Yauatcha Soho

4.3
6487 reviews
£26 to £40
Chinese
Yauatcha Soho, located in the heart of vibrant London, is an all-day dim sum teahouse offering a wide selection of modern authentic dim sum alongside European patisserie and an extensive range of teas, wine and cocktails.

The design of the restaurant is a modern interpretation of the old Chinese teahouse. At the same time, the lighting and seating embodies the atmosphere of a vibrant ‘chatter shop’, similar to the traditional Hong Kong dim sum restaurants.

The restaurant offers Cantonese dishes with a modern influence, with an extensive range of steamed, baked, grilled and fried dim sum such as Yauatcha’s signature dishes of Scallop shui mai and Venison puffs.


Safety precautions

Cleaning & Sanitising
  • Sanitiser or wipes provided for customers
  • Contactless payment available
What 6487 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.2
service
4.1
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Energetic
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
progress_bar_value foreground of progress bar
progress_bar_background background of progress bar
Sort by
Filters
TB
TonyB
London
1 review
Dined 2 days ago
Overall2food2service2ambience2

Staff was not knowledgable about the food. I have been there several times before and the quality of the food has deteriorated. Good, but not worth the high price tag anymore.

OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
3 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall1food1service1ambience3

Extremely poor service. Reservation was for 10:30, received a table at 10:55.

Took ages for someone to take out drinks and food order. Very very poor service

Food arrived completely cold. When complained to manager, he discounted the cold food but still charged a 13.9% service charge. Didn’t even replace the food, as it was unpalatable.

Really really disappointed

n
northernlights
London
6 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall1food1service2ambience2

I last went toYauatcha several years ago, and the experience was wonderful. This time was different. The food was truly awful. Far too heavy handed with the seasoning..even the steamed Pak Choi was covered in a blanket of raw chopped garlic. And barely edible (and cost an additional £6 to the menu! The dim sum were rubbery, unimaginative, and poorly presented. The chili prawns were so covered in raw chilli as to be practically inedible.I have had better at Ping Pong! It was also extortionate..the set menu which was around 50 per head ended up with a bill for around 180 for two people. Granted we had three glasses of wine in total , which added up to £45!! (We just asked for a glasses of Chablis) but aside from this the extras were charged against many item of the set menu. The ambience was awful, noisy, rackety, waited ages for service (dont mind so much about this as i understand staff shortages everywhere) , but all that could have been overcome with decent food. Felt very ripped off and disappointed. I have been at Alan Yau “s restaurants as a special treat for years, especially Sake no Hana where we would have one if it hadn’t just sadly closed its doors. This is the first time I have ever posted a negative review.

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
3 reviews
Dined 3 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

We were celebrating my mum’s birthday; the food was exquisite and the whole experience really memorable

LW
vipLeslieW
Central Texas
5 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Love it! It’s been 4 years and it’s just as great!

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
3 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience5

Not that the set menu - or at least the Explore version we went for - required supplements for almost every selection.

BS
BellaS
London
1 review
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food4service5ambience5

Food was really nice and reasonably priced. They really made my 9 year old nephew feel very special for his birthday and everyone was extremely friendly…

AM
AndreaM
New York Area
3 reviews
Dined 4 days ago
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Food was great and ambience and location. T super outstanding was our service - the lady serving us went so many extra miles! Including advising us about quantity we may be ordering too much - such nice way to stop us over ordering and wasting. Putting macaroons in a bag to go as we needed to go. Thank you to the whole team you have it right!!

S
Sierra
London
11 reviews
Dined 5 days ago
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Was a good experience! Our bill had extra things added it to it but the waiter amended the mistake straight away!

BL
BezL
London
6 reviews
Dined 6 days ago
Overall4food5service4ambience4

Lovely as usual, but staff were a bit rushed off their feet.

l
littlereef
London
9 reviews
Dined on 18 October 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Fantastic food, great service and ambience. The large set menu is extremely good value, and a large quantity of exquisite food. If you aren’t a huge eater, try ordering fewer than one per head. Also surprisingly lovely we’re the spicy cocktails

Yauatcha Soho
Responded 6 days ago

Dear Littlereef, Thank you for taking time to write this lovely review! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our food as well as service. We look forward to welcome you back! Warm regards, Bianca, Yauatcha Soho Management

Report
J
Jenny
London
1 review
Dined on 17 October 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

'Western style' dim sum, not 'authentic' if you really want to try the originals. Don't want to comment on taste, ppl have diff preference.

TH
vipTHEBEAST
London
27 reviews
Dined on 16 October 2021
Overall3food4service1ambience4

The food was good, I've been many times before. But it was super busy, the table was late and the service was totally awful. And when you're paying 12.5% on the bill for something that doesn't exist then it offends.

Yauatcha Soho
Responded 6 days ago

Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our food, this make us really proud. On the other hand, we are terribly sorry to read that you had to wait for the table and that the service you received was not of standard. Guests are at the utmost importance to us and we always strive to deliver a remarkable experience. We would like to extend our apologies and we hope you will give another chance to make it up to you. Kindest, Bianca, Yauatcha Soho Management

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
3 reviews
Dined on 16 October 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Exceptional!

L
Larry
London
1 review
Dined on 16 October 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience2

Very poor service and had to call out for a waiter to even order drinks etc. The service was very bad and slow.

The chicken dish was over cooked and when pointed out was refunded.

Would not recommend this place at all

Yauatcha Soho
Responded 6 days ago

Dear Larry, Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear the service you received was not of standard. In regards to the food, we will make sure to pass on your feedback to our chefs. Retraining has been performed for the waiting staff and the importance of an exceptional service was also reminded. We are keen to deliver a remarkable experience at all times and we hope the concerns expressed will not stop you from visiting us again. Kindest, Bianca, Yauatcha Soho Management

Report
M
Mookie79
London
20 reviews
Dined on 15 October 2021
Overall4food5service3ambience1

I love the food at Yauatcha but hate the ambience. If you have a chance, DO NOT sit downstairs! The room is very noisy and the design of the tables slows down the service. Otherwise, it's a great place with fun food and great cocktails.

D
vipDalia
London
81 reviews
Dined on 15 October 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience5

The food is absolutely delicious, as were the cocktails. Everything was tasty and clean, and the atmosphere is fun on a Friday night, a bit like a club. Great for friends.

Yauatcha Soho
Responded 6 days ago

Dear Dalia, Thank you for spending time to write this lovely review! We are very happy to hear you had a great time with us and we can't wait to welcome you back for another special occasion with your friends. Warm regards, Bianca, Yauatcha Soho Management

Report
AF
AngusF
Bath
4 reviews
Dined on 14 October 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

Service and atmosphere was outstanding, and excellent preparation and forethought was invested in our dinning experience (an anniversary). Food was beautifully prepared and of an outstanding quality. Pacing of the meal was good, and the complimentary drinks and attention to detail was good. Noisy but lively, the overall evening was one to remember.

Yauatcha Soho
Responded 6 days ago

Dear Angus, Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience, we appreciate a lot you doing this. We are very happy to read that your anniversary dinner at Yauatcha Soho was one to remember. We put a lot of passion and dedication in what we do and it's satisfying to hear that this is reflected in our service and food. We can't wait to welcome you back and thank you again for your fantastic review. Warm regards, Bianca, Yauatcha Soho Management

Report
MA
MeAndMyFriends
Berkshire
11 reviews
Dined on 11 October 2021
Overall4food3service5ambience5

It was a lovely dinner but I wouldn't say it blew my taste buds away. The service staff are what made the experience greater!

M
Merlin
London
29 reviews
Dined on 11 October 2021
Overall4food4service5ambience5

Great location for a girls lunch, pork bao buns a bit disappointing hence the 4 stars but everything else was delicious, especially the sesame prawn toast

Yauatcha Soho
Responded on 12 October 2021

Dear Merlin, Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are very happy to hear the food was of your taste. Reading that you had a great time make us really proud. Looking forward to welcome you back very soon at Yauatcha Soho. Kind regards, Bianca

Report
OA
OreA
Monaco
2 reviews
Dined on 10 October 2021
Overall3food4service3ambience3

Food was good, came out on time. Service could’ve been better but all in all it was great. Would come in again

Yauatcha Soho
Responded on 12 October 2021

Dear OreA, Thank you for your review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our food, however we feel sorry if the service that you received wasn't of standard. Our guests are at the upmost importance to us and we always aim to deliver a remarkable experience. We look forward to welcome you back very soon and make it better on your next visit. Kind regards, Bianca, Yauatcha Soho Management

Report
SO
StephanieOB
London
1 review
Dined on 9 October 2021
Overall2food3service1ambience2

Service was really slow and a lot of food on the menu had run out. Just a very disappointing experience.

Yauatcha Soho
Responded on 12 October 2021

Dear Stephanie, Thank you for brining this to our attention. Please let us apologies for ruining your experience. We are terribly sorry to hear that the service was slow and that we had run out of some of the dishes. We would love to have another chance to redeem ourselves in order to show you that we can do much better and that this was just an unfortunate event. Looking forward to welcome you back very soon. Best regards, Bianca, Yauatcha Soho Management

Report
ST
SamiT
London
1 review
Dined on 9 October 2021
Overall1food3service1ambience1

Welcome staff rude, entitled and unhelpful. Waiting staff very impersonal, confused and harried. Food not bad but food and ambiance have gone downhill. Caters to one time tourists with Londoners long departed. Very sad.

Yauatcha Soho
Responded on 12 October 2021

Dear SamiT, Thank you for your review. We are very sad to hear that your dining experience wasn't what you expected and we must apologies for that. Please rest assured your concerns have been addressed to the relevant departments in order to prevent future mishaps. Our aim is to deliver a memorable experience that caters for all our guest and we are sorry we missed the mark on this occasion. We hope to have another chance to redeem ourselves. Kind regards, Bianca, Yauatcha Soho Management

Report
g
vipgorgon
London
4 reviews
Dined on 9 October 2021
Overall3food4service2ambience2

nice food, but poor service: pieces of cork in the wine when tasting were 'normal' and no reason to change the glass. Dishes landed with little care on the table. Aircon on full blast chilling us and our neighbouring diners 'couldn't be switched off'

It's the little things that matter when you're paying £££ as a meal for a special occasion. If they matter to you, avoid this restaurant.

Yauatcha Soho
Responded on 12 October 2021

Dear Gorgon, Thank you for informing us about this. We are terribly sorry to hear your experience did not live up your expectations and we must apologies for that. There is no excuse for a poor service but we would like you to know that retraining has been performed. We hope this was just an unfortunate event, we are usually know for our attention to details and to make all our guests feel special and well looked after. We hope you will give us another chance. Kindest, Yauatcha Soho Management

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
Riyadh
1 review
Dined on 8 October 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

My son’s birthday

DM
DimitrisM
London
8 reviews
Dined on 6 October 2021
Overall5food5service4ambience4

Fantastic dim sum and as always a great experience, nice ambience but a bit noisy

Yauatcha Soho
Responded on 12 October 2021

Dear Dimitris, Thank you for the lovely review! We are very happy to hear that the food satisfied you and that you had a good time with us. Looking forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Bianca, Yauatcha Soho Management

Report
W
Wuwu
London
1 review
Dined on 3 October 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Incredible food and experience as usual! Thank you

Yauatcha Soho
Responded on 12 October 2021

Dear Wuwu, Thank you kindly for your lovely review! We can't wait to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Bianca, Yauatcha Soho Management

Report
M
vipMashail
London
10 reviews
Dined on 3 October 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Yauacha is the perfect place for dumplings. The service is nice and the ambience is friendly. It’s a regular spot for me with friends and family.

Yauatcha Soho
Responded on 12 October 2021

Dear Mashail, Thank you for the amazing review! We are very happy to hear that Yauatcha Soho it's the kind of place you are keen to go back to! Our aim is always to deliver a remarkable experience to all our guests and make you feel special and well looked after, accompanied with a great food of course! Reading this review make us really proud and we look forward to welcome you back very soon for another special event with your friends and family. Kind regards, Bianca, Yauatcha Soho Management

Report
OT
vipOpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 2 October 2021
Overall2food2service1ambience4

Very disappointed. The food was so really average and way overpriced for the quality. The worst was the service. Our waiter needed to be constantly chased, we were constantly asking him for water and instead of just leaving leaving water jug on the table, he was pouring little bits in our glasses. One my friends needed to leave early and asked to pay her share, he couldn't help her and said that the bill will be brought at the end. On top of this thr service charge on the bill was increased to 13.5% and the bill had a whole story of how they increased the service charge given the recent tough times the restaurant industry went through. Honestly that type of service we received was not worth even 5% tip. Will not be coming there again despite the atmosphere is nice.

Yauatcha Soho
Responded on 7 October 2021

Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you for your review. We are extremely sorry to hear this, please rest assured all your concerns have been addressed to the relevant departments and we will take the right steps to ensure this is not happening again. Please accept our apologies, this doesn't reflect our standards of service. We always aim to deliver a remarkable experience and we are terribly disappointed we let you down. We hope you will give us another chance. Kindest, Bianca, Yauatcha Soho Management

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 2 October 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food, service was great too… we’ll definitely be going again soon

Yauatcha Soho
Responded on 12 October 2021

Dear Sir/Madame, Thank you for the fantastic review! We are very glad to hear that you had a great time with us. We put a lot of passion in what we do thus is satisfying to know that our guests leave happy. We look forward to welcome you back very soon! Warm regards, Bianca, Yauatcha Soho Management

Report
OT
OpenTable Diner
London
1 review
Dined on 1 October 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience3

Food was tasty and staff hospitable

OT
OpenTable Diner
Warwickshire
1 review
Dined on 1 October 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

One word…”Amazing”

Report
NJ
vipNickJ
London
9 reviews
Dined on 1 October 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Fabulous food. Great service. Lovely atmosphere.

OT
OpenTable Diner
1 review
Dined on 30 September 2021
Overall5food5service3ambience4

Too much delay between meals
Slow reaction time from the staff

H
Hkarim
London
3 reviews
Dined on 30 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

I just want to give our waitress a special shout out, Rachel, she was absolutely amazing and very helpful. Her recommendations were on point!

Yauatcha Soho
Responded on 12 October 2021

Dear Hkarim, Thank you for the marvelous review! We spend a lot of time in training our staff and it's rewarding knowing their hard work is appreciated. We value our staff very much and reading this kind of reviews make us really proud. We are very happy you had a fantastic experience and we look forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards, Bianca, Yauatcha Soho Management

Report
t
tassmemory
London
17 reviews
Dined on 29 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

This was for my birthday and it did not disappoint absolutely fabulous food and the service was amazing our waitress was brilliant so helpful and friendly Thankyou very much for a wonderful birthday celebration

Yauatcha Soho
Responded on 12 October 2021

Dear Tass, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very happy to know that you had a great birthday celebration with us, we put a lot of passion in what we do and we hope this always reflects in our service ad food. Looking forward to welcome you back very soon. Best regards, Bianca, Yauatcha Soho Management

Report
TS
TamrynS
London
3 reviews
Dined on 29 September 2021
Overall4food4service4ambience4

Delicious vegetarian dim sum and noodles - highly recommend.
Dinner for two with sparkling water, tea (no alchohol) was £45 a head which seemed reasonable

OT
OpenTable Diner
London
2 reviews
Dined on 28 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

My favorite place in town

SM
SabrinaM
London
2 reviews
Dined on 28 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience5

Amazing food and great service! really worth the money if you’re going for a special occasion, they have lots of set menus which include loads of options

Yauatcha Soho
Responded on 12 October 2021

Dear Sabrina, Thank you for the fabulous review! We are very happy to hear you had a great time with us and we can't wait to welcome you back for another special occasion with your friends and family. Warm regards, Bianca, Yauatcha Soho Management

Report
p
vippaulr
Hertfordshire
5 reviews
Dined on 26 September 2021
Overall5food5service5ambience4

First time here recommended by a friend who raves about it. Sat outside food was very good dim sum is excellent but they certainly know how to charge for it ! That said would go back.

FAQs

Yauatcha Soho does offer delivery in partnership with Deliveroo and Supper London. Yauatcha Soho also offers takeaway which you can order by calling the restaurant at 020 7494 8888.

Yauatcha Soho is rated 4.3 stars by 6487 OpenTable diners.

Yes, you can generally book this restaurant by choosing the date, time and party size on OpenTable. Due to local restrictions, this restaurant may not be accepting bookings at the moment.