The Tea Room - Windsor Arms Hotel
Peruse a selection of teas from Russian Caravan to Sencha; our staff will happily guide you through the myriad of tastes and aromas.
Reserve the Tea Room for intimate gatherings such as corporate functions, bridal and baby showers, or get-togethers with friends. All Tea Rooms are available for either full or partial bookings.
- Surfaces sanitised between seatings
- Common areas deep cleaned daily
- Digital, disposable or sanitised menu provided
- Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
- Contactless payment available
- Sealed or wrapped utensils used
- Limited number of seated diners
- Distancing maintained in common areas
- Extra space between tables
- Waiting staff wear masks
- Diners must wear masks unless eating or drinking
- Sick staff prohibited in the workplace
During these trying times of Covid it was a refreshing get together, our waiter was very accommodating which was wonderful in all we had a great time no complaints and will certainly visit the tea room again👍
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience and that you will visit again! Looking forward to hosting you here again :) Have a great day!
Beautiful setting, extensive choice of teas and excellent service. We’ll be back!
Hello Sharchin, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the setting, choice of teas, and service! Can't wait to have you back. Have a great day.
Even the simple sandwich was so bad. The scone were not warm n v asked them to reheat. The tart was broken n we did not even try. The sweet was so ordinarily n v tasted one not did not touch the rest. V hv three orders n v did not even finish 30%
The table was so low n v have to bend ourself n was so uncomfortable
It was a terrible experience
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - all feedback is welcome as there is no better way for continuous improvement! We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. We have sent a private message as well. Thank you again for your feedback and hope you have a great day!
Fantastic high tea, very similar to the kind you find in England.
The service was very good. Disappointed that they do not have a separate children's menu (as many other tea rooms do) and we had to pay $50 for a 5 year old.
Even though we were outside because of concerns about COVID-19, the service and food was, as always, gracious and delicious. We particularly enjoyed the fact that such tiny food items each had their own distinctive taste quality. The tea of course was superb. We enjoyed our time greatly! Thank you.
This afternoon we had another absolutely marvelous afternoon tea at the Windsor Arms. I've been going there since the mid 80's, and it really and truly is the best and the most authentic traditional British afternoon tea in the city. I've had afternoon teas, both posh and humble, countless times in Britain, and contrary to the peculiar comment earlier in this section, the Windsor Arms tea room needs no help from some English people because they have been doing this since 1927, and they do it absolutely perfectly. Right down to the crisp double starched white linen table cloths, the fireplace, the luxurious thick carpeting and the delightful Art Deco pictures on the walls.
I much prefer the jam they make now compared to their previous lower sugar conserves; scones with cream are better with traditional sweetened jam in my opinion. The savories were deliciously fresh and the little pastries melted on our tongues.
Our waiter, whose name I think is Nakul, has served me several times in the past and I was so happy to see him again. He is kind, polite and impeccably professional. He has a sixth sense when to show up to check on everything and we could not have been happier. Please thank him for us. My one and only suggestion would be to change the music; it was delightful but was actually same tune looping over and over for hours. Other than that this tea was completely up to the very high standards we have come to expect from the Windsor Arms. I'm already looking forward to our next visit!
Great atmosphere and a beautiful place for high tea that makes you feel your in a different time.
The tea selection is exquisite and the scones are to die for. The rhubarb jam is out of this world and the Devon cream... just fantastic.
The assorted petit fours selection is delectable.
The little savoury sandwiches have interesting ingredients but could use a bit more flavour.
Have been going to WA for afternoon tea for decades. However over the last several years the taste and quality of the food has been going downhill so I have not been back for over a year. With the recent reopening of indoor dining, I decided to try the afternoon Tea to see if food has improved since my last visit. Unfortunately, the food continues to disappoint. The scones arrived cold (used to be served warm), the tea sandwiches were dry and tasteless, the sweets were so-so except the chocolate mocha cake which was good. They no longer give you whipped butter and assortment of mini jars of jams and honey. While I understand the need to cut costs even though they charge $50 which is outrageous for the poor quality of food, they replaced it with "house" jams. Their apple jam and rhubarb jam were awful - one tastes like applesauce straight from a can and the other tasted like cornstarch, water and sugar (did not taste any rhubarb)!
Also, back in the days, the afternoon tea service concluded with a fruit cup topped with fresh cream. This no longer offered unfortunately. The only constant there worth raving about is Nakul (server who has been working at the Tea Room for as long as I remember) whose professionalism has remained intact. I will not be returning for their afternoon tea again unless WA restores the quality of their afternoon tea offerings.
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We welcome all feedback as it is impossible to improve without this honesty from our guests. We are happy to hear that you received outstanding service from Nakul. We agree - he is wonderful with the guests and we receive many positive comments about him. However, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed your experience otherwise. Please check your private messages and thank you again for your feedback.
The gluten free options are very poor quality and it is overall expensive for dated surroundings and low quality food.
We had a wonderful experience.
I would have liked more sandwiches than sweets.; but, still delicious in general.
All teas were excellent as per my friends.
Jenny was a great server.
Great experience, teas were yummy and food was satisfying! Would recommend
Absolutely incredible place. The teatime foods are all made in-house, and each is fresh and delicious. The service was incredible, one of the best waitresses I’ve ever had.
The place is dated and even though a Tea Room can be, this could have been done in a nicer way. We felt that there wasn’t enough value for the money. Service was good.
Fantastic and memorable experience! The service has really stepped up. The tea is excellent as always, and the food was fresh and delicious. They followed all health precautions and PPE requirements. I can’t wait to go again!
Had a lovely afternoon treating my mom to a little outing knowing that every precaution was made for our health and safety. Tea was excellent as well as all the nibbles. Highly recommend.
Some members of my reservation came late but my server was excellent with his patience. The service, the dining experience, and the tea was exceptional. I will definitely recommend this place to others and come another time!
I had a groupon for high tea and had a great time with my daughter. The service was fabulous and the food was delicious.
They need some serious help from the English folks on how to do a high tea
Service was excellent, as was the tea selection and generally the food. Desserts were exquisite. I would say the weakness was the quality of the scones, which were ‘floury’ and lacked flavour and quality. A nice experience; we weren’t rushed, which was great.
Lovely tea room with great sandwiches. The decor is definitely the right kind of old fashioned.
I wish I got the name of our server! He was so nice, informative and professional! I guess we chose a slow time cuz we had the purple room all to ourselves! We were treated to one different tea of our choice, each. The hotel was very accommodating to my Vegetarian and Pescatarian friends as well as the 2 omnivores of the table. Nice arrangement of sandwiches and desserts. Was very happy with our experience!
The room was cold and our server wasn’t very attentive. It felt like they moved all of the Asians to the outer, cold room. The tea service at the Windsor Arms used to be the one I would recommend. They no longer serve strawberries and clotted cream. Truly disappointed.
Beautiful ambiance and lovely tea but beware the Blue Caravan!
Really disappointed with my experience for High Tea at the Windsor Arms this afternoon. The food was especially disappointing. Sandwiches tasted like they had been made well in advance and refrigerated - bread cold and unappealing and not at all tasty. The scones were underwhelming, there was such a small bowl of clotted cream served with it that it would not have allowed for enough for accompaniment with the 4 scones, had we actually eaten all four - given they were underwhelming, we did not bother. Top tier of desserts were fine, but nothing special, As it was my friends birthday, and I had taken her for High Tea to celebrate the Windsor Arms did surprise her with a lovely plate scrolled with Happy Birthday and a mini cupcakes and macaroon, however, the entire cupcake was so hard -- the icing, cake... that she could not even put her fork in it, and when she picked it up, she tapped it against her plate and it sounded like a rock??? We mentioned this to our server, who said she would take our concern back to the kitchen, but we heard nothing further. The actual tea was nice, but that was all. Service less than mediocre, had to ask several times for water before it was served, had to ask for fresh plates when our initial plates of half-eaten and discarded food did not allow room for any further food to be placed on it. -- I would have expected much better attention to detail, and we tasted all but barely ate nor enjoyed any of the food. I left embarrassed that I had booked this venue for a friend's birthday celebration and really disappointed with my experience here today. I was at the Shangrila for High Tea in Toronto in December and my experience there was phenomenal - a 10/10 -- I expected something similar especially given the establishment and history of the Windsor Arms and High Tea, and it was nothing like it -- I would rate this a 2/10, and that I feel is generous. I do not recommend this High Tea experience here.
I love high tea at the Windsor Arms. The decor is interesting, the whole environment is fancy, and the food is wonderful. I especially love the scones!
We waited quite a while after being seated until I flagged down a waitress and she apologized for not seeing us. We were expecting our tea cups to be fine China and better quality. It wasn't like the pictures on the website. The noise level was also quite loud. The food was ok but the scones were very dry. We've had high tea and afternoon tea at other locations and this one was unfortunately was a let down.
Disappointing high tea service, the scones and sandwiches were very dry and we were ushered out before our 2 hr seating time was up.
Nakul was an excellent host and made sure we were accommodated throughout the experience. They did a lovely birthday surprise. The food was excellent and decadent 10/10.
Atmosphere was great, and will be coming back in the future!
The hotel was really pretty! But there was a 2 hour strict limit that wasn't mentioned when I booked on Open Table and we were rushed to leave.
Lovely tea with my niece.
70th birthday afternoon tea. My guest has some challenges. They were discreetly and diplomatically handled by the serving staff. Thanks
We sat in a private area whereby the seats were dirty and the fabric on the seats were torn. Tea became cold quickly. After paying over 350.00 for 5 people this was very disappointing.
Also, when making reservations we were never told we were going to pay 55.00/pp which was the December-January rate. We came on Monday February 17, thinking we would pay at most the 50.00/pp.
I have been there several times and I have to be honest it was not as good as the last few times I have been there. The scones were dry and crumbled into small pieces and the sandwiches were also dry. The desserts were not as good a they have been in the past. The experience and ambience was still very good
Check-in was confusing and busy. Our server was pleasant and professional and enjoyed the overall ambiance of Windsor Arms.
I would recommend the tea room to try once but I wouldn’t return. The tea was very nice but the finger sandwiches could have been better. There wasn’t a lot of filling in them. It was awkward because the room was so quiet so no one wanted to speak too loudly. Some ambient music would have helped. However the service was great.
Great ambience. A nice time away from busy schedule. One thing I didn’t like was that we were made sit very close to the serving table which was a constant bother when staff was moving their stuff on that table. But overall experience was great.
Good service, beautiful ambience and great food. A different date you can bring your special one.
Overall, was a lovely experience. I love the look of the rooms and food/tea selection is good. My only comment/complaint is with respect to the final bill. We had a Groupon for 2, plus paid regular price for one (three people total dining). Whenever I use a Groupon I always tip on the regular price (not the reduced) - I think Groupon even mentions this as best practice? When I looked at the final bill, however, I noticed that they had added an automatic 20% gratuity on the full price, and then the tax was added on top of that (so that I paid an extra 13% on top of the 20% tip). If I hadn’t noticed the discrepancy on the final bill and looked at the small print I would have ended up tipping on top. This bothers me - but maybe it’s just me lol
My first time doing afternoon tea in Canada. I have had afternoon tea in Japan at British Hills.
The comparison was ok. British Hills definitely did it better.
Noise level was loud as the people on my left kept talking. I was quite surprised.
There was a mother-daughter pair in the room who I wasn't very particularly happy with when it comes to the level of noise as well.
These are not the fault of the servers who, generally did a good job describing the food I ate.
I did use other parts of the hotel for the same day including their spa and had dinner in their "pub," I guess you could say.
Afternoon tea was the most enjoyable, however.
I was not a fan of the spa or "pub." Overly expensive and not worth it.
The food was filling at the afternoon tea and I couldn't finish it.
The Tea Room - Windsor Arms Hotel offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at (416) 971-9666 ext. 2.
The Tea Room - Windsor Arms Hotel is rated 4.1 stars by 934 OpenTable diners.
Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.