True Food Kitchen - Fairfax

4.5
icon/ic_reviewCreated with Sketch.
1733 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American

Top tags:

Good Vegetarian Options
Pull up a seat for some in-season goodness, the fall menu is back at True Food!

True Food Kitchen is a health-driven restaurant and bar inspired by a philosophy that food should make you feel better, not worse, and that great tasting food can serve as the foundation for a life well lived. True Food’s seasonal menu emphasizes wholesome, seasonal ingredients with thoughtful preparations to highlight the natural health benefits and flavors of each ingredient. From thoughtfully crafted cocktails, such as the Citrus Skinny Margarita, made with fresh-pressed citrus and organic tequila, to nutrient-dense dishes like the Edamame Dumplings, Korean Noodle Salad, Ancient Grains with miso-glazed sweet potatoes, Grilled Fish Tacos and an antioxidant rich Flourless Chocolate Cake, True Food Kitchen’s menu celebrates variety and caters to every food preference with an assortment of delicious vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free options.
What 1733 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
87% of people would recommend it to a friend
5
4
3
2
1
Sort by
Filters
SM
Washington DC
4 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Kat was an excellent server and recommended great food. We celebrated our 19th wedding anniversary.

JS
Washington DC
7 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Awesome food &
Fast service especially for the weekend

JK
Washington DC
8 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

Food was above average to very good; ambience was good; service was very good; noise was close to overwhelming. Obviously a very popular place. I'd go again though i would prefer when it wasn't quite so loud.

GE
Washington DC
6 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall 3food 5service 2ambience 5

Really good food, but where's the mgmt? We arrived on time for our reservation but stood for 30 mins after the reservation looking at multiple empty tables, one of which eventually turned out to be ours. It's not just the food that matters sometimes; it's also the attitude.

SC
Washington DC
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 3

Very nice evening out. My only comment is that I'm gluten-free (allergy, not choice) and the server thought that the dumplings were gluten-free and almost convinced me to order them. I'm glad that I double-checked the menu! I do wish that True Food would design their restaurants to be less noisy. It's a shame that they focus on such good, organic food for the body, but neglect the issue with noise pollution.

GH
Baltimore
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 3

I have eaten here several times over the past few years. Last night I was not as impressed with the quality of the food (our appetizer was not warm, my daughter did not like the Poke bowl, and my sea bass was not as flavorful as I had hoped it would be (the sauce was watery). Based on what people were ordering around me, the pizzas and regular bowls seem to be the hit.

OT
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Our meals (9 of us) were all excellent. It was a great meal and experience.

OT
Pittsburgh
1 review
Dined on 4 October 2019
Overall 2food 3service 1ambience 3

Went for a birthday celebration. Service was slow and at the end of dinner when we asked the waitress to surprise the birthday girl with a dessert, she never brought it. After speaking with the manager he did NOTHING to compensate the slow, terrible and poor service. Very disappointed.

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 5 October 2019

Our apologies for missing the dessert for your birthday. It seems there was a miscommunication last night that resulted in the missed dessert. I had provided you with my card prior to you leaving asking you back in so that we can make up for the evening. I am still hoping you will do so. Please feel free to reach out at your convenience before your next visit jt.taylor@truefoodkitchen

Report
OT
Washington DC
5 reviews
Dined on 3 October 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 5

I loved the service and the food was great.

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 5 October 2019

Thank you for joining us!

Report
I
Washington DC
16 reviews
Dined on 3 October 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We took my mother here for lunch last week after a doctor's visit. She enjoyed it immensely. Takes the sting out of going to the doctor. :)

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 10 October 2019

Thanks Iggie! Glad we could help!

Report
CR
Washington DC
7 reviews
Dined on 29 September 2019
Overall 3food 2service 3ambience 2

I keep coming back because I like the "Gluten Friendly" and Vegan options on the menu, but it seems they are packing too many people in to get orders straight. Servers have to cover a ton of tables. The kitchen made avocado toast for me on a GF bun (rather than toast), but there was hardly any avocado on the bun -- it was quite hilarious actually. They also forgot my decaf, so I had to ask - twice. I'll come back a few more times hoping that they will get it right.

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 3 October 2019

Carolyn thank you for the feedback, we appreciate it and use as a way to get better. I am sure we make a better experience for you, please feel free to reach out on your next visit jt.taylor@truefoodkitchen so that we can make it right.

Report
OT
Washington DC
4 reviews
Dined on 29 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Brunch was great. Service was also good. They are very accommodating to any food allergies or restrictions.

A
1 review
Dined on 29 September 2019
Overall 1food 2service 1ambience 4

Please we came there as a Family and our service was Awfully, we did't receive our coffee till we were almost finished our meal Out waiter did'tvask us if we wanted more water! I am sorry but your organization needs to to step it up. I was in Sales/Marketing for 29 years and if I ever gave the customer service you gave I would't have any customers.

And this was my first experience as we go to another restaurant for breakfast on Sunday's!

Very Disappointed 🤔

Carla Aaront

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 3 October 2019

Hello Carla, I am sorry for the service you received, it certainly not up to our standards and we should have done better for you and your family. Please feel free to reach out at your convenience so that we can have you back in for a much better brunch jt.taylor@truefoodkitchen

Report
MH
Washington DC
5 reviews
Dined on 29 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Absolutely always a fantastic dining experience.

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 3 October 2019

Thank you for joining us!

Report
PD
Caribbean
15 reviews
Dined on 28 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Great food and service

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 3 October 2019

Thank you for joining us!

Report
t
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 28 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 4ambience 4

The food choices and quality was excellent.
Pleasant ambiance but background noise got a bit loud

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 3 October 2019

Thank you Tommy!

Report
OT
Washington DC
5 reviews
Dined on 28 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

I enjoy this location in the Mosaic District. My server, Bobby, is always friendly and attentive. The food is delicious and the atmosphere is just right.

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 3 October 2019

Thank you for joining us!

Report
OT
San Francisco
1 review
Dined on 27 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

It was the perfect day to sit outside and there isn’t a nicer place to sit outside than True Food in Mosaic! The food was fresh and delicious as always the ginger drink recommended by the server was just right for the day also! Another wonderful dining experience at True Food!

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 28 September 2019

Thank you for joining us!

Report
OT
Washington DC
6 reviews
Dined on 26 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Love this place. All the food is delicious and so fresh. I’m obsessed with the Ancient Grains bowl... so good! So many of my friends enjoy the food and we’ve brought many people here - everyone has loved their meals. I’ve never had a bad experience here and it’s also kid friendly which is wonderful. Definitely a regular here and will continue to be!

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 5 October 2019

Thank you! We hope to have you back soon!

Report
CD
Miami
29 reviews
Dined on 25 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 5ambience 5

The food was fresh and flavorful. The chia seed dessert was good but mostly tasted like banana and coconut. Maybe toasting the coconut would be better. Service was excellent.

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 28 September 2019

Thank you!

Report
OT
San Antonio
2 reviews
Dined on 23 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent all the way around

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 3 October 2019

Thank you!

Report
OT
Washington DC
153 reviews
Dined on 23 September 2019
Overall 3food 4service 3ambience 3

We had a nice table outside. The cauliflower appetizer was delicious -- although calling it "charred" is a stretch. It was barely roasted. The beet burger also delicious. Second time ordering the cauliflower polenta -- first time it was delicious. This time, a disaster: the polenta was watery and none of the brocolini or snow peas had been cooked. Very disappointing. Kudos to the manger for removing it from the bill. We're also disappointed that the key lime dessert has been taken off the menu. But MOST disappointing is that we included a note in our reservation that our lunch was to celebrate a birthday and the server did nothing -- no mention, no dessert, nothing. I guess no one is paying attention to the reservation details. Sigh.

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 28 September 2019

Thank you for the feedback. I apologize for the server missing your birthday. Please feel free to reach out at your convenience jt.taylor@truefoodkitchen so that we can provide a birthday greeting and dessert for your next visit.

Report
OT
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 22 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Great service!! Thx Emilia

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 28 September 2019

Thank you for joining us!

Report
Q
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 21 September 2019
Overall 3food 3service 4ambience 3

I dined on a Saturday night with a reservation. There was no wait - great as there was a line for those without reservations. The place was very busy and bustling. We had a good server but backservers were harried and literally ran by in a manner that caused bumps and brushes. Food arrived without ordered condiments. Side dish of sweet potato hash was cold and dry, which was disappointing. Turkey burger was very good despite a cold, overly dense bun.

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 28 September 2019

Thank you Quincey for the feedback. I will be sure to slow down our backservers to keep it safe. I apologize that you didn't enjoy some of your items, please feel free to reach out before your next visit so that we can be sure to provide you with the rights items jt.taylor@truefoodkitchen

Report
TP
1 review
Dined on 21 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 3

The food is excellent. It is very loud in there so prepare to yell and say what a lot.

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 28 September 2019

Thank you for joining us Tom!

Report
4
Washington DC
9 reviews
Dined on 21 September 2019
Overall 3food 3service 3ambience 2

Unfriendly check in staff. When I couldn’t sit outside as requested on my reservation, they also sId no to a table rather than banquette seat.

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 28 September 2019

4grands thank you for the feedback on our service, without it we couldn't get better. Please reach our for your next visit so that we can ensure you have a great experience.

Report
F
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 21 September 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

Outdoor seating was perfect for the two of us and our dog.

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 28 September 2019

Thank you for joining us!

Report
DH
Washington DC
6 reviews
Dined on 21 September 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 5

Had a lovely brunch at True Food.

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 28 September 2019

Thank you for joining us!

Report
L
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on 18 September 2019
Overall 3food 3service 2ambience 3

Used to be one of our favorite places to eat but the food was lukewarm and the service mediocre. Will look elsewhere for a favorite hangout.

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 28 September 2019

Thank you for the feedback Laura. please feel free to reach out jt.taylor@truefoodkitchen so that can make sure you have great food and service on your next visit

Report
c
10 reviews
Dined on 14 September 2019
Overall 5food 4service 5ambience 4

On a busy night with two young children in tow, they went out of their way to seat us an hour prior to our reservation!

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 28 September 2019

Thank you for joining us! Glad you enjoyed yourselves at TFK!

Report
PD
Caribbean
15 reviews
Dined on 14 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Excellent customer service and food. We requested customizations to our dishes and they were prepared perfectly!

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 28 September 2019

Thank you for joining us Patricia! Glad you enjoyed your visit!

Report
SB
Washington DC
3 reviews
Dined on 13 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 4

Too noisy even late at night

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 28 September 2019

Thank you for joining us! It does get a little loud when we are busy here.

Report
OT
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 13 September 2019
Overall 4food 4service 4ambience 4

Always love coming to True Foods.

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 28 September 2019

Thank you for joining us!

Report
VL
Washington DC
2 reviews
Dined on 13 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

We loved everything about it. The food was excellent. The server was very helpful for us and our personal questions. There was plenty of space between tables, so nice. It was easy to park there. Will definitely be coming back!

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 28 September 2019

Thank you for joining us Virginia Lady!

Report
RA
Washington DC
7 reviews
Dined on 13 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

This was my first visit for my girlfriend Paris and she was totally impressed with the food and the ambiance.

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 28 September 2019

Thank you for joining us! Hope to see you both again soon!

Report
D
Washington DC
16 reviews
Dined on 12 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 3

Everything was excellent.

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 14 September 2019

Hi Debbie! Thank you so much for the feedback! We look forward to seeing you in again soon! Best, Leah Ranieri Assistant General Manager

Report
OT
Washington DC
8 reviews
Dined on 12 September 2019
Overall 5food 5service 5ambience 5

Love eating here. We generally go 2 to 3 times a week.

a
Washington DC
11 reviews
Dined on 12 September 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Love the place great healthy food friendly staff we will be going back over and over again.

True Food Kitchen - Fairfax
Responded on 14 September 2019

Hi Arsh! Thank you so much for the feedback! See you soon!

Report
MG
Washington DC
1 review
Dined on 12 September 2019
Overall 4food 5service 4ambience 4

Food tasted good , wine was good , however after coming home I was nit sure if the raw albacore tuna I ate was so fresh. No major problems but ..... Also I sat outside because of the noise level inside the restaurant .

OT
Washington DC
8 reviews
Dined on 10 September 2019
Overall 2food 4service 1ambience 2

Really slow and bad service. We had 4 different people come to our table throughout our time there for drinks and 2 main courses and and the cheque.

1
2
3
44