

Report
OT
San Francisco
8 reviews
Dined on 11 June 2019
Overall 1food 1service 1ambience 1

We showed up on time to our reservation, were not greeted and instead the manager looked freaked out and checked our “booking” and confirmed it. Our reservation was at 7 and he told us to go else where because he could not get our food to us by 8 o’clock because of a large party they were serving. At 8pm the restaurant turns into a bar that does not allow children for dinner. He said it was their problem but they needed us to leave. He didn’t offer to speed our order up or accommodate us. This is not on the website and our 7 year old son was starving and we paid to take a taxi there. This is bad business, disorganized and just rude. We had no recourse. All other restaurants in the area were booked. Terrible. Do not go there.

The Queens Arms - Edinburgh
Responded on 14 June 2019

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very disappointed to hear of the experience you mentioned with us. We would really appreciate if you could email us on thequeensarms@signaturepubs.co.uk where we could discuss in more detail the issues you raised. Kind Regards, Sarah

Report
1
2
3
6