Yauatcha City

4.3
2264 reviews
£25 and under
Chinese
Yauatcha City opened in May 2015 in Broadgate Circle, just outside Liverpool Street Station. This is Yauatcha’s second UK location following the success of its award winning restaurant in Soho.


Yauatcha City is an all-day dim sum teahouse, where friends and family gather to catch up over a wide selection of dim sum, wok dishes, tea and cocktails. To complement the cuisine, the drinks menu comprises nearly 40 types of tea, as well as cocktails inspired by Chinese ingredients and a broad wine and Champagne list.


Yauatcha’s first standalone patisserie, Yauatcha Patisserie, is located just below the restaurant, where Chinese heritage and modern European cooking techniques have inspired the pastry team to create a range of unique macarons, petits gateaux and chocolates.

Offers

  • City Lunch with welcome drink

    £35.00 per person

    Sep 1 - Sep 30, 2021

    City Lunch with welcome drink – Ritual 3 courses and Champagne £35pp – Offer will include a welcome glass of Champagne, dim sum, wok dish, side and dessert per person.
  • Explore Yauatcha with welcome drink

    £48.00 per person

    Sep 1 - Sep 30, 2021

    Explore Yauatcha with welcome drink – Explore 3 courses and Champagne £48pp – Offer will include a welcome glass of Champagne, two dim sum, wok dish, side and dessert per person.
What 2264 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined 6 days ago
Overall2food5service1ambience2

I’ve been dining at Yauatcha (Soho and City) since 2011 and this was some of the worst service I’ve ever had. A manager did remove an item off the bill as well as the service charge after I offered my feedback. Apart from taking the food order and being given the bill, there was zero service from any of the team. No check backs, no offering of dessert etc, no water/tea/wine refills. A massive disappointment and very sad to see such poor service in Yauatcha. The saving grace was that the food was as excellent as it’s always been.

Yauatcha City
Responded 3 days ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for dining with us at Yauatcha City. We appreciate the feedback on our service standards. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed. Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Yauatcha City Management Team

Report
AG
AnnabelleG
London
1 review
Dined on 18 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely food, quiet and relaxing ambience on the terrace and the staff very friendly and helpful

Yauatcha City
Responded 3 days ago

Dear AnnabelleG , We take pride in customer satisfaction and making every guest to feel special. On behalf of myself and the entire Yauatcha City team we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon at Yauatcha City. Kind regards, Yauatcha City Management

Report
KS
KayS
1 review
Dined on 18 September 2021
Overall1food1service1ambience1

Bland and very underwhelming. I expected better from the Hakkasan group

Yauatcha City
Responded 3 days ago

Dear KayS , Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We take great pride in our cuisine and source our ingredients from the best purveyors. We are constantly innovating and looking to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. We have made note of your comments, and have shared them with our management team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Best Regards, Yauatcha City Management Team

Report
KC
KabraCat
London
7 reviews
Dined on 15 September 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Anniversary dinner
Food was good but the restaurant was understaffed and several of our dishes didn’t show up.

Yauatcha City
Responded 3 days ago

Dear KabraCat, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We take great pride in our cuisine and source our ingredients from the best purveyors. We are constantly innovating and looking to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. We have made note of your comments, and have shared them with our management team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Best Regards, Yauatcha City Management Team

Report
DN
DamienN
1 review
Dined on 14 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Amazing food!! Quite busy for a Tuesday evening but that didn’t really matter.
We will be back!

Yauatcha City
Responded 3 days ago

Dear DamienN , We take pride in customer satisfaction and making every guest to feel special. On behalf of myself and the entire Yauatcha City team we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon at Yauatcha City. Kind regards, Yauatcha City Management

Report
GA
vipGARY
London
30 reviews
Dined on 12 September 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience3

Although the restaurant was only half full, we had to wait for a long time to be served, and dishes were missed and had to be served in the wrong order.

The food is good but shame about the service.

Yauatcha City
Responded 3 days ago

Dear Gary, We appreciate your feedback. It’s great to hear that you loved the food, but we regret to hear that you weren’t happy with the service. We take every comment seriously and have passed your notes along to the team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Yauatcha City Management Team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Nottingham
2 reviews
Dined on 11 September 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Loved the ambience, the food and the service!

Yauatcha City
Responded 3 days ago

Dear Anonymous , We take pride in customer satisfaction and making every guest to feel special. On behalf of myself and the entire Yauatcha City team we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon at Yauatcha City. Kind regards, Yauatcha City Management

Report
V
Viraj
1 review
Dined on 11 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great dining experience from start to finish. An amazing ambience. Extremely courteous staff who know how to make you feel special!
Already recommended to friends and will come back for more.

Yauatcha City
Responded 3 days ago

Dear Viraj , We take pride in customer satisfaction and making every guest to feel special. On behalf of myself and the entire Yauatcha City team we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon at Yauatcha City. Kind regards, Yauatcha City Management

Report
A
Aileen
1 review
Dined on 11 September 2021
Overall3food3service4ambience3

The food is salty, and they contain too much oil. I drunk a lot of water after the meal.

Yauatcha City
Responded 3 days ago

Dear Aileen, We appreciate your feedback.We regret to hear that you weren’t happy with the food. We take every comment seriously and have passed your notes along to the team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Yauatcha City Management Team

Report
1
10outof10
London
4 reviews
Dined on 5 September 2021
Overall4food4service1ambience5

The first time I experienced terrible service from a waiter at Yauatcha. Miserable, unfriendly and rude. Very surprised as Yauatcha’s standards are high.

J
Jessen
Hertfordshire
1 review
Dined on 4 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Lovely ambience and restaurant layout, very helpful and attentive staff, great quality food

AL
AnthonyL
London
1 review
Dined on 4 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food is incredible, I recommend the Cheng Fun.

DP
DiogoP
London
1 review
Dined on 4 September 2021
Overall2food5service1ambience3

I thought the waiter was a bit presumptuous. Made a wild assumption (and wrong) about what I would like to drink and did not even apologise for it. I think it is really unpleasant to feel profiled or stereotyped - this is not a pub I would expect a little more refinement

Yauatcha City
Responded on 5 September 2021

Dear DiogoP, Thank you for dining with us at Yauatcha City. We appreciate the feedback on our service standards. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed. Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Yauatcha City Management Team

Report
N
Nickyp
1 review
Dined on 3 September 2021
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Great food, service was generally good but would have been better if they left a jug of water on our table rather than having to ask the waiter/ waitress to refill our very small water glasses every time we needed more. Apart from that, excellent experience

Yauatcha City
Responded on 5 September 2021

Dear Nickyp , We take pride in customer satisfaction and making every guest to feel special. We appreciate the feedback on our service standards. On behalf of myself and the entire Yauatcha City team we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at Yauatcha City. Kind regards, Yauatcha City Management

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 3 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Lovely food, quick service

You must try the Wagyu Beef

Yauatcha City
Responded on 5 September 2021

Dear Nickyp , We take pride in customer satisfaction and making every guest to feel special. On behalf of myself and the entire Yauatcha City team we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at Yauatcha City. Kind regards, Yauatcha City Management

Report
AS
AffaanS
London
2 reviews
Dined on 2 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I really enjoyed the food and the staff were very polite and attentive.

Yauatcha City
Responded on 5 September 2021

Dear AffaanS , We take pride in customer satisfaction and making every guest to feel special. On behalf of myself and the entire Yauatcha City team we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at Yauatcha City. Kind regards, Yauatcha City Management

Report
CJ
CharlieJ
1 review
Dined on 1 September 2021
Overall1food1service3ambience1

The food was awful. My soft shell crab was three pieces of crab sitting on a mound of fried almonds for show. The Wagu beef puffs looked and tasted like they were from Iceland (and I don't mean the country). The ribs are better in my local take-away.

I asked for a bottle of pinot grigiot...there was none. A n alternative Sancerre was recommended ( at over £70 a bottle). My bill for two was £199....a complete rip off.

Yauatcha City
Responded on 5 September 2021

Dear CharlieJ, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is disappointing to read that your dining experience did not live up your expectations and I must apologise for that. We do hope that the few concerns expressed will not deter you from visiting us again. Best regards, Yauatcha City Management Team

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 31 August 2021
Overall4food5service3ambience5

Would give it 5 stars but they ran out of dessert by the end and didn’t tell me about it when I was ordering food

Yauatcha City
Responded on 5 September 2021

Dear Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We take great pride in our cuisine and source our ingredients from the best purveyors. We are constantly innovating and looking to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. We have made note of your comments, and have shared them with our management team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Best Regards, Yauatcha City Management Team

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
Newcastle
1 review
Dined on 28 August 2021
Overall1food4service1ambience1

I was really disappointed by the service

S
Shelly
London
1 review
Dined on 27 August 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience5

The service is really bad

SN
SarahNaib
1 review
Dined on 27 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing service, chilled environment, mixed groups of ppl - overall I would recommend to everyone.

Yauatcha City
Responded on 28 August 2021

Dear SarahNaib , We take pride in customer satisfaction and making every guest to feel special. On behalf of myself and the entire Yauatcha City team we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon at Yauatcha City. Kind regards, Yauatcha City Management

Report
AL
AnnaL
London
4 reviews
Dined on 27 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Fantastic vegan options! The edamame puffs are so delicious and creamy, definitely my favourite.
The best dim-sum too!
Happy to see more vegan desserts on the menu including vegan macaron.
Customer service was amazing. Our waitress Laura was brilliant, very accommodating and made the experience extra special.

Yauatcha City
Responded on 28 August 2021

Dear AnnaL , We take pride in customer satisfaction and making every guest to feel special. On behalf of myself and the entire Yauatcha City team we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at Yauatcha City. Kind regards, Yauatcha City Management

Report
MS
MichaelS
London
1 review
Dined on 27 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Excellent seafood dim sum - har gau, scallop shui mai, prawn/bean curd cheung fung and lobster dumpling - as ever. The king crab dumpling seems to have disappeared and is sorely missed.

Yauatcha City
Responded on 5 September 2021

Dear MichaelS , We take pride in customer satisfaction and making every guest to feel special. On behalf of myself and the entire Yauatcha City team we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at Yauatcha City. Kind regards, Yauatcha City Management

Report
i
imoyn1
London
1 review
Dined on 26 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

We had the Ceremony Menu and it was great! Ordered different options and shared, great way to try lots of what the restaurant has to offer. We were also celebrating a special occasion and staff made sure we were treated well.

Yauatcha City
Responded on 28 August 2021

Dear Imoyn1 , We take pride in customer satisfaction and making every guest to feel special. On behalf of myself and the entire Yauatcha City team we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon at Yauatcha City. Kind regards, Yauatcha City Management

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 26 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The entrance was a little hard to find but everything else was exceptional

Yauatcha City
Responded on 28 August 2021

Dear Anonymous , We take pride in customer satisfaction and making every guest to feel special. On behalf of myself and the entire Yauatcha City team we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon at Yauatcha City. Kind regards, Yauatcha City Management

Report
d
diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on 22 August 2021
Overall2food5service3ambience3

This has always been my number one spot for weekend lunch. However since covid the reduced weekend brunch has simply not met the high-cost. Lovely people serving has remained as has the quality of the food it is just not quantity no value for money anymore. Where are those wonderful homemade desserts? Where is the cocktail at the end? Just 6 dimsum where we used to enjoy 8 and lobster is definitely off the main course! The reduction of the value will mean I won't take this option again especially as the service charge has gone up to 13.5%
How sad 😔

Yauatcha City
Responded on 25 August 2021

Dear diner, It is disappointing to read that your dining experience did not live up your expectations and I must apologise for that. We do hope that the few concerns expressed will not deter you from visiting us again. Sincerely, Yauatcha City Management Team

Report
D
Duffers
London
4 reviews
Dined on 21 August 2021
Overall2food3service3ambience3

Food was no better than Ping Pong so can't justify coming back here considering it's so much more expensive. Many of the dim sum dishes were too hot to eat so we had suspicions they were using a microwave. Service was ok, but nothing special. Won't be returning anytime soon.

Yauatcha City
Responded on 25 August 2021

Dear Duffers, We appreciate your feedback. It’s great to hear that you liked the service, but we regret to hear that you weren’t happy with the food. We take every comment seriously and have passed your notes along to the team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, Yauatcha City Management Team

Report
R
Rachel
London
1 review
Dined on 20 August 2021
Overall5food5service3ambience5

Lovely, nice setting. Nice and intimate
Good portion sizes

MS
MeviS
1 review
Dined on 20 August 2021
Overall1food2service5ambience1

The service was very good. The waitress was so kind and ready for us the whole time we stayed.
The food was okay but not how We expected. Very very expensive for the quality, the dumblings looked too soft and looked not fresh.
During our dinner a mouse was walking on the floor just next to us and that was the cherry on top of the cake. I don’t want to imagine what can happen in the kitchen 🙈
Overall, I don’t thing my friends and I will go back to that place, even though we love Chinese food.

Yauatcha City
Responded on 25 August 2021

Dear MeviS , Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We take great pride in our cuisine and source our ingredients from the best purveyors. We are constantly innovating and looking to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. I can assure you that the experience you had was not our standard. We have made note of your comments, and have shared them with our management team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Best Regards, Yauatcha City Management

Report
SR
SReviewer
London
27 reviews
Dined on 20 August 2021
Overall3food5service2ambience4

Me and my partner usually love going to Yauatcha, especially this branch! However, yesterday we bought some family for a birthday and found our experience to be not up to usual standards.

Firstly, out of places, I did not expect a restaurant of Yauatcha's level to make me scan a QR code and read the large menu off a tiny screen, it does not fit the vibe of this restaurant. This is not the biggest of my worries but it did not feel right at this place. Upon asking for a paper menu the waiter very snottily told me to just scan the QR code.

Later on, one of the members in the party asked ONE waiter for a beer. Along came two and we questioned why, the waitress then proceeded to say we have apparently asked several waiters. This is extremely poor customer service to blame the customer! Especially when it is not the truth!

Finally, on the bill we were charged for 3 beers overall!

Overall this was a trip that has not matched our expectations from the past and I was not very impressed as a loyal diner of Yauatcha.

Yauatcha City
Responded on 25 August 2021

Dear SReviewer, Thank you for dining with us at Yauatcha City. We appreciate the feedback on our service standards. It is disappointing to read that your dining experience did not live up your expectations and I must apologise for that. We take comments such as these very seriously, and you can rest assured they are being addressed. Thank you, and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Sincerely, Yauatcha City Management

Report
EJ
EmmaJ
London
1 review
Dined on 20 August 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience3

I think we were unfortunate as our server was new and didn't have a good understanding of the menu, which can be an issue when you are trying out a new cusine.
In the end I think we over ordered. The food was delicious, especially desert.
I did find it slightly pricey but that could be due to over ordering.

Yauatcha City
Responded on 25 August 2021

Dear EmmaJ, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I can assure you that the experience you had with the food and service was not our standard. We have sent your feedback to our team and do hope you will visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Yauatcha City Management Team

Report
RM
RMurray
London
1 review
Dined on 20 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Great service. Outstanding food, worth the money!

Yauatcha City
Responded on 25 August 2021

Dear RMurray , We take pride in customer satisfaction and making every guest to feel special. On behalf of myself and the entire Yauatcha City team we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon at Yauatcha City. Kind regards, Yauatcha City Management

Report
ES
EmmaS
1 review
Dined on 19 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

The food and service here are always fantastic. I have dreams about the venison puffs! Lovely restaurant and good buzzy atmosphere.

It's not cheap but it's worth it.

Yauatcha City
Responded on 25 August 2021

DearEmmaS, We take pride in customer satisfaction and making every guest to feel special. On behalf of myself and the entire Yauatcha City team we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon at Yauatcha City. Kind regards, Yauatcha City Management

Report
F
Fola
1 review
Dined on 19 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Everything we ordered was delicious. Service was great, all the staff were very attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal.

Yauatcha City
Responded on 25 August 2021

Dear Fola , We take pride in customer satisfaction and making every guest to feel special. On behalf of myself and the entire Yauatcha City team we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon at Yauatcha City. Kind regards, Yauatcha City Management

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
5 reviews
Dined on 18 August 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Good vibes and pleasant service

Yauatcha City
Responded on 25 August 2021

Dear Anonymous , We take pride in customer satisfaction and making every guest to feel special. On behalf of myself and the entire Yauatcha City team we would like to thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you soon at Yauatcha City. Kind regards, Yauatcha City Management

Report
R
Rosh
1 review