The Riding House Cafe

4.5
3593 reviews
£26 to £40
Modern European
The Riding House Café is an all-day, fun and informal neighbourhood brasserie situated amidst Fitzrovia's creative and media community, split across a variety of areas to eat, drink, meet and socialise. A bustling canteen, more formal dining room and a relaxed lounge are all joined together by the large dining bar and open kitchen. The predominantly Modern European menu features a range of small and large plates to suit any time of day. Dishes are wholesome, with an emphasis on fresh, light ingredients.
avatar copy

Private Dining

Book your next event with us

View details

Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Surfaces sanitised between seatings
  • Common areas deep cleaned daily
  • Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
Physical distancing
  • Limited number of seated diners
  • Distancing maintained in common areas
  • Extra space between tables
Protective equipment
  • Waiting staff wear masks
  • Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
Screening
  • Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
  • Staff temperature check required
  • Contact tracing information collected
What 3593 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Energetic
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
GF
GillsFan
Kent
1 review
Dined 3 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Lovely food. Menu could be a little clearer. Nice ambience.

AE
AdamE
London
1 review
Dined 5 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great place - just love it xx go a lot always good

AM
vipAmyM
London
12 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Overall very good. Nothing outstanding to note regarding the Benedict (though better than most) and the chorizo hash was just average at best and heavy on the potatoes. The pancakes, however are a very rare temptation for me as I make fluffy buttermilk pancakes at home myself, but there’s were deep with crisp buttery edges and soaked with fruit topping, quite delicious. Enough clotted cream to give you an heart attack, but you can just enjoy and brush the rest aside!

g
ginger
London
7 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food5service5ambience4

Lovely food, great service, could hear my friends!

KW
KateW
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food4service5ambience4

Really friendly service, loved the small plates. Lovely place for brunch

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks Kate!!!!

Report
TK
TanyaK
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Would have like to change tables but was busy at the time. Overall was a phenomenal experience.

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks for the great review. Obviously we are more than happy to change tables when business levels allow. Next time we will get you on your prefect one!

Report
A
Anonymous
London
4 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall2food2service4ambience3

Brunch wasn't tasty and not great value for money.
Friendly staff and quick service.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Meh

Meh

Meh

Meh….




Meh

Report
CP
CapucineP
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I love going to this place for brunches. The personnel is really friendly and full of attention. The food is really good and served quite quickly given the number of tables. I definitely recommend this place for a typical Sunday brunch with some friends.

k
ktb1976
Brighton
9 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall3food3service2ambience3

Ok but service was very slow. Food was average and portions small. It was noisy when we were there.

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Hi ktb1976, sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience with us on Saturday. I will look into the service with the team to make sure we improve on this as soon as possible. Hopefully we will see you in the near future to have a chance to redeem ourselves Nick

Report
a
andream
London
4 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience3

the food was delicious, I also like the sister cafe the railhouse cafe.

JS
JSJ71
London
6 reviews
Dined on 17 June 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Lovely evening but the food wasn’t as good as the service

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Glad you enjoyed your evening, apologies the food didn't wow you this time. I will look into this. But hopefully see you back with us soon

Report
OT
OlgaT
1 review
Dined on 17 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a great place to meet a friend or for a business breakfast/lunch. Delicious food and great service.

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks Olga!!!! Appreciate the lovely feedback!

Report
D
David
1 review
Dined on 17 June 2021
Overall2food2service2ambience3

I was visiting London for the first time in a while and I booked the Riding House in advance. It’s a place I’ve been on a number of occasions before and recommended to many. In the past I’d experienced the best breakfast I’d ever had.

Unfortunately on this occasion my experience was different.

I arrived with my friend and we were seated quickly. The seating was good and atmosphere quiet. We both ordered Earl Grey tea, with milk and sugar.

Along with this I ordered the full English but substituted the field mushroom, confit tomatoes, toast, asking for extra bacon and a muffin instead. This was accommodated without any issue. I ordered the French Toast also. My friend ordered Eggs Benedict.

After pouring my tea and then my milk, I noted the dreaded white floating pieces in my cup, which immediately told me the milk was off or on the turn. I alerted the waiter, who suggested it couldn’t be the case but he would replace everything. After replacing, I re-poured and the same thing occurred. The waiter asked if everything was okay and I noted it was still the same. In response he brought the bottle of milk he’s been using to fill the little milk pot and asked me to taste it, which I did. Although it did seem fine I didn’t feel this was appropriate. The evidence was the floating white bits in my cup. He cleared the everything once more, everything except the milk and returned with new cups and tea. The same problem occurred. By this time I’d given up. It appeared he’d continued to give me the same milk rather than just changing it.

The food on the whole was good, although the poached eggs were a little under done, while the bacon was a little over done.

Such a disappointing experience, after such excitement at visiting again. All the way from Scotland.

I won’t be so quick to recommend in the future :(

Thanks,
David Burns

F
Faisel
London
1 review
Dined on 16 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great relaxed atmosphere with fantastic quality of food

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks Faisel!

Report
v
valm
Seattle
1 review
Dined on 16 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Really lovely, helpful, staff. Food was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks Valm! So glad you loved your visit with us! Nick

Report
RC
RobertC
London
2 reviews
Dined on 16 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Good quality ingredients, perfectly cooked for breakfast.

Service was superb, Andre being particularly attentive and professional.

Recommended to all.

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks Robert. We are very pleased to hear such great feedback from your visit! I will pass on your comments to Andre. Thankyou for taking the time to let us know. Nick

Report
JC
JadeC
London
1 review
Dined on 15 June 2021
Overall3food3service3ambience3

Our Order was forgotten about so it was very late, Sausage was undercooked and I don’t think it’s acceptable these days not to have a selection of alternative milk for coffees. Nut milks are a must and the excuse for not having these was they can’t use the same jug…. So buy another jug.
Staff were friendly and polite.

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Jade, im disappointed to hear this from your visit. We certainly offer alternative milks, in the way of almond, soya and oat so im not too sure what happened here. We also have a separate jugs for each of these for allergy purposes. I will speak with the team to find out why this happened. To have your order forgotten is also not acceptable, so will get to the bottom of this. Please let me know next time you are coming in on nick@ridinghouse.cafe Thank you

Report
CL
CatherineL
London
1 review
Dined on 15 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a fantastic place to eat - food is delicious, service is warm and friendly, and lovely atmosphere.

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks Catherine! Really appreciate the love! Look forward to seeing you again soon

Report
H
Hannah
London
1 review
Dined on 14 June 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience3

Extremely rude service. We were advised breakfast orders must be taken before 11:45 upon our arrival at 11:35. However they then didn't come to take our order. We were flagging them down for about 5 minutes before they eventually came over. They then got our order wrong, yet insisted that it was right upon arrival. Just really rude and poor service overall. Food wasn't bad, but not great either.

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Hannah, Sorry to hear this was what you experienced when you visited. If possible could you email me on nick@ridinghouse.cafe to go through a few more details with you. Thanks so much

Report
KB
KarlB
Bedfordshire
4 reviews
Dined on 14 June 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Ideal location away from the hustle and bustle, great breakfast.

LN
LisaN
London
1 review
Dined on 13 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Delicious food! Couldn't choose what to get so will be back to try more options! Lovely, friendly staff.

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks Lisa! Look forward to seeing you back soon!!!

Report
AT
AlexandraT
London
2 reviews
Dined on 13 June 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience4

So we arrived there and they brought water for our dog which was nice. The waitress was really helpful with the menu and everything was fine. We got the veggie breakfast which was tasty and the marshmallow pancakes,which were more like biscuit and not so well fried. So inside of the pancakes you could see that they were not really well done.
One of our friends got the normal English breakfast which was £14 and it was honestly 1 bacon, 1 sausage couple cherry tomatoes, beans and some bread. So that was really disappointing.
One more thing to improve it would be the drinks. They didn’t have any fresh juice, smoothies, the only had iced white or black coffee. My partner got a Bellini mocktail which was discussing. For 4 people we paid £80 which for breakfast is quite a lot I think.
Overall it was an okayish experience the restaurant was nice but does not worth the hype and probably not going back.

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Alexandra, sorry to hear you were left disappointed on your visit with us. Unfortunately last week we had some unforseen circumstances that meant we couldn't operate to our full potential or have our full offer available. We were working on trying to do our best given the issues we had. But I apologise this had an affect on your visit with us and would love for you to give us another chance to show what we can do. Please let me know on nick@ridinghouse.cafe if and when you are next in. Nick

Report
MA
MArtynR
London
1 review
Dined on 12 June 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience3

Slow service. Drinks forgotten. Asked to food to all come out at once. It didn't. Not impressed and won't be coming back

Also the manager had a go at one of her staff in front of so many customers. Really bad form

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Hi Martyn, Im sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your visit with us and we let you down. Please could you email me on nick@ridinghouse.cafe as I would like to get some more info on the manager situation and server you had so I can discuss the situation and help make sure we handle situations better in the future Thanks Nick

Report
SH
SadieH
London
2 reviews
Dined on 12 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

One of my favourite spots for brunch and was so good to come back. As wonderful as ever, loved it.

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Cheers Sadie!!!!!! Thanks for the love!

Report
LN
LauraN
1 review
Dined on 11 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great little brunch place! Staff are lovely and food is delish! They were also very accommodating as we were 4 mums with 4 prams

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks Laura! Glad you enjoyed your visit and the team were accommodating to your party

Report
SL
SherrieL
1 review
Dined on 11 June 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

Great cafe with excellent food and service. Fun environment to be in but not too noisy, easy to engage in conversation at your own table. Really appreciated the option at time of booking to indicate preference on high versus regular table.

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks so much Sherrie! Glad you enjoy visiting us@ We appreciate you taking the time to share this Nick

Report
J
Jenny
London
1 review
Dined on 10 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food and lovely location. Very comfortable & somehow manages to combine a homely feel with a luxury feel!

The Riding House Cafe
Responded 4 days ago

Thanks Jenny!

Report
DH
DHTT
London
13 reviews
Dined on 10 June 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Good lunchtime vibe, great place to share plates. Quality of food bus very good, plus good vservice.The wines , a tad expensive but great quality. Happy to return

KB
KatB
Oxford
1 review
Dined on 9 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Always a lovely place to meet friends after work. Helpful staff and a delicious menu.

RH
RobH
1 review
Dined on 8 June 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Good Food and friendly service. I will definitely be back in the near future.

PL
PhilippaL
London
1 review
Dined on 6 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Best roast dinner I have ever had in London. And I have lived here for 12 years and often eat roast dinners :)

The Riding House Cafe
Responded on 9 June 2021

Thanks so much for the glowing feedback Philippa! I will pass this on to the team!!! Nick

Report
K
Katie
London
2 reviews
Dined on 6 June 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience4

Lots of choice on menu and good options for veggies. Place was full and had good atmosphere.
The food was good, it could have been better. I got a full cooked veggie breakfast and it was cold when it arrived.
The prices are not worth it - I paid £4.60 for a sparkling water!
Wait staff were very nice and friendly

R
Reflusz
London
1 review
Dined on 6 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I highly recommend this place - food and the service were great!

The Riding House Cafe
Responded on 9 June 2021

Thanks for the love Reflusz!!!!

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
New York Area
1 review
Dined on 5 June 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience4

I don’t know what’s happened to this place, I have dined here on several occasions previously and always found it buzzy with great food and service. But this time we were seriously let down by very slow and in-attentive staff, plus a dismal children’s meal and a very patchy main meal. Maybe they’re simply resting on their laurels, or perhaps they were just having an off day…

The Riding House Cafe
Responded on 9 June 2021

Good morning, I'm sorry to hear we let you down on your visit with us on Saturday. Saturdays can be pretty punchy at times, so i'm sorry this may have affeted your visit. I can assure you this isnt a regular occurance, and we just slipped upon this occasion. If you could, please email me on nick@ridinghouse.cafe with details of your reservation, so I can look into this further, but also let m eknow when you would like tyo come back and i will make sure we redeem ourselves Nick

Report
S
Spurdy
London
1 review
Dined on 5 June 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Great evening catching up with friends over good food and drinks! Next time will book a table near the bar area for a bit more buzz.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on 5 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food was outstanding! Especially for the price in central London, you get very good portions. Everyone who served us was very welcoming, patient & lovely. This is my new go to brunch restaurant now!

The Riding House Cafe
Responded on 9 June 2021

Thank you so much for your kind words! Hopefully, we see more of you in the near future! Nick

Report
MA
MArtynR
London
2 reviews
Dined on 5 June 2021
Overall4food3service4ambience5

I've had better food here. Brunch is a busy time indeed. But things were warm going to cold. My English muffins were barely toasted

Service was slow to start with then they really stepped up. Very friendly staff.

Great wine choices. But a confusing menu to choose from. Too many lines

The Riding House Cafe
Responded on 9 June 2021

Hi Martyn, Sorry hear the food wasn't up to our usual standard on your last visit. I will review this with the chef and make sure we are on top of this. Please let us know when youre next here so we can touch base Nick

Report
A
Amerie
London
1 review
Dined on 5 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great food, service and atmosphere at the Riding house Cafe.

The Riding House Cafe
Responded on 9 June 2021

Thanks Amerie! Apreciate the good review! Nick

Report
AG
AlexandraG
London
1 review
Dined on 5 June 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food never disappoints 😋.
Nice atmosphere inside and outside, helpful staff

FAQs

The Riding House Cafe does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo. The Riding House Cafe also offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at 020 7927 0840.

The Riding House Cafe is rated 4.5 stars by 3593 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.